Bell +4 at 82 hold the same dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Im assuming this is an ok number, just wondering if I should still hold the same dose?

Sorry you didn't get a reply sooner! I would have suggested you get at least 1 more test after that 82 to make sure he wasn't still dropping.

I expect he'll be high again by morning so you could shoot the 3u dose again (if he's above 300)

If there's any way to get a few more tests in, it'll really help. If you think of your spreadsheet like it's a puzzle, the more pieces you have filled in, the easier it is to see the whole picture!
 
Hi Sharon,

Please see my post on your other thread. According to FDMB Vetsulin guidelines a dose reduction is earned if BG drops below 90 so Bell has earned another immediate 0.25IU reduction after that 82 reading. Based on my experience using Vetsulin (aka Caninsulin) even if you get a higher preshot reading a dose of 3.00 units has the ability to still drop BG right back down again to a range that is a bit too low for this particular insulin. Following the guidelines, Bell's new dose should be 2.75 units.


Mogs
.
 
Sorry you didn't get a reply sooner! I would have suggested you get at least 1 more test after that 82 to make sure he wasn't still dropping.

I expect he'll be high again by morning so you could shoot the 3u dose again (if he's above 300)

If there's any way to get a few more tests in, it'll really help. If you think of your spreadsheet like it's a puzzle, the more pieces you have filled in, the easier it is to see the whole picture!
Thanks for you reply, she was at 300 this morning, Im doing my best with the tests, sometimes she just wont let me! I tried an hour later and she wasnt having it, I watched her closely, I know testing is supposed to get easier but with her its hit and miss, I do the freeze dried chicken treats, which she loves, but sometimes she just doesn’t want to be messed with, other times she is fine
 
Ah, you've just answered my question from your other thread about the treats. :)

One thing you might experiment with is to regularly take her to her testing spot, give her a little bit of fuss and then give a treat, the idea being that she'll associate the spot more with treats than tests. Worth a try.


Mogs
.
 
Ah, you've just answered my question from your other thread about the treats. :)

One thing you might experiment with is to regularly take her to her testing spot, give her a little bit of fuss and then give a treat, the idea being that she'll associate the spot more with treats than tests. Worth a try.


Mogs
.
Lol, I have done this also, she usually goes to the bathroom when its time for her dinner, on her own, to her that can food is the best treat in the world! I do use freeze dried chicken treats at different test times, just when I think she is going to be ok with the poke poke, she will let me know its not gonna be smooth! I can tell by the look in her eyes!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top