Beat goes on and on!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
That high preshot this morning was probably a bounce from going lower than he's used to. He'll come back down. :) I would definitely NOT start dosing over from the beginning. He's way way too high to lower the dose. are you regularly testing ketones?
 
Have not tested for ketones, he was negative in Nov. Guess I need to do that next. See I can buy at a pharmacy, will add it to my list, Thanks.
Your baby eating now??
Witch ketone test do I get? Have a link on how to do? Thanks
 
Last edited:
I know I've asked this before. Increased Raymond James's insulin to 5units. He tested at 340. Is there a criteria for units to BG's? If his GB is in the 300, shoot 5 units. If his BG in the 200, shoot 5 units? Does it go by so many cycles? Thanks. @Critter Mom. @JanetNJ.
 
I know I've asked this before. Increased Raymond James's insulin to 5units. He tested at 340. Is there a criteria for units to BG's? If his GB is in the 300, shoot 5 units. If his BG in the 200, shoot 5 units? Does it go by so many cycles? Thanks. @Critter Mom. @JanetNJ.
I do think you are holding an uneffective dose too long. After a few days of the numbers are all still all above 300 mid cycle, raise another half unit. Your cat has some insulin resistance.
 
I do think you are holding an uneffective dose too long. After a few days of the numbers are all still all above 300 mid cycle, raise another half unit. Your cat has some insulin resistance.
Yes, I wanted to try different food and feed only 3 times. Well nothing is working, not raising insulin either. So what you're saying is i base the dosage on his lowest reading? He never has low reading, once in a while. 10 units a day, isn't that a lot??? What time is mid cycle???
 
Yes, I wanted to try different food and feed only 3 times. Well nothing is working, not raising insulin either. So what you're saying is i base the dosage on his lowest reading? He never has low reading, once in a while. 10 units a day, isn't that a lot??? What time is mid cycle???
It definitly is a lot. Your cat has either a good case of insulin resistance or something else going on such as infection or acromegaly.
 
What's Raymond James eating now? If it's still the W/D, that could also explain the high numbers......and although the common theory is that Dr. Elsey's chicken flavor kibble is low carb, in some cats, it acts more like a high carb kibble.
His numbers been high since last November.. W/d has fiber, his stool, much better since Dec. 2nd. Any other wet food gives him loose, pudding-like stool. W/d started 1-21-21.
As i mentioned, no matter what i have tried, no improvement. Thanks. I just continue to do what I can.. Get's less than 1/4 cup dr, easleys.
 
He was on lantus for three weeks. Vet said not responding, he sold me prozinc, that's not working.
I would say time to test for Acromegaly
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/acromegaly-the-basics.373/
Michigan State University (MSU) does the tst for IGF-1. Also, the IGF-1 test is in the test catalogs for the two major labs, Idexx and Antech, that do blood tests for vets. I would also the the insulin autoantibody (IAA) test . MSU does the IAA test and it is in Idexx's test catalog too.
 
I would say time to test for Acromegaly
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/acromegaly-the-basics.373/
Michigan State University (MSU) does the tst for IGF-1. Also, the IGF-1 test is in the test catalogs for the two major labs, Idexx and Antech, that do blood tests for vets. I would also the the insulin autoantibody (IAA) test . MSU does the IAA test and it is in Idexx's test catalog too.
Thanks for the info. Do I ask vet for this and tell them about where to send the tests? Also, don't know how much money, kinda at my money limit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top