Bella’s BG journey part 4

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nice number on the +7!

I've been out of town for a while and not on the boards, going to try to catch up. How is Bella doing?
 
So tell me again and I’m sorry what is the lowest it can be and still be able to give.5
Perfect! :) Finally you have a PMPS that allows you to give insulin. Today's curve, although the BGs are slightly higher than ideal, is the shape you want: similar AM/PMPS and a (approximate) nadir that is about 50% of the PS numbers. I suggest you keep 0.5 u for tomorrow AM and PM at least, numbers permitting. If the BGs stay in this range you can try 0.75 u later. Too early to know.
 
Last edited:
Me too, I’m so glad we away from those yucky reds and blacks, can tell he feels better as well
Excellent! His insulin need has dropped but those reds and blacks were a sign of too much insulin. It can take a while to figure out dosing as things change - UTI, food etc. Novolin is trickier to work with because of its strong action but he’s doing well right now. :)
 
Bella usually gets his shot at 6am, I have to be at work at 530am and husband at 6am can I give his shot 30 early in the am
 
How do you know if your cat goes into remission
The insulin dose to get him to good numbers will get smaller and smaller. Eventually you experiment with giving a tiny dose on a blue PS to see what happens. After a time of dosing that way you try no insulin and if he stays in dark green or very low blue on his own for 14 days you can say he's in remission.
 
Don’t panic about the pink. Keep the 0.5 u dose today. Any chance of a test between +4 and +6 today. It’s hard to assess without some mid cycle data. He might have dropped lower yesterday and is in a bounce period or this dose might be a little low. Inconclusive at this point ...
 
Don’t panic about the pink. Keep the 0.5 u dose today. Any chance of a test between +4 and +6 today. It’s hard to assess without some mid cycle data. He might have dropped lower yesterday and is in a bounce period or this dose might be a little low. Inconclusive at this point ...
Can’t get one till 230, both working but can tomorrow, hubby off tomorrow
 
I’m very happy to see Bella is over UTI and is getting better numbers! I’ve not been on as much. I’m trying to obsess less over my diabetic cat. I was spending almost every free moment on here or searching the web for info. Lol
 
That's a great number but a pretty big drop from the pre-shot. Doe Bella usually get a mid-morning snack? A little food when they are falling like this can sometimes help put the brakes on steep dives, and help dampen down the bounces.
 
That's a great number but a pretty big drop from the pre-shot. Doe Bella usually get a mid-morning snack? A little food when they are falling like this can sometimes help put the brakes on steep dives, and help dampen down the bounces.
He does if someone is home, my hubby is home, should he have some high carb snack?
 
Adding: this is the kind of thing you can experiment with a little bit. What you're doing in this situation isn't taking drastic action for safety's sake (as you would if he started to go really low, below 50 on a human meter), you're more fiddling and fine-tuning things, trying to see if there are any food manipulations you can to to help flatten out his curves. If you note what you are doing with food in the "Remarks" section of the spreadsheet, you can go back later and see if there are any noticable effects from adding a little snack vs. not.

It's great seeing him in blues!
 
Adding: this is the kind of thing you can experiment with a little bit. What you're doing in this situation isn't taking drastic action for safety's sake (as you would if he started to go really low, below 50 on a human meter), you're more fiddling and fine-tuning things, trying to see if there are any food manipulations you can to to help flatten out his curves. If you note what you are doing with food in the "Remarks" section of the spreadsheet, you can go back later and see if there are any noticable effects from adding a little snack vs. not.

It's great seeing him in blues!
Thank you so much
 
Adding: this is the kind of thing you can experiment with a little bit. What you're doing in this situation isn't taking drastic action for safety's sake (as you would if he started to go really low, below 50 on a human meter), you're more fiddling and fine-tuning things, trying to see if there are any food manipulations you can to to help flatten out his curves. If you note what you are doing with food in the "Remarks" section of the spreadsheet, you can go back later and see if there are any noticable effects from adding a little snack vs. not.

It's great seeing him in blues!
So I’m giving some food to help stabilize that number so it doesn’t go lower to fast?
 
So I’m giving some food to help stabilize that number so it doesn’t go lower to fast?

That's the idea :). It's the kind of thing that there are no hard-and-fast rules to go by (when exactly to give a snack, what kinds of numbers trigger action, etc.), but it's worth doing a little experimenting to see how he responds to this kind of thing.
 
