Beenie first day off ProZinc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beenie (GA)

Member Since 2017
Hi!
When someone once said, I think it was @Kris & Teasel, that the ProZinc forum was like a quiet country road and LL forum is like the freeway boy is that true!! So so busy over there.:D
Today was day ONE on Levemir and it has been an exciting one. Seeing numbers we have never seen. Nerve wracking to say the least but I'm here monitoring. Chin scritches to all the kitties :cat:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-beenie-amps-263-273-2-246-4-168-7-136-8.182039/
Yup! That was my comment. I takes a while to get used to the volume of traffic there. :smuggrin:
 
Hi @Beenie, I'm a PZI user considering an insulin switch because of lack of response in my cat - can you explain why you chose to switch, and why you chose Levemir? You can click on Sam's chart if you want :) Thanks!
 
Whoa! That's more blue than you've had this whole time put together! Wow!!!! Go Beenie! How are you holding up, Michelle? I imagine it's been a bit stressful for you seeing those numbers?
 
Whoa! That's more blue than you've had this whole time put together! Wow!!!! Go Beenie! How are you holding up, Michelle? I imagine it's been a bit stressful for you seeing those numbers?
Yep I panicked a bit. Then felt better when she went up a bit. Now I'm waiting to do her PMPS test and I'm scared to death on what is good to shoot on...
I'll just wait and see what her number is and post. I'll test 20 minutes before shot time so I can get some feedback (which is soon). My goodness:nailbiting:
 
What a day you've had! By the way, good call on the starting dose! That mama-sense is a powerful thing. I love seeing those pretty low blues for Beenie!
 
Hi @Beenie, I'm a PZI user considering an insulin switch because of lack of response in my cat - can you explain why you chose to switch, and why you chose Levemir? You can click on Sam's chart if you want :) Thanks!
Hi @SamsonsMom !!
I'm not at a point where I can give you dosing advise. I still seek that here myself, just like you. Beenie is a high dose cat. She was on 14 U of ProZinc before I switched today. Had nothing to do with ProZinc working or not. Levemir/Lantus are longer lasting as they are depot insulins. Sheer volume alone was enough for me to switch. I'm sorry I couldn't be more help but our kitties "circumstances" are completely different so my reasoning for switching would not apply to Samson. The advise I would give you is to at least get your AM and PM PS numbers. Your SS is missing some info. Adding that to the picture may better help the folks here with a better dosing strategy for you. Best of luck :cat:
 
Round two of Levemir....or the wine? ;):p

Yes, Sam had a good cycle this morning. He's in desperate need of a good poop though, so we'll see if he isn't a little higher tonight.
 
Both!!! I just got a 153 PMPS....??? I posted in LL

What is it with all the poop issue lately?!? :confused: My goodness, my civvie is having issues too...still.
 
Oh wow. I'm so glad the L/L people have to help figure out the dose on that PMPS. I would have no idea what to suggest!

There does seem to be a lot of constipated kitties in the past few days!
 
Just read the dosing advice on your L/L thread. :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting: Wendy is right though. I shot on a 67 a couple of nights ago and nothing happened. He just stayed flat. It's the weirdest thing. It's only 3:50 in the afternoon here, so I'll be around for hours if you need to have a PJ party. :bighug::coffee::cat:
 
Thank you :bighug:
I stuck myself with the syringe when I went to out the cap back on! I'm going to just toss them in the sharps container so that doesn't happen again! For good measure I ate an ice cream sandwich:joyful:

I'm so nervous but its what the protocol says and unless Beenie has any surprises in store we should be ok. I'll be brewing the coffee soon:coffee:
I'm so sensitive to caffeine after 3pm so a cup now will keep me up no problem. I'll be checking in quite a bit tonight. Thanks Djamila!!!!
 
By the way, I love that your Lantus thread is at the top of this thread. It makes it so easy to pop over!
 
