alicia.1771
Member Since 2011
Hey all -- can someone take a look at his SS for the past few days and let me know their thoughts?
His PS#'s are higher than I'm comfortable with right now and I don't know if he is either going through a chronic rebound (from 7/29 AM low nadir at the vet, 7/30 PM hypo +/- 7/31 PM possible dip) or getting too little insulin? I have been reading posts on rebound vs. too little insulin and know that it can be difficult to tell the difference. Here are some additional info I have:
Appetite is better that he is seeking to be fed and will finish 1 can of Fancy Feast on his own whereas for the last 1.5 weeks I have to hand-feed the 2nd half of his food. His appetite right now is similar to when we first started insulin, but it dropped off during the 2nd week of treatment and now it's back up again. I'm not sure how much appetite can tell us since my other civie is always seeking food and will eat pretty much anything offered (I tested her last week before feeding and she's at a comfy 55).
Water consumption is actually less. Before insulin he was about 400ml/day, then dropped to about 200ml since insulin and now in the 100's these past few days.
Urination frequency and volume are both less than when we started insulin. Ketones have been negative even this AM.
Behavior is about the same, the only odd ball is on 8/4 he did not greet me at the door during AM+5 checkup (his AMPS was also lower that day at 276). But we have been having constructions in the house this past week and that day was pretty loud, so not quite sure how much of that factors in.
He is getting 1.0U BID now on his 5th cycle (we are trying to hold ia dose for a few days to see a pattern). I am a little discouraged now since he was doing so well and we were getting really nice curves and good nadir #'s :cry: I will be doing his BG curve today at home and post the #'s here.
AMPS - 509
+2 - 326 (big drop from AMPS)
+4 - 166 (seems to hid nadir early in the cycle)
+6 - 186 (# is creeping up already before mid-cycle)
+8 - 297 (and up...)
+10 - 411 (argh...)
PMPS - 460
His PS#'s are higher than I'm comfortable with right now and I don't know if he is either going through a chronic rebound (from 7/29 AM low nadir at the vet, 7/30 PM hypo +/- 7/31 PM possible dip) or getting too little insulin? I have been reading posts on rebound vs. too little insulin and know that it can be difficult to tell the difference. Here are some additional info I have:
Appetite is better that he is seeking to be fed and will finish 1 can of Fancy Feast on his own whereas for the last 1.5 weeks I have to hand-feed the 2nd half of his food. His appetite right now is similar to when we first started insulin, but it dropped off during the 2nd week of treatment and now it's back up again. I'm not sure how much appetite can tell us since my other civie is always seeking food and will eat pretty much anything offered (I tested her last week before feeding and she's at a comfy 55).
Water consumption is actually less. Before insulin he was about 400ml/day, then dropped to about 200ml since insulin and now in the 100's these past few days.
Urination frequency and volume are both less than when we started insulin. Ketones have been negative even this AM.
Behavior is about the same, the only odd ball is on 8/4 he did not greet me at the door during AM+5 checkup (his AMPS was also lower that day at 276). But we have been having constructions in the house this past week and that day was pretty loud, so not quite sure how much of that factors in.
He is getting 1.0U BID now on his 5th cycle (we are trying to hold ia dose for a few days to see a pattern). I am a little discouraged now since he was doing so well and we were getting really nice curves and good nadir #'s :cry: I will be doing his BG curve today at home and post the #'s here.
AMPS - 509
+2 - 326 (big drop from AMPS)
+4 - 166 (seems to hid nadir early in the cycle)
+6 - 186 (# is creeping up already before mid-cycle)
+8 - 297 (and up...)
+10 - 411 (argh...)
PMPS - 460