Beau - 7/29 - 1.25U or 1.5U before today's BG curve?

Status
Not open for further replies.

alicia.1771

Member Since 2011
+12 UPDATE: this morning Beau's AMPS is 233. I'm thinking of giving either a slightly reduced dose at 1.25U or the vet's prescribed 1.5U. Any thoughts?
 
Let me be sure I understand.... He is going for his curve and you want to know what to shoot before taking him.... Correct?

If that is correct, And he will be at the vet being monitored, I would give either dose--- there should be no danger as he will be in their care.

But, truly I like the 1 unit last night! It gave you a great preshot this morning.


Just my thoughts....
 
yes, that's correct, we're going to the vet in about 15min for his curve so he'll be monitored. So I'm deciding whether to give him 1.5U so they can see if it's too much of a dose or 1.25U and they see a smoother curve.
 
I would go with 1 unit. I think you need to establish a constant, stay with it for three or four days, and then adjust as needed. Think of this not as a "sprint" but maybe a half marathon.
kitty will gwt better.You might have to give him a chance to.catch up and pace himself.
carl in sc
 
Ok, guess I'll have to eat everything I said yesterday... that 1u last night looked really good!!!!! May be he is on a dose reduction path already :RAHCAT

What did you end up shooting & how did the vet trip go?
 
Hi All -- thanks for checking up on me :) I ended up giving him a dose between 1.25-1.5U this morning (since I only have U40 syringes it's really an eyeball dose). I was pretty sure the 1.5U would put him too low today since his BG dropped quite a bit last night with only 1.0U and at +4 was already down to 126.

I have posted his BG curve today from the vet on his spreadsheet. The vet thinks the nadir is a bit low at 68 since he should be stressed at the hospital his actual reading would have been much lower so we are decreasing his dosage :) She said for tonight to give 1.0U if PMPS > 200 and 0.5U if PMPS < 200 and will call me in the morning to discuss his reduced dosage moving forward. He was at 206 so I gave 1.0U and will be checking his +2 and +4 later.

One concern I do have is that his weight dropped from 14.19 lbs on 7/22 to 13.3 lbs today (they re-weighed him upon discharge and he was 13.5 lbs). That seems to be quite a big drop in weight i just 1 week so I am a little worried. Could the weight loss due to switching him to wet food only (besides the occasional kibbles when his appetite is down)? He seems ok otherwise except for 1 episode of diarrhea and 2 small amount of vomit on 7/26 and 7/27. But he is a medium/long-haired cat and always throws up hairballs almost every other week and always several attempts before the hairball actually came out. He hasn't had a hairball in 2 weeks so I don't know how to interpret his vomiting. The vet said to watch him for other signs (not eating, diarrhea, depressed, etc.) and if so she recommend an abdominal ultrasound to check his pancreas and GI.

I did end up getting the U100 syringes today from Walmart - the ReliOn brand at 3/10 cc that has 1/2 markings in case we decide to go lower than 1.0U or when he needs a lower dose based on PS readings. Anyone else use this brand? I also got ketone strips and was lucky enough to catch him pee tonight and did a free catch with a spoon, it was negative :) How often should I be testing for ketones? How do you guys know when your cat pees?
 
Good news all around!
Glad to see that you stuck with the 1u>200 even though he was right on the borderline at 206. When my vet drew a line in the sand, I stuck to it, even when I was tempted to say "but it's so close to the line, maybe I'll shoot lower?"

As for the weight loss. The best thing I can advise is to pay attention to how many calories Beau is eating. The lower carb canned tends to also be lower in calories. He could be eating well, but the food is now better for him, so he might need to eat more to maintain weight.
My vet told me last visit to see if I could get a little weight off of Bob, so I put him on a 225-250 calorie-per-day diet. At 14 lbs, he should get 280 to maintain his weight. Three weeks at the reduced cals, and he lost 7 oz. This visit he was at 14.1 vs. 14.5 so everybody's happy. 250 calories is 2 cans of FF plus some, depending on which flavors.

On peeing. Bob announces to the world in general whenever he's used the litter box. Like he's telling me "Okay, I'm done, come scoop it!". He's very particular about a clean box. Unfortunately, he doesn't say anything on the way in, so catching him peeing is a big challenge. Usually, I have to see him on his way to the box to catch it while it's happening.

Carl in SC
 
After his 1.0U PM shot his +2 went up from 206 to 250, then only dropped a little to 230 at +4...wonder what's going on??? Could it be that his BG went so low at nadir his body is compensating? But he also ate a lot of food after coming back from the vet since he barely ate while there so he was really hungry. He ate almost 3 cans of food between PMPS and +4.

Another odd thing I noticed is he had dandruff after returning from the vet. I'm pretty certain you can't catch dandruff from other animals but I just haven't noticed them before until this evening...
 
Do you have the conversion chart for when you switch to the U100 syringes? If not we will get it for you.

As far as his weight just like in people being overweight contributes to diabetes, did your vet tell you what his ideal weight should be? Harley was 14 lbs and his vet wants him more around 11.5 lbs to see if that will help get him OTJ, he is at 12 right now. At first I thought that was to low because I had gotten used to him being a big bulky guy but he is just fine and not carrying the extra weight has helped his arthritus too.

That was a beautiful curve yesterday but your vet is right about the vet stress and we would have expected the numbers to be higher.

It looks like your dose last night was a little high. I think I would try a .8u and see if that gives you a more normal curve.

You and Beau are doing great.
 
This morning his AMPS is 171. About 10 min later while he is eating I remembered I should have waited and re-tested him to see if his BG is going down or coming up instead of feeding right away...although I tested him again he's 186 but not sure how much of that is due to food. Will wait for the vet's call in about 30min for his AM dosing.

Another thing I noticed is that he has a lot of bruising on his inner thighs (I assume that was where they drew blood from him yesterday for the curve). There was a bit of swelling as well. I know I get a small bruise when I get my blood drawn but didn't think it would be that much. He is walking and jumping ok but quite sensitive in that area when I was petting him and parting the hair trying to see how extensive the bruises are. My poor kitty....
 
Yes, the vets don't treat our kitties as gentle as we do .... my Payne was bruised for weeks. I think your numbers look real good! You have not been doing this long, it will come easier.

Great curve! I wonder what it would have been at home but I would let him be for awhile. :mrgreen: he did really well yesterday.

Beau takes little insulin and he can go low .... you have a really good chance at decent regulation or OTJ!!
Hang in and don't be so hard on yourself! your doing this sugar dance really well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top