What a great first day!!! And you can ALWAYS come here when you're feeling overwhelmed...can't advise on Lev, but we can commiserate and just hang out! :)
 
What a great first day!!! And you can ALWAYS come here when you're feeling overwhelmed...can't advise on Lev, but we can commiserate and just hang out! :)
Thanks Rachel:bighug::bighug:
I just got through reading the thread of Nicole & Baby from 2009, when Nicole gave Baby 5 U instead of .5 U starting dose. My goodness what a nail bitter:nailbiting:
She handled the hypo so so well and it was her first shoot of insulin. My goodness

Time to test Beenie;)
 
I wonder if you might want to catch a nap for a few hours while you wait for onset? It looks like he's hanging out in a pretty safe range for now.
 
I wonder if you might want to catch a nap for a few hours while you wait for onset? It looks like he's hanging out in a pretty safe range for now.
Maybe you're right. I'm just less than a half hour until +4 test and i'll grab the data then take a nap until +6 rolls around. Good thing I didn't drink coffee. I'll set the alarm and take a quick nap. Thanks for the idea.
 
I'm baaaack. 156 @ +6. A little earlier than +6 but close enough. Slept for about an hour o_O
Beenie had her 12:00am feeding from auto feeder so her number may be food influenced.. ??
 
Look at those lovely blues! :cool: Thinking you'll be seeing some nice green once the depot starts working ;)

Good call! :woot::smuggrin:
Hi Yong!!! How's work going? Maury's numbers are looking good ;)
So many blues for Beenie today!! Quite a surprise. A good one but a tad nerve wracking:nailbiting:
I was just about to post on a thread I was reading on the main health forum. I think Lizzy needs some help...too high of a starting dose for one
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/alpha-trak-2-meter.182072/
 
Hi Michelle!
Work is not bad. I'll probably be getting rained on tomorrow LOL! I'm trying not to talk too much about my boy :p:smuggrin:. He has been more playful past couple days so I enjoy seeing the young boy again! Even with the having to ask again, "What are you doing?!" haha!

Ugh :mad: so many Vets with their high starting doses. :(
 
Ugh :mad: so many Vets with their high starting doses. :(
Frightening. I just posted over. Hope others chime in with good advise.
I guess I have one of the conservative vets...too conservative. You missed all the hoopla, he wanted me start Beenie at 1 U of Levemir! I was like :eek:

Stay dry tomorrow!! Or today LOL...it is Friday.
 
HA! It's like, OK I appreciate you being safe but that would make you lose almost all progress :rolleyes:
It goes to show he has never dealt with anything like this. I flat out asked him if he has any other high dose kitties. He said no but that doesn't mean they don't need to be; he said I'm the only one who homes tests. He's supportive but I wasn't going to argue about starting dose because I had every intention on getting that advise here. Never even crossed my mind to ask him ;)
 
I think a lot of vets are trying to not stress their patients out. They figure that if they suggest home testing and basing the dose on THAT, the CG will just say NOPE and that'll be it. So they don't even try...they just base it on what they have (which in fairness..is all they have. I do wish they'd take into account stress and suggest lower than they think is needed though). I get it, but I wish vets would push home testing more. My vet mentioned it but didn't push...I chose to do so because of this place. If she HAD pushed more and maybe shown me how easy it was...and even suggested visiting here...I think we might have had much better regulation.
 
Michelle! Look at those beautiful cycles yesterday! Actually, I really hope you are asleep right now and not looking at them. Please make sure you get some sleep today. Taking care of yourself is super important through all of this. Keeping an eye on things was important too, but it doesn't look like you slept more than a few minutes all night!

I don't think I've ever seen someone switch and get such an instant and dramatic response. That was fun to watch!

Stay dry tomorrow!! Or today LOL...it is Friday.

Do y'all have rain over there on the east coast? Can you send some to us? We are getting a little desperate over here.
 
I don't think I've ever seen someone switch and get such an instant and dramatic response. That was fun to watch!
Wendy had pointed out Jack's SS (saltycat) for his dramatic response but it did go back up. Who knows what Beenie has in store. I certainly didn't expect numbers like this! Could a big piece of the puzzle been the type of insulin? We shall see.
I have a party to go to tomorrow afternoon/evening and I'm on the fence if I should go. Have the vet tech scheduled for testing and shot but I think it may be too soon to leave the house for that many hours:nailbiting:. Not sure what to do. I'm going to talk to DH and see how he feels.
Do y'all have rain over there on the east coast? Can you send some to us? We are getting a little desperate over here.
No rain by me yet...I think tomorrow a little. @Yong is either north or south of me and was getting rain today...or tomorrow? Things get weird when you're discussing in the wee hours of the morning on what tomorrow is. :joyful:
 
