Tara and Bella
Member Since 2023
Bella’s PMPS is 26.3 however she is refusing food tonight. My old vet said to halve her insulin if she isn’t eating/eaten.
Should I stay at 1U?
Should I stay at 1U?
It’s hard when you have sick kids and you are not well yourself. I hope you are both better now.Didn’t test further last night. My son was very sick so hubby slept with him and I had a migraine so I slept with Bella so we could check on her whenever I woke but I wasn’t able to get up and test. Not ideal but I’m exhausted and my body just needed sleep.
Last night she had some wet food and some biscuits.
Today she has eaten some home cooked chicken breast. Tonight I tried so many things but nothing other than a few pieces of chicken.
Thank you for that information, I’ll add it to my list for the new vet. I hate thinking she is nauseous.
So +2/24.2
I will try get another ketone test in if I can… that’s not easy. I did just end up letting it sit in the litter on a fresh wee.
If you feed a raw diet, you will need to get supplements to make it complete nutritionally. Its OK for a few days but ongoing you can't just feed raw meat. I feed raw and buy the kangaroo and the chicken from Woolworths in the meat department.I’m currently looking at getting some fresh raw kangaroo or chicken from a local small pet store tomorrow because I’m struggling.
You will need to order the supplements from maybe iherb in the US. No one much has the proper ones here. I can tell you more about it tomorrow…too late tonight! It wont hurt for a week or two if you don’t have supplements.Yes I went get some supplements today but the petstore didn’t sell them. I may try pet circle or another one. I’m interested to hear what this new vet says about it all. I’ll get another test in soon,
She is dropping but slowly so far. If you wake in the night I would do another test.+3/22.5
This is called a food bump and perfectly normal.Her numbers are weird today went slightly up at +2 (I started to worry I had done a fur shot even tho it didn’t seem out of our normal for giving her shot) but lower at +3 so not sure.
OK. You can always swap over if you feel you want to’ve read the methods @Bron and Sheba (GA) - I feel the “start slow, go low” method is the most achievable for my lifestyle. I’m doing to read the method again so it starts to really sink in.
Not that I know of.Is there a documents that explains the physical symptoms or side effects of the different BG number ranges?
A good list. I will be very interested to hear vet's responses. Vet probably hasn't heard of the 2 dosing methods. Most vets know only basic things about feline diabetes sadly.My list is growing- anything I have missed to ask the new vet.
Dr. Scott Doyle
- ASK TO RECORD. So I can listen later.
- Very picky, Food, lately refusing food again???? Diabetes or kidney???? Raw diet, wet or dry food?
- Anti nausea meds. Side note- I would ask the vet tomorrow for some antinausea medication. Hopefully the vet will give you ondansetron which is called Zofran here in Australia. He will have to write a script and you get it filled at the chemist as it is a human medication. I used to give it to Sheba. It’s very good for nausea. Better than cerenia. If he won’t give you zofran, then insist on cerenia.
- Insulin script - box 5x pen for chemist, insulin glargine.
- Thoughts on Bella pre surgery bloodwork and post surgery bloodwork???
- Result/impact of parathyroid removal???
- Ketones????
- Bella is on 1U as she is bouncing up and down. Side note- Dont let the vet increase the dose until we see where she lands after she comes off the bounce.
- Discussion Bella spreadsheet- BGhttps://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/122kuqwMWNe78vVA1q6HDRl8qTvU4MGP5mBBl-aQoGXI/edit.
- Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
- pancreatitis???
We didn’t actually talk about her back legs/movement- so any advice would be good.A good list. I will be very interested to hear vet's responses. Vet probably hasn't heard of the 2 dosing methods. Most vets know only basic things about feline diabetes sadly.
The back leg walking, if it has only happened since the diabetes, then it is probably diabetic neuropathy. We can tell you how to treat that. The vet wont have the medication used for that. Also once you get the BGs back down to normal range, the neuropathy normally resolves.
Vet will probably want you to feed dry diabetic food. I would just nod and say you will think about it... all dry food is bad for diabetic cats...all cats really.