That's the idea :). It's the kind of thing that there are no hard-and-fast rules to go by (when exactly to give a snack, what kinds of numbers trigger action, etc.), but it's worth doing a little experimenting to see how he responds to this kind of thing.
Don’t you think we are getting close to a correct dosage, Kris has been so kind with all the help, all of you have been
 
Yes, I was thinking that he's looking pretty good on this dosage! The reason I threw out the suggestion to start experimenting with adding snacks is the following: Bella is showing that a quite small dose of Novalin (0.5U) is able to bring him down to good numbers, but he's still spending quite a bit of time in yellows and pinks. With a powerful, fast-acting insulin like Novalin, it's hard to really work on those yellows and pinks by increasing the dose much-- you have a little room to work with (and I'll defer to Kris on any dose specifics), but you don't really want to aim for lows much lower than the low blues while he's going up and down like this, or you risk him going too low into hypo territory (below 50). Food can sometimes help to flatten out these ups and downs a bit, which can makes a "good" dose more effective at the overall goal, keeping him regulated in healthy numbers for as much time as possible. It's just something to consider, and experiment with if you want to do that, but don't worry about it too much-- the biggest factor in getting him to better numbers is of course the insulin, which you've been doing a great job with!
 
I’m glad Nan was here to help. :) That big drop might explain why you’ve had some pink PSs recently. Did your husband give a little snack? Would it be possible to get a +5 or +6? Today’s scenario is showing why that data is good to have. I know it’s not possible all the time so here’s an opportunity.

Here’s something to think about for dosing. The 0.5 u has looked good but it might be a tiny bit too much. Instead of dropping down to 0.25 u right away, how about trying what we call a “skinny” 0.5 u? Draw up the usual 0.5 u and let out a drop but not enough to put the insulin level half way between zero and 0.5 u. This is tricky but doable with practice. You could try that dose tonight and tomorrow to see what happens.
 
I’m glad Nan was here to help. :) That big drop might explain why you’ve had some pink PSs recently. Did your husband give a little snack? Would it be possible to get a +5 or +6? Today’s scenario is showing why that data is good to have. I know it’s not possible all the time so here’s an opportunity.

Here’s something to think about for dosing. The 0.5 u has looked good but it might be a tiny bit too much. Instead of dropping down to 0.25 u right away, how about trying what we call a “skinny” 0.5 u? Draw up the usual 0.5 u and let out a drop but not enough to put the insulin level half way between zero and 0.5 u. This is tricky but doable with practice. You could try that dose tonight and tomorrow to see what happens.
Yes he gave snack and I will have him take it now
 
I’m glad Nan was here to help. :) That big drop might explain why you’ve had some pink PSs recently. Did your husband give a little snack? Would it be possible to get a +5 or +6? Today’s scenario is showing why that data is good to have. I know it’s not possible all the time so here’s an opportunity.

Here’s something to think about for dosing. The 0.5 u has looked good but it might be a tiny bit too much. Instead of dropping down to 0.25 u right away, how about trying what we call a “skinny” 0.5 u? Draw up the usual 0.5 u and let out a drop but not enough to put the insulin level half way between zero and 0.5 u. This is tricky but doable with practice. You could try that dose tonight and tomorrow to see what happens.
How do I log a skinny.5 dose
 
That’s a bit inflated from the snack but a good, safe number. One more at +6.5 or +7 if your husband is willing?
Hubby said he was in a panic that’s why he gave the orijen, he said he was scared it would go real low, I told him to relax, it’s ok, when I say snack just some of his reg food. Kris, I swear if Bella smells carb his BG rises
 
That’s a bit inflated from the snack but a good, safe number. One more at +6.5 or +7 if your husband is willing?
Yes he is willing, funny when I met my hubby he wasn’t crazy about any cats and he has taken them under his wing and would do anything for them, short funny story, he leaves tv on for them when he goes to work and he said he won’t leave on animal planet station because they have like animal rescues like from abuse and bad stuff and he doesn’t want them watching it lol lol lol
 
Yes he is willing, funny when I met my hubby he wasn’t crazy about any cats and he has taken them under his wing and would do anything for them, short funny story, he leaves tv on for them when he goes to work and he said he won’t leave on animal planet station because they have like animal rescues like from abuse and bad stuff and he doesn’t want them watching it lol lol lol

That is fantastic!!!!
 
Yes he is willing, funny when I met my hubby he wasn’t crazy about any cats and he has taken them under his wing and would do anything for them, short funny story, he leaves tv on for them when he goes to work and he said he won’t leave on animal planet station because they have like animal rescues like from abuse and bad stuff and he doesn’t want them watching it lol lol lol
Love this!! :D I'm glad your husband is a fan of kitties now.

Very interesting that Bella is so responsive to carbs. It's good tool for you to have if he drops too low and it also explains the turnaround in his numbers when you switched to very low carb recently - along with getting the UTI treated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top