No rain by me yet...I think tomorrow a little. @Yong is either north or south of me and was getting rain today...or tomorrow? Things get weird when you're discussing in the wee hours of the morning on what tomorrow is. :joyful:
Yup I'm south of Michelle and we have rain coming in right now. Supposedly the worse of it will be this evening while I'm at work... outside... :blackeye:
 
Yup I'm south of Michelle and we have rain coming in right now. Supposedly the worse of it will be this evening while I'm at work... outside... :blackeye:
Just checked the forecast we're getting it tonight . Tomorrow is supposed to be a rainy day too. If I could send it your way @Djamila I would:)
Beenie is now back splashing in the water:cool:
I'm not going to test every hour like yesterday. I'll test at +8
I'm really liking this Levemir stuff:cat:
 
Here is our forecast for almost a week now:

upload_2017-8-11_14-22-19.png


We are getting smoke down from the fires in British Columbia. It look like thick fog outside, and everyone's lungs are burning. Amazing how far smoke can travel. We are getting desperate for some wind or rain to move it on, but it's been hot and still, so the smoke is just sitting here. I never knew "smoke" was a type of weather!
 
Here is our forecast for almost a week now:

View attachment 30251

We are getting smoke down from the fires in British Columbia. It look like thick fog outside, and everyone's lungs are burning. Amazing how far smoke can travel. We are getting desperate for some wind or rain to move it on, but it's been hot and still, so the smoke is just sitting here. I never knew "smoke" was a type of weather!
WOW! Yep never heard of a "smoke" forecast. That is awful and scary. I hope you all get wind and rain asap!!!
 
I just can't get over Beenie's numbers! This is really amazing!
I know its really amazing. I emailed my vet this afternoon to tell him I was sorry but did not take his dosing advise of starting Beenie at 1 U. Shared with him her SS and told him I would keep him posted but wanted him in the loop. He is a really good doc, this is just out of his realm I think. Haven't gotten a response back but can't argue with her numbers. I just hope we stay this course.:)
 
LL condo -http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beenie-amps-128.182182/

Good morning my ProZinc fam:coffee::coffee:. Today starts day four and I'm exhausted! Had our first green last night and our lowest AMPS number. I'm a little nervous about what the day will bring. Just hoping that the general rule that kitties run lower at night holds true. This is all going much faster than I thought
Phenomenal progress!! Lev really agrees with Beenie. :D:D:D BTW - you haven't entered today's AM dose in your SS.
 
Phenomenal progress!! Lev really agrees with Beenie. :D:D:D BTW - you haven't entered today's AM dose in your SS.
Oh thanks Kris. I just entered it! I'm really feeling the effects of the lack of sleep. I'm just waiting to get a +2 and I'm going to go to bed. So tired:blackeye:
 
WHAT?!?! You got a green?!!!! Did you have a little heart attack? Or a dance party?

This is really amazing. I have never seen a kitty switch and respond this quickly. As they say, the best insulin is the one that works for your kitty, and Levemir seems to be working amazingly for Beenie!
 
It does look like he's being pretty consistent so far about hitting nadir late in the cycle. Please make sure you're taking care of yourself! Remember it's a marathon. (although it does seem like Beenie is trying to turn it into a sprint!)
 
WHAT?!?! You got a green?!!!! Did you have a little heart attack? Or a dance party?

This is really amazing. I have never seen a kitty switch and respond this quickly. As they say, the best insulin is the one that works for your kitty, and Levemir seems to be working amazingly for Beenie!
Of course I had a little heart attack!:eek:. I'm shot. Quite a bit of excitement. I didn't think we'd see greens for months. Levemir really is doing wonders.:D
 
It does look like he's being pretty consistent so far about hitting nadir late in the cycle. Please make sure you're taking care of yourself! Remember it's a marathon. (although it does seem like Beenie is trying to turn it into a sprint!)
Boy she certainly didn't get that memo:cool: Last yellow was 24hrs ago!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top