Bella AMPS/19.1, +9/10.3 and +9/ketones 0.3

Tara and Bella

Member Since 2023
Hi,

This morning Bella wet the bed - thinking the alarm scared her at first or it could be due to neuropathy and her back legs. She also wet one of her day beds getting up when I go home this afternoon.

Bella is also on Ondansetron twice daily.

Today while out I bought the following
  • Ketone strips for blood testing on the lifesmart 2 plus monitor.
  • Methyl B-12 (two different brands/ both don’t have xylitol)
  • Ziwipets air dried food.
When I got home she hadn’t eaten much so I check her BG and ketones. Since testing I have feed her some of the ziwi food which she did eat.

thoughts on ketone?
 
0.3 is nothing to worry about when testing with the blood ketone meter.
With the urine ketone test drips you want it to be negative.
It is good to see the BG back down a bit to 10.3 (185)
Which of the ziwipeak foods did you get?
 
I got two mackerel/lamb and chicken… she has eaten some this afternoon thankfully!

ok… regarding ketones. What numbers are the blood test worry numbers?

Also her BG number seem reasonably good today. So I’m not sure why we have reverted back to urination outside the litter… is that to do with the neuropathy? Just her unable to get up quickly enough/old weak bladder?
 
I got some methyl B-12 it has NO Xylitol but it does contain Mannitol. Any idea if that’s ok? I rang the manufacturer to double check.
 
regarding ketones. What numbers are the blood test worry numbers?
Generally speaking, for cats, 2.4 is when I would be very concerned. However you also need to look out for symptoms such as lethargy, vomiting, depressed, not eating. If they have any of these symptoms and a lower ketone count I would be concerned.

Also her BG number seem reasonably good today. So I’m not sure why we have reverted back to urination outside the litter… is that to do with the neuropathy? Just her unable to get up quickly enough/old weak bladder?
It depends how bad her neuropathy is. Has she been checked for a UTI?

I got some methyl B-12 it has NO Xylitol but it does contain Mannitol. Any idea if that’s ok? I rang the manufacturer to double check.
https://www.petplace.com/article/dr...sed,congestion, or congestive cardiac failure.
 
Ok so that ketone number 0.3 plus In appetite, would that be considered worrying?

I would say her neuropathy is bad but she is not walking on her hocks just walking terribly wobbled and slippery. My husband keeps insisting she has just aged dramatically with her cancer surgery and all the diabetes.

Obviously the urination has only started again today! I don’t, I have no idea about the UTI. I’m guessing a need to see a vet to determine that?

thanks for the link re mannitol
 
I would say her neuropathy is bad but she is not walking on her hocks just walking terribly wobbled and slippery. My husband keeps insisting she has just aged dramatically with her cancer surgery and all the diabetes.
That sounds very like neuropathy. Sheba used to slip and slide and wobble as she walked. Sheba never walked on her hocks.
Ok so that ketone number 0.3 plus In appetite, would that be considered worrying?
I don't think so. I would keep an eye on the ketones though by testing each day at the moment.
She is eating some food isn't she?
Also is she drinking water? If she will let you, you could put a teaspoon of warm water into each snack.
 
Yeah I will have to start neuropathy treatment as soon as possible once I decide which to give her.

She is eating minimally and drinking plenty of water. Hence urination but her numbers are not high, high!
I resisted the urge to up her dose tonight before her curve tomorrow! 1U doesn’t seem enough at this stage but is shifting before I do the curve -at 1U premature and might effect the result? My intuition says 1.5U.
Should I do my curve tomorrow on 1U or 1.5U?
Is hard to resist the urge to shift amounts.
 
If you are following SLGS, you would wait 7 days before increasing.the dose.
I would do the curve tomorrow using 1 unit. See how that goes.
And when you do increase, you would go up to 1.25 units not 1.5 because you are seeing some blue BGs.
Are you feeding any dry food still?
If not you could go to TR where you can increase sooner, although I know you are concerned about when you go to work.
 
Yeah I have completely cut the dry food for now. Just see how she goes on ziwipeaks (biscuits replacement), the roo/chicken/tuna and wet food. She is still being picky but I’m hoping the ondansetron will start working well in the next few days.

I’m no pro with the two methods but the TR method requires more testing then the SLGS method, when I’m at work four days the daily testing will be hard to do before +9/10.

Yes I’m eager to see how her curve goes tomorrow.
 
If you are following SLGS, you would wait 7 days before increasing.the dose.
I would do the curve tomorrow using 1 unit. See how that goes.
And when you do increase, you would go up to 1.25 units not 1.5 because you are seeing some blue BGs.
Are you feeding any dry food still?
If not you could go to TR where you can increase sooner, although I know you are concerned about when you go to work.
I realised I have confused that with the original 5 step plan that the SLGS was adapted from! Silly me!
 
Back
Top