Beau - 10/2 - wonky #'s, need PM dose advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

alicia.1771

Member Since 2011
Yesterday:
AMPS - 393 ugh!
+2 - 452 double ugh!
+5 - 250
+6 - 257
+10.5 - 291
+11.75 - 256
PMPS - 263
+2 - 307
+4 - 187

Today:
AMPS - 363 ugh!
+2 - 465 double ugh!
+4 - 423
+6 - 343 arrgghhh....
+9 = 407
+11 = 355, 367
+12 = 340
+12.5 = 375 --> shot reduced dose 1.0

Looks like the rise in +2 is becoming a trend in him. How does one tell the difference between a normal ProZinc rise vs. an "inverse curve" indicating too high a dose?
 
Re: Beau - 10/2

I know it is frustrating but sometimes it happens
I used to obsess about Sahkes numbers and if you look at his SS you will see that
awhile ago I used to test, sometimes he would go high in the first 2 to 3 hours
and sometimes he would start going down right away.
I dont think there is a definate answer, although I know I would love one!

I will tell you that I notices with Shakes, everything depends on where I shoot
now we have been doing this dance for at least a year now(keep that in mind)
in the beginning I would always shoot he scruff...for a long time, at least 6 months
then when I read about changing the sites and I did there was a big difference
so now if I shoot too close to the scruff, he stays high for the first 4 or 5 hours
and then starts going down, so we have a lower preshot
if I shoot on the sides he will go down and up like normal.
now I am not saying that that could be you, but what I am saying is that there could be so many reasons
and it can be very exhausting trying to figure all this out.
I know how har it is, but try not to stress every reaction he has, as he is going to have different reactions
all the time, and you will wear yourself out if you keep trying
Hang in there
 
Re: Beau - 10/2

Hmm. Nice looking day yesterday. Then this day went to ....

Any chance he got into something bad to eat?

Anyone else think she could try a lower dose - she got nice numbers around 1.2
 
Re: Beau - 10/2

+6 - 343 arrgghhh....

Sue -- He's confined to my bedroom and there is no food available that he can get into.

So I'm thinking there are several possibilities for the numbers we're seeing today:
1) He might have gone lower last night (low 100's or even green) since he was already 187 at +4, so he could be riding flat on a liver bounce today.
2) He has settled into 2.0 and it's becoming an ineffective dose.
3) The 2.0 is too much and he is going into rebound with the trend of rising #'s after shots.

Any body have any thoughts on what I should shoot tonight? It will be around 8pm PST, it's 3:20pm now so we got quite a few hours to contemplate.
 
Re: Beau - 10/2 - need PM dose advise

If you think it is #1, stick with same dose at least another cycle. Fits with the idea that one cycle can be wonky - it happens. Probably the easiest, safest option tonight.

Both # 2 and #3 would work best if you are going to be around to monitor. If you raise, you want to watch for a low nadir or continuing high numbers. If you lower, you need some numbers to get a good handle fast on whether it is working or not. And ketone tests.

So except for #1, I would think it depends on your schedule tonight and tomorrow.

Let's see what others think.
 
Re: Beau - 10/2 - need PM dose advise

Looking back at his chart he has had pretty good #'s on 1.2 (8/7-8/9, 9/18) or even 0.8 (8/1-8/3). But I'm not sure these historical data would produce the same response now because I think his system is somehow messed up either by the insulin or by me in these past 3 months :cry:

Both option #1 and #3 are tempting and I'm leaning towards reducing the dose again. So far he has been ketone negative so it's an option. I don't know...so hard to make a decision!
 
+11.25 - 355, 367

Not sure if anyone is around, but if you are reading this, would appreciate some comment.

I don't know why Beau is dropping so slow today, I'm pretty certain I did not give a fur shot this morning. I shaved his fur so I have a very good visual of his skin when I inject on the side of his body and I hold the injection site for a few seconds afterward and there is no wetness at all.

What is confusing is that he started going back up around +9 and now at +11.25 he is coming down a bit. It's still within the 20% variance so not sure if he is coming down or remain steady. PMPS is coming up in 35min and I'll post his reading shortly.
 
