sharon boyd
Member Since 2020
Just checked her and at +8 she is at 79, is this ok or something that may need hc wet? Never have we seen a number this low
Im not gonna lie, I gave her some dry food because i was scared, also want to add I have been sitting with her and watching her and she had a thing on her back where she was grooming I thought it looked like a worm so I grabbed it with a paper towels and squeezed and If Im not mistaking it is a tooth? Gonna try to check her teeth but as I said before she is s drama queen, any idea?Well done catching that 79, Sharon.
Mogs
.
Nope didnt wash it and I just assumed when my husband took her in to the vet to be checked that he checked her teeth, now Im pretty sure he didnt, had my son hold my phone and looks like it came from the top teeth, no bad breath smell and no I didnt wash it off, wasnt even sure what it was till I tried to squeeze it, all I can say it WOW! What a day!Did you wash it off before taking a picture? Was there any blood on it? Trying to figure out how a tooth could just fall out like that... there's a good part of the root there too, it looks like.
If you're certain it's hers (no other cats or other small creatures in the house), I'd definitely get her into the vet to get that checked out. There may be other problem teeth bothering her.
Nope, just assumed the vet would look considering she was there and they did the blood work and diagnosed her with diabetes![]()
![]()
![]()
Has she had a dental or a vet checking out her teeth in an exam recently? That definitely looks like a tooth!
Well showed it to my husband and we are pretty sure it was her tooth, havent been to the vet yet as money is tight right now, I do have sone put back for an emergency but she seems to be fine, actually she was playing last night like her spunky normal self despite her neuropathy!! Was gonna try to grab a test then cause I figured her numbers were low to feel that good but as soon as I grabbed the kit the look in her eyes said back off! Lol, she has a lot of personality! I actually recorded her, gonna get the zobaline b12 as soon as we get her numbers under control, from my understanding that’s only when it will work, would be so excited to see her walk normal again I know it would bring me to tears! Thank you for asking about herHow is Bell doing? And did you get to the bottom of the tooth mystery?
Big hugs to Bell!Well showed it to my husband and we are pretty sure it was her tooth, havent been to the vet yet as money is tight right now, I do have sone put back for an emergency but she seems to be fine, actually she was playing last night like her spunky normal self despite her neuropathy!! Was gonna try to grab a test then cause I figured her numbers were low to feel that good but as soon as I grabbed the kit the look in her eyes said back off! Lol, she has a lot of personality! I actually recorded her, gonna get the zobaline b12 as soon as we get her numbers under control, from my understanding that’s only when it will work, would be so excited to see her walk normal again I know it would bring me to tears! Thank you for asking about her



Just checked her at +4 she is at 82! Im assuming this is ok?Big hugs to Bell!![]()
Just checked Bell and at +4 she is 82, Im assuming this is ok?Wow!
That's still safe, but it is lower than you are aiming for with Vetsulin. I don't know that you need HC right now, but I'd definitely keep testing, test again at +9.
Also, Bell has just earned a reduction down to 3.0U!
In line with the FDMB Vetsulin guidelines, dose reductions are earned when BG goes below 90 on a human meter, so that 82 means that Bell has earned another immediate dose reduction of 0.25IU, down to 2.75 units.Just checked Bell and at +4 she is 82,
I tried to get another test in 1 hour later, she wouldnt let me, I just sit with her to make sure she acted normal, I know thats not idea, but I didnt have anyone to help me get it, she was at 300 this morning and my husband went ahead with the 3, before I was up and read this, I will test her at +4 again if that sounds good? I pray she will let me!Hi Sharon,
I'm sorry that no-one was around to reply to you last night. The 82 was a safe number but for future reference if Bell does get below 100 on her Vetsulin I'd suggest getting a test 30-60 minutes later to see whether she's coming back up - especially if the below-100 reading occurs before +8. The lower the reading, the sooner you need to test, and also more frequently, intervening with food if necessary to boost numbers.
In line with the FDMB Vetsulin guidelines, dose reductions are earned when BG goes below 90 on a human meter, so that 82 means that Bell has earned another immediate dose reduction of 0.25IU, down to 2.75 units.
Mogs
.
Yes always, she is just a very dramatic cat, always has been lol.Hi Sharon,
Do you give Bell a treat after her tests? Bribery is good in these situations!
Mogs
.
Wow that would be so nice!!I know what you mean Sharon it took two of us to test Trouble. I was lucky Hubby worked 5 mins away.![]()