alicia.1771
Member Since 2011
Since we started Beau on ProZinc at 2.0U BID on 7/19 and dropped to 1.5U BID on 7/22 per our vet his BG has been fairly consistent with high AM/PMPS #'s and lower # at +6. But I'm not quite getting his curves these few days. I had skipped his PM shot 3 nights ago because his PMPS was 144 with no appetite. Later I coaxed him to eat 3/4 cans of Fancy Feast by adding some dry kibbles (first time adding dry since I switched him to all wet food on 7/19) because I was worried of him not eating, although his BG went up (due to food?) at +15 to 287 I was too scared to give him insulin since we're way past his shot time.
The next day I gave his regular AM shot and at +6 his BG is 65 and PMPS is 138, another unshootable #...I panicked and posted on the Feline Health Forum for the first time to get advise after few days of just reading and gathering info. Not knowing better I didn't wait and retest before feeding him 1 can of FFC with dry kibbles (seems the only way he'll eat these 2 days). Again his BG went up to 198 and thanks to suggestions here I did not skip a shot this time but gave a reduced dose of 0.75U.
Yesterday morning his AMPS is 292 (almost 100 lower than his previous 4 days). And given his low +6 and +12 # yesterday I decided to give a reduced dose of 1.25U. But there was a bit of struggle during injection and I lost a drop or two, so the dose is probably closer to 1.0U. His +6 was 146 and PMPS at 347 so I gave his regular dose of 1.5U. Since his # has been wacky I tested at +4 and was surprised to find his BG at 92 which was a really big drop given that he has eaten about 1.25 cans of Fancy Feast in between PMPS and +4.
This morning I was shocked to see his AMPS at 66! I waited 30min and retest it was still low at 70. So I went ahead and fed him 1 can of FF. 1 hour after feeding his BG is 97 so I decided not to give his AM shot. Did I make the right decision?
I need some advise on tonight's PM dosing again because we're scheduled for his first BG curve tomorrow morning at the vet. If I have another unshootable PMPS tonight and/or AMPS tomorrow it will really mess things up! The thing about my vet is she only works Fri/Sat and the clinic only opens 1/2 days on Sat so they won't be able to do BG curve. They have another vet who works Mon/Tues, and another on Wed/Thurs. I do not want to see the Mon/Tues vet (who I saw to get the insulin since my vet is off) because he actually scolded me for testing Beau's BG's at home "against his instrution" (not that he does not support home testing, but he thinks it's used for later in the course of the treatment monitoring and thinks I was probably not doing it right and doing it too often can scar his ears and make them necrotic....yes, his words)
I will post his +6 (would it be +18 then since he didn't get his AM dose?) and his PMPS # here and hopefully can get someone's advise in the mean time.
Also, how do I know whether to post in the Feline Health Forum or the PZI Forum? Is there one forum that gets more response (since I'm quite desperate at this moment...)? Thanks in advance!
The next day I gave his regular AM shot and at +6 his BG is 65 and PMPS is 138, another unshootable #...I panicked and posted on the Feline Health Forum for the first time to get advise after few days of just reading and gathering info. Not knowing better I didn't wait and retest before feeding him 1 can of FFC with dry kibbles (seems the only way he'll eat these 2 days). Again his BG went up to 198 and thanks to suggestions here I did not skip a shot this time but gave a reduced dose of 0.75U.
Yesterday morning his AMPS is 292 (almost 100 lower than his previous 4 days). And given his low +6 and +12 # yesterday I decided to give a reduced dose of 1.25U. But there was a bit of struggle during injection and I lost a drop or two, so the dose is probably closer to 1.0U. His +6 was 146 and PMPS at 347 so I gave his regular dose of 1.5U. Since his # has been wacky I tested at +4 and was surprised to find his BG at 92 which was a really big drop given that he has eaten about 1.25 cans of Fancy Feast in between PMPS and +4.
This morning I was shocked to see his AMPS at 66! I waited 30min and retest it was still low at 70. So I went ahead and fed him 1 can of FF. 1 hour after feeding his BG is 97 so I decided not to give his AM shot. Did I make the right decision?
I need some advise on tonight's PM dosing again because we're scheduled for his first BG curve tomorrow morning at the vet. If I have another unshootable PMPS tonight and/or AMPS tomorrow it will really mess things up! The thing about my vet is she only works Fri/Sat and the clinic only opens 1/2 days on Sat so they won't be able to do BG curve. They have another vet who works Mon/Tues, and another on Wed/Thurs. I do not want to see the Mon/Tues vet (who I saw to get the insulin since my vet is off) because he actually scolded me for testing Beau's BG's at home "against his instrution" (not that he does not support home testing, but he thinks it's used for later in the course of the treatment monitoring and thinks I was probably not doing it right and doing it too often can scar his ears and make them necrotic....yes, his words)
I will post his +6 (would it be +18 then since he didn't get his AM dose?) and his PMPS # here and hopefully can get someone's advise in the mean time.
Also, how do I know whether to post in the Feline Health Forum or the PZI Forum? Is there one forum that gets more response (since I'm quite desperate at this moment...)? Thanks in advance!