Been away a while, trying not to FREAK!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheresaJ860

Member Since 2011
Hello my dear FDMB Friends,

I have not forgotten any of you, please believe me. It has been a difficult few months, with my health, deaths in the family, and then wham, I injured my back. So first I ask you to forgive me for appearing to just drop off the board.

Carl, I know you will suggest I write this in the PZI board, and maybe I should, I'm just so comfortable here for now.

Christian's numbers continue to be all over the place, in fact, he is more HIGH than not, I've tried to keep my SS updated, unfortunately, my wonderful DH tried to help me, and moved the pad I switched to with a lot of numbers, and then when I was really unable to even come downstairs, well, he took the readings, gave his shot, (missed it once!!! grrrrr) but didn't record it.

Chris is on FF classics 99.99% of the time, he gets the occassional friskies pate when he seems board. However, he is ravenous again!
So I have been giving him 1/2 can FF at AM shot, again 1.5 hrs later, and then every 2 hours. Through the night he has the frozen FF to lick and is usually satisfied with that, rarely does he have leftovers. The entire night time feeding amounts to 1 can frozen FF, with 1/4 can soft on top to keep him happy. His water is always maintained, and yes, I am still adding a 1/2 can water to all of his feedings.

I have not been successful in getting a ketone test in November. Prior to that, he has remained in trace levels.

As you can see on his SS, tonight his BG was 531!!!!!

He gets the dehydrated chicken treats, but today he had a few of the dehydrated liver treats, (I keep them to keep his drooler happy, so she doesn't want his chicken!)

I have a new bottle of PZI, was worried that the old one had lost it's effectiveness. His numbers are not different with the new insulin.

I'm getting ready to take him to the vet, but, well, am not thrilled with that option. However, I am worried, actually tonight I am FREAKED! I am not sure if he is walking differently, one minute it seems he is, the next he is leaping up on things, landing fine.... I don't want to be a nervous nellie mom, but don't want to miss anything either.

So, my friends, please share your thoughts with me! What do you think is going on with my boy?

Oh, I feel like I should mention that my drooler has taken to being snippy with him, something he would never have allowed even two months ago, my hubby scares me with saying, he is failing, she knows it, and is taking charge.... can that happen???

Thank you for listening, and I hope you are all going to have a Happy Thanksgiving!
Theresa and Christian
 
Hi Theresa!
I am very happy to see a post from you and Christian. I am sorry to hear of the problems you've been going through in the past weeks/months, and I hope the back injury is either better, or getting there soon. :YMHUG:

And I will not tell you where to post ;-) , just glad to see you back. Also, you are going to get more eyes on this in Health, and the more people who can look and respond, the better.

When I look at Christian's SS, I don't see that the insulin stopped working, but it looks more like the dose stopped working well.
On the PMPS tonight, I think you did the right thing. I am hoping to see that dose knock some numbers off his curve.

He has had decent days on the f1, just not too many and not often enough.
Has he had any "other" problems recently? And digestive issues, or any infections? Trouble with his teeth? Looking for something that might explain higher numbers outside of insulin doses....

One thing that might be giving you a higher number around the 5-7 hours after the AM shot is the two meals in the first 2 hours. That isn't a terrible thing, but it would (on paper anyway) maybe delay the onset, or the effect of the onset of his morning shot. It doesn't mess you up, or him, but it makes the numbers look wonky. BUT, taking what you said about his feeding times helps us when we look at the SS if somebody sees something "irregular".
How many cans or ounces would you guess he's eating over a 24 hour period?
Part of the increased hunger would probably be due to the higher BG, so that seems logical. Any noticed lack of agility, which seems to come and go, could also be associated with the generally higher numbers too. Any increase in water consumption or peeing?

Oh, when did you switch vials of insulin, and did I miss that note on the SS? If not, can you add it in the comments section>

As far as his relationship with the drooler..... I don't think I'd agree with DH as far as he's "failing". I do believe though that the drooler "knows" he isn't feeling as well, and Chris probably realizes he isn't either. So it would make Chris less likely to be snippy back. My cats can always tell when one isn't feeling up to par. They seem to do one of two things. They either love on the sick one to make him feel better, or they seize the advantage to smack without fear of a smack back. I think the dog knows Christian is feeling crappy, and Chris probably is thinking "man, I'm feeling like crap, leave me alone?"

Let's see what other think. I am thinking it was time for a dose increase. Maybe not 1.5, but maybe 1.25, but let's see what the 1.5 does for now. If he's still high in the morning, you can stay with that, or if not quite so high, then maybe 1.25 for a couple days. That's just my opinion, and hoping other chime in soon. And if you can, get a ketone test. I know it's not the easiest thing in the world. Just the higher the numbers get, the more you want to know for sure.

Welcome back!
Carl
 
I agree with Carly that an increase to 1 1/4 units is in order.
I would not be concerned about the droller either. My cats react to my Raggy differently. Some sort of fight at times.
 
Thank you Carl, and Larry,
This morning I gave him 1.25, and will be trying to do a curve of q 2 hrs. His +2 last night came down to 388, the AMPS was high, 462, +2 is 424. Just gave him 1/2 can FF. will test again in 2 hrs.

Carl, I don't think he has had any infection, though he really needs to have his asthma attended to. Change of seasons, and weird weather has brought an increase in his attacks. I have noticed that his BM's in the litter box are awful odorous, evacuate the house stinky! He is not showing signs of urinary tract issues, and believe me, I know those symptoms all to well. So, honestly, I haven't seen anything. Another reason I am scheduling a vet appointment.

I'll keep updating as I can today. Thank you both very much!

Happy Thanksgiving, safe travels to those traveling!

Theresa and Christian.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top