Anita and Stewie
Member
Hi there, First of all, I'm new with this, and I've been reading like crazy, but I already goofed today with Stewie's shot and it makes me sad that I still don't have the knowledge I need...there is so much to learn! Stewie was diagnosed June 2nd, and his SS has the vet's readings first, sorry I copied and pasted from the USA sheet over to the World (I'm in Ottawa, Canada, EST) and the green colour came along when I pasted.
But I started his BG curve myself today, and I didn't know about the readings with the AlphaTRAK which I use, so I learned from someone on the forum, too late, that I should not have given him his morning dose as his reading was too low at 5.9. He went down to 3.0 as the lowest this afternoon, which I didn't know was bad (I thought 2.8 or lower was too low) but by luck I fed him small amounts of food a couple of times and he didn't go hypo. His reading went up to 7.5 by 7 pm.
I want to know about tomorrow morning, as I read this on one of the stickies for this group: NOTE: Because pet-specific meters (such as the AlphaTrak2) often read higher than human meters, you may want to adjust the NO-SHOOT number to 225 mg/dL {12.5 mmol/L} or even 250 mg/dL {14 mmol/L} This gives you an added margin of safety when using an AlphaTrak2 or other pet-specific meter.
Does this mean that tomorrow morning, if his BG reading is 14 or lower, that I should not dose him? when do I know to give half a dose, or just one dose a day?
As an added note: as soon as I found out he had diabetes on June 2nd, I switched to a low carb canned/wet food. He used to eat dry and wet. Thanks so much!
But I started his BG curve myself today, and I didn't know about the readings with the AlphaTRAK which I use, so I learned from someone on the forum, too late, that I should not have given him his morning dose as his reading was too low at 5.9. He went down to 3.0 as the lowest this afternoon, which I didn't know was bad (I thought 2.8 or lower was too low) but by luck I fed him small amounts of food a couple of times and he didn't go hypo. His reading went up to 7.5 by 7 pm.
I want to know about tomorrow morning, as I read this on one of the stickies for this group: NOTE: Because pet-specific meters (such as the AlphaTrak2) often read higher than human meters, you may want to adjust the NO-SHOOT number to 225 mg/dL {12.5 mmol/L} or even 250 mg/dL {14 mmol/L} This gives you an added margin of safety when using an AlphaTrak2 or other pet-specific meter.
Does this mean that tomorrow morning, if his BG reading is 14 or lower, that I should not dose him? when do I know to give half a dose, or just one dose a day?
As an added note: as soon as I found out he had diabetes on June 2nd, I switched to a low carb canned/wet food. He used to eat dry and wet. Thanks so much!