alicia.1771
Member
Previous post regarding decision to re-start at a lower dose: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=50351
Due to consistently high PS#'s and seeminly acceptable nadirs I have decided to re-start at a lower dose to rule out rebound due to too much insulin.
This morning was our 3rd cycle on 0.6U (using U100 so easier to dose 0.6 vs. 0.5). PS#'s so far in the red zone instead of black. Yesterday his BG shot up from 368 at +4 to 555 at +6 after a feeding, but came down to 400's at PMPS time. There was a promising drop last night at +4 to 283 but again shot up to 447 after feeding and seemed to maintain that # to this morning (did not test in between).
Today's +2 to +6 curve have been in the 300's without much dip. Ketone (-) this morning. Attitude mellow but would engage in playing with a stringed toy; hunger and urination frequency/amount seemed to decreased a bit compared to yesterday (will have definitive measures tomorrow morning when I sum up his 24hr water/food intake).
I know it can take a few cycles (up to 3 days) for the rebound effect to go away but just want to check with the board memebers that his #'s so far are acceptable to continue at the 0.6U for a few more cycles since high BG# > 300 (?) are supossedly toxic to the organs?
Due to consistently high PS#'s and seeminly acceptable nadirs I have decided to re-start at a lower dose to rule out rebound due to too much insulin.
This morning was our 3rd cycle on 0.6U (using U100 so easier to dose 0.6 vs. 0.5). PS#'s so far in the red zone instead of black. Yesterday his BG shot up from 368 at +4 to 555 at +6 after a feeding, but came down to 400's at PMPS time. There was a promising drop last night at +4 to 283 but again shot up to 447 after feeding and seemed to maintain that # to this morning (did not test in between).
Today's +2 to +6 curve have been in the 300's without much dip. Ketone (-) this morning. Attitude mellow but would engage in playing with a stringed toy; hunger and urination frequency/amount seemed to decreased a bit compared to yesterday (will have definitive measures tomorrow morning when I sum up his 24hr water/food intake).
I know it can take a few cycles (up to 3 days) for the rebound effect to go away but just want to check with the board memebers that his #'s so far are acceptable to continue at the 0.6U for a few more cycles since high BG# > 300 (?) are supossedly toxic to the organs?