Alicia,
I know a couple days ago you mentioned the dandruff, and we talked about water intake and dehydration, but you hadn't noticed excess drinking and peeing. Looking at your SS, and reading the comments, I noticed you log how many times he uses the box every day. I also saw a couple comments about him coughing, puking clear liquid, and once you mentioned bloody urine residue.
This is just an observation, but he seems to be peeing 4 or 5 times a day, and usually 1 BM a day.
I'm wondering if maybe he has some sort of UTI. I know ECID, but I know Bob pees at most 3 times a day, and the daily BM of course. I can't recall the last time I had to scoop more than 3 pee clumps in a day. Bob rarely drinks water however, so I guess he gets enough fluids from his food (I don't add any, he just eats canned FF and Friskees straight up!).
I was thinking if he's got some of irritation in the urinary tract, and it makes him pee more, then some of his numbers could be related to something going on with his UT? I don't know how often a cat is supposed to pee though.
I did see that on 2u, he got nice cycle on 9/28 and 9/29 (high PS numbers but nice drops) on that dose.
I was actually thinking that lately, with the smaller drops and flatter curves, that a little more insulin was indicated. But if something else is going on, his numbers might be caused by that rather than a dose related thing....

Carl
 
I am not totally up to date here...so, take this for what it is worth. But, Joanna always said that a higher number at +9 than at +10 thru +12 (preshot) was an indicator of rebound. She did said it should be a significant difference...ie..not 20 points etc. so I don't know if this cycle would fall into those boundaries.Could he be getting too much insulin?
 
Carl -- after looking closer on the dandruff issue, it turns out not to be dandruff after all. I noticed some redness on his neck/top of shoulder region on 9/26 and at first thought it was razor burn from shaving him a few days ago. But now I think it may have been a spider bite and that redness has gone down and it's peeling (like when we had a sunburn). The pink-tinged urine has happened before on 8/24, urine culture came back negative but we finished a course of antibiotic anyway. His urine culture back in July was also negative so I don't think UTI is high on the list. When he was first diagnosed he was peeing 7-8x/day so at 5x/day it's actually pretty normal now especially when I'm adding about 120-140ml of water into his food daily to help him keep hydrated. My other cat civvie pees about 3-4x/day so Beau's not too bad considering he is diabetic. Regarding his numbers today, it's really difficult to know if it's dose-related as it can be interpreted either way. Why is there no clear-cut explanations???? Anyway, PMPS is coming up, gonna go test now and post.
 
The safest way to find out if the dose is too low or to high if you are getting no ketone tests in is to lower the dose first.

It looks like your best results were around 1 unit plus or minus. If his numbers drop when you reduce the dose he was getting too much insulin, if his numbers shoot up he needs more insulin.
 
alicia.1771 said:
PMPS - 340 :shock:

What should I shoot???

That looks like an inverse curve to me, indicating too much insulin. I would reduce the dose.

You could drop back to 1 unit or back down off the dose slowely and reduce to 1.5 units and see how that goes.
 
I agree with Robin on the best way to find out if a dose is too high or too low is to lower the dose first. If it isn't too high, you'd see higher numbers, which are easier to deal with than a hypo from a higher dose.

I don't know that I agree that this was an inverse curve though. discount the 407 and it's pretty flat. I'm thinking the +2 was from eating and a slower onset of the insulin. There was probably a small boost from the snack at +6, and the numbers after that all fall within 20% of each other.

The other thing I'm thinking is that if a flatish cycle today was caused by last night's blue, then it's a bounce from that. If you look back at the last week you've been dosing 2.0, this is the only curve that isn't in the right direction. Some of the curves haven't been too great, but some have had good drops. This is the only "wonky" one.

What it all comes down to is that you have to trust your gut, and keep on dancing!

Carl
 
Decided to go with reduced dose of 1.0. Seems like I keep going back and forth between too little vs. too much insulin. Anyway, PM shot was 40 min late:

PMPS - 375
+2 = 316

so far so good.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top