? Bear 4/10 AMPS 167, +2 240

Meredith Bear’s Mom

Member Since 2022
Hi friends,


Wow, I am starting to see such a big difference in Bear. He is a completely different cat than he was 4 months ago. He is energetic, playful, still grumpy at times, cuddly, and has finally put on weight. He can walk in a straight line and even jumps! I am so thankful for this group and for everyone's advice.

He is still continuing a nice streak of blues and greens, however he is still getting up in the 400's. I am wondering if I should increase the dose or leave it as is? He still is getting down into the 60's. TYIA! :bighug:

Previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/bear-4-4-amps-204-2-137-3-5-58-4-5-57-5-25-63.276081/
 
Hi Meredith,
Lovely to hear Bear is doing so well! He is such a beautiful boy!
He is doing very well on the 1 unit and it is getting him down into the 50s and 60 s.
The high numbers are from bouncing which is very common in newly diagnosed cats. He just needs to get used to normal numbers again so keep doing what you are doing.
Explanation on bouncing
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
Next time you start a new post you can post over on the Lantus page if you like.
 
Hi Meredith,
Lovely to hear Bear is doing so well! He is such a beautiful boy!
He is doing very well on the 1 unit and it is getting him down into the 50s and 60 s.
The high numbers are from bouncing which is very common in newly diagnosed cats. He just needs to get used to normal numbers again so keep doing what you are doing.
Explanation on bouncing
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
Next time you start a new post you can post over on the Lantus page if you like.
Hi Bron & Sheba,

Thank you! I will keep him on the 1U. Did I not post this on the Lantus page?
 
Back
Top