DianefromDallaa
Member
Bella is a 16.5 yr old with diabetes and CKD. She has been diabetic for 5+ years and was diagnosed with early stages of CKD about 2+ years ago.
Bella has been on Lantus the entire time and has had erratic readings most of the 5 years. She had been on Fancy Feast pates for the first 3 years of her diabetes and then I started her on renal diets. Last November, we started noticing facial twitches. I took her to every specialist in the area and no one could explain a cause. Luckily, the CKD group suggested getting her off renal diet - and a miracle happened. She stopped twitching and gained weight from 7.5# to 9#! Everything seemed good but her glucose numbers.
For all the years, I've actually tested Bella before ANY insulin dose. Her glucose has had some crazy swings - but the last few months have been really odd. I am using Pettest Advocate and almost every measure before a shot she would be "HI" (over 600 BG). She had been on .5 units and sometimes .75 units and would often drop to 50 BG - then shoot back up to 600. The only thing that was changed a few months ago was that I fed her Fancy Feast pate 100% because she seemed to have a declining appetite. But her recent bloodwork showed a HUGE increase in her phosphorus and a big decline in her kidney values. I immediately started aluminum hydroxide and have been trying to get her interested again in Science Diet senior - but so far, no luck. She is being free fed (don't gasp) because I have tried unsuccessfully to get her on a feeding schedule. Not sure if the CKD wreaked havoc on her systems but she didn't do well with a few larger meals.
THE PROBLEM
If you look at her readings the past month, you will see A LOT of high readings - except this past few days.
For the past several days, we are in a good zone. Today, she was ~80 and then it appeared that she was starting to increase. I noticed she was acting weird and she was very cold. Her BG had dropped to 79. I tried giving her some food - but she has barely been eating and wasn't interested.
Its getting very late and her BG is still low. At what point do you just skip a dose? We are already at +13 hours.
If she goes back to running high, what feeding schedule should I try to get her on? I've read through SOOOO many posts and stickys and cant find solid suggestions. Do you feed at the 'lows' or just do small meals all day long.
I'm looking for a plan that I can try.
Please be kind. I've had some harsh words and dropped from the forum for a few days I am extremely stressed as Bella isn't doing well. She's completely inactive almost the entire day which is very unusual for her and just started late October. As I said, her kidneys aren't great. I go for another set of labs next week.
As a side note - my vet felt that we needed to put her on PZI. I told her I wanted to continue Lantus for another month to see what I could do.
Any specific directions would be appreciated.
Bella has been on Lantus the entire time and has had erratic readings most of the 5 years. She had been on Fancy Feast pates for the first 3 years of her diabetes and then I started her on renal diets. Last November, we started noticing facial twitches. I took her to every specialist in the area and no one could explain a cause. Luckily, the CKD group suggested getting her off renal diet - and a miracle happened. She stopped twitching and gained weight from 7.5# to 9#! Everything seemed good but her glucose numbers.
For all the years, I've actually tested Bella before ANY insulin dose. Her glucose has had some crazy swings - but the last few months have been really odd. I am using Pettest Advocate and almost every measure before a shot she would be "HI" (over 600 BG). She had been on .5 units and sometimes .75 units and would often drop to 50 BG - then shoot back up to 600. The only thing that was changed a few months ago was that I fed her Fancy Feast pate 100% because she seemed to have a declining appetite. But her recent bloodwork showed a HUGE increase in her phosphorus and a big decline in her kidney values. I immediately started aluminum hydroxide and have been trying to get her interested again in Science Diet senior - but so far, no luck. She is being free fed (don't gasp) because I have tried unsuccessfully to get her on a feeding schedule. Not sure if the CKD wreaked havoc on her systems but she didn't do well with a few larger meals.
THE PROBLEM
If you look at her readings the past month, you will see A LOT of high readings - except this past few days.
For the past several days, we are in a good zone. Today, she was ~80 and then it appeared that she was starting to increase. I noticed she was acting weird and she was very cold. Her BG had dropped to 79. I tried giving her some food - but she has barely been eating and wasn't interested.
Its getting very late and her BG is still low. At what point do you just skip a dose? We are already at +13 hours.
If she goes back to running high, what feeding schedule should I try to get her on? I've read through SOOOO many posts and stickys and cant find solid suggestions. Do you feed at the 'lows' or just do small meals all day long.
I'm looking for a plan that I can try.
Please be kind. I've had some harsh words and dropped from the forum for a few days I am extremely stressed as Bella isn't doing well. She's completely inactive almost the entire day which is very unusual for her and just started late October. As I said, her kidneys aren't great. I go for another set of labs next week.
As a side note - my vet felt that we needed to put her on PZI. I told her I wanted to continue Lantus for another month to see what I could do.
Any specific directions would be appreciated.