alicia.1771
Member Since 2011
Hey All
It sure has been a crazy weekend for me and Beau. We survived our first hypo episode thanks to everyone's support and advise here, and a special thanks to Nancy and Deb for staying up with me into the wee hours of the night until Beau's BG is in the safe zone. Really couldn't have done it without every single one of you!
Beau's BG continue to be elevated since his vet visit (nadir at vet is 68 but most likely much lower than that in reality given the stress factor) and the hypo episode (40 at + 2.5) on Saturday night. Yesterday I gave a reduced dose of skinny 0.8U BID and PM +4 dipped to 72, probably an ok # but given his tendency to go low I fed him a little bit of Fancy Feast Gravy just so we don't repeat the night before. I was supposed to get up to check his +6 but slept through the alarm being so tired. I was so relieved to find him still alive this morning outside my door when I woke up! (bad mommy....)
I don't know quite how to interprete his BG curves since his vet visit on Friday and it almost seems that at 0.8U it is still too much insulin for him. I emailed my vet his spreadsheet this moring and she called to said she thinks the elevated BG is due to rebound and that Beau may be on the way to remission (!?) and may no longer need insulin or as much insulin as we have been giving him. She is consulting with a specialist but may not hear back until tomorrow.
In the meantime, I was instructed to NOT give him his PM insulin tonight (even if it's a high #) and if she didn't get back to me today I was to give him just 0.5U tomorrow morning. Anyone want to chime in their thoughts???
Beau seemed a bit mellow today and need a bit of coaxing to eat. But we are seeing that 1st half of a "smile" curve today.
I missed catching his urine by 30 sec (sneaky cat!) so didn't get a ketone reading, but will keep trying. I was told there is a kind of strip that works with urine in the cat litter, anyone know what brand???
By the way, since last night's PM shot was delayed to 9:15pm, his AM shot today was at 8:50am so the +2, +4, +6 readings are according to his AM shot time.
It sure has been a crazy weekend for me and Beau. We survived our first hypo episode thanks to everyone's support and advise here, and a special thanks to Nancy and Deb for staying up with me into the wee hours of the night until Beau's BG is in the safe zone. Really couldn't have done it without every single one of you!
Beau's BG continue to be elevated since his vet visit (nadir at vet is 68 but most likely much lower than that in reality given the stress factor) and the hypo episode (40 at + 2.5) on Saturday night. Yesterday I gave a reduced dose of skinny 0.8U BID and PM +4 dipped to 72, probably an ok # but given his tendency to go low I fed him a little bit of Fancy Feast Gravy just so we don't repeat the night before. I was supposed to get up to check his +6 but slept through the alarm being so tired. I was so relieved to find him still alive this morning outside my door when I woke up! (bad mommy....)
I don't know quite how to interprete his BG curves since his vet visit on Friday and it almost seems that at 0.8U it is still too much insulin for him. I emailed my vet his spreadsheet this moring and she called to said she thinks the elevated BG is due to rebound and that Beau may be on the way to remission (!?) and may no longer need insulin or as much insulin as we have been giving him. She is consulting with a specialist but may not hear back until tomorrow.
In the meantime, I was instructed to NOT give him his PM insulin tonight (even if it's a high #) and if she didn't get back to me today I was to give him just 0.5U tomorrow morning. Anyone want to chime in their thoughts???
Beau seemed a bit mellow today and need a bit of coaxing to eat. But we are seeing that 1st half of a "smile" curve today.
I missed catching his urine by 30 sec (sneaky cat!) so didn't get a ketone reading, but will keep trying. I was told there is a kind of strip that works with urine in the cat litter, anyone know what brand???
By the way, since last night's PM shot was delayed to 9:15pm, his AM shot today was at 8:50am so the +2, +4, +6 readings are according to his AM shot time.