As long as you are testing for ketones, feeding low carb food and giving insulin, and hometesting...you are in control.![]()
We didn’t get to talk about pain meds. I’m not sure if she is in pain but definitely must be the diabetic neuropathy.I’m sorry, I’ve tried to catch up a little on the history and it may have been mentioned before but is she on any pain meds? I wonder if she is having some appy issues because she is in pain. Most definitely the vet needs to determine the cause for inappetence, I hope the vetty visit goes well and you can get some definitive answers.
15 is much too high a BG to aim for as being ideal. You need to get the BGs to be under the urine threshold so that urine is not spilling over into the urine all the time…That is hard on the kidneys. Vets always aim for higher BGs than we do…probably because most people don’t test the BGs.Want me to do an hour by hour curve on the weekend on 1U, our aim is to get Bella at AMPS/PMPS ideally 15, low point 5-8. Which sounds very much like “start low, go slow”
I think after 7 days if the BG is not coming down under 150 (8.3) you need to increase the dose (as per the SLGS method) otherwise you will get glucose toxicity and you will need more insulin to bring the BGs down. And definitely dont go to once a day with glargine. Cats have a fast metabolism and they twice a day insulin. It is actually good if the insulin lasts a bit longer than 12 hours and it overlaps…that is how you get down into lower numbers, get the cat regulated and if you are lucky, get them into remission. You won’t get regulated or into remission if you aim for 15 (270).He would like to stay as what I’m doing with 1U twice daily for now and do curve but then look at the 1 shot per (I need to re listened to how he wanted that transition to happen again)
15 is much too high a BG to aim for as being ideal. You need to get the BGs to be under the urine threshold so that urine is not spilling over into the urine all the time…That is hard on the kidneys. Vets always aim for higher BGs than we do…probably because most people don’t test the BGs.
I think after 7 days if the BG is not coming down under 150 (8.3) you need to increase the dose (as per the SLGS method) otherwise you will get glucose toxicity and you will need more insulin to bring the BGs down. And definitely dont go to once a day with glargine. Cats have a fast metabolism and they twice a day insulin. It is actually good if the insulin lasts a bit longer than 12 hours and it overlaps…that is how you get down into lower numbers, get the cat regulated and if you are lucky, get them into remission. You won’t get regulated or into remission if you aim for 15 (270).
Remember if you are home testing you are in control and can manage drops in the BG by feeding food.
I found it hard to get methyl B12 tablets here without any sugar in them. I used to order them from lifelink.com. They are called Zobaline for cats. They come from overseas.Going to investigate the methyl-B12 tomorrow too
How gorgeous!My son decided tonight be are throwing her a sixteenth birthday next month!
We have all found the same thing. I grew much closer to Sheba after she was diagnosed. And she would follow me around the house all day. And she would talk to me all day….I miss that a lot!Honestly, weirdly Bella diabetes has brought us closer together again. I can’t explain it but it has
That’s beautifulHow gorgeous!
We have all found the same thing. I grew much closer to Sheba after she was diagnosed. And she would follow me around the house all day. And she would talk to me all day….I miss that a lot!
I would get one test in tonight because if she is bouncing, they often go up higher before they drop down and that higher PMPS tonight could be the high before the drop back down…..but cats love to prove us wrong, so we will see….!
Looking at purchasing- and I’ve been reading a thread from 2020 about how long it takes to work… how often to you give, once twice daily… just might buy a few bottles with only one shipping?I found it hard to get methyl B12 tablets here without any sugar in them. I used to order them from lifelink.com. They are called Zobaline for cats. They come from overseas.
I gave it once a day. I sprinkled it on the food and Sheba never noticed.Looking at purchasing- and I’ve been reading a thread from 2020 about how long it takes to work… how often to you give, once twice daily… just might buy a few bottles with only one shipping?
I gave it once a day. I sprinkled it on the food and Sheba never noticed.
Sheba had the neuropathy quite badly. She would slip and slide on the wooden floors, couldnt jump up on the bed, would have to sit down every few steps. Once the BGs came down into more normal numbers it gets better more quickly. I suppose it took about 6 months for Sheba to get back to more normal walking. She eventually got back to normal and she could jump up on the bed again etc.
Have you decided which dosing method to follow? If Bella is still eating dry, it will have to be SLGS.
Have you looked at the ZiwiPeak air dried food ?(that is not counted as dry food.) You
https://ziwipets.com/en-au/products/air-dried-mackerel-and-lamb-cat-food