Baxters #s-Frustrating

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Member Since 2011
I really don't know what to think anymore about Baxters #s.

I guess it's back to basic if possible....

Baxter is back on a 12/12 schedule since Friday. His numbers have been really high so I increased the dose per vet to 1.5. I started to question the freshness of the vial of insulin because he was flat in the 300s sat.
Then came sun I posted a insulin question Rob & Harley took their time to explain some options. Sun nite I backed off the insulin to 1.0. Baxter had some good #s from just PM 1.0.
Now we are at today....had a good number AMPS @216 I shot only 1.0 thinking 1.5 would be way to much. Baxters BG has done nothing but rise all day. We are currently in the mid 300s it's +7. If he keeps on this path today he will be 400s by PMPS.

This is driving me crazy! I am starting to get really frustrated. angry(2)_cat

Maybe the insulin is bad? I left the bottle out again last night for a couple of hours.
Maybe he does need 1.5? I don't know. It use to seem somewhat simple to just give him a consistent dose. Since he started needing it again after the 3 weeks off in dec. its like I don't know now much to give him anymore. There have been times my vet suggestion of giving 1.5 would clearly have been to much.

Baxters SS is updated for viewing.
Thank you,
Jenn & Baxter
 
No food changes or intake.
No fur shots. He is hairy, but I always take the time to separate the hair where the skin is exposed. Then inject.
 
You definately got better numbers with the 1 unit last night and a nice PS this morning.

This will be the test, he has been rising all day, if his PMPS comes back down you will have an inverse curve meaning that the 1 unit this morning was too much insulin.
 
Ok both you come back after 8:00. That is his dinner & test time.

I will be posting results. See you then.... ;-)
 
I would be frustrated too, Jenn. He has had some decent cycles and preshots in the last few days but the patterns seem to be changing all the time. It could possibly be the insulin, but usually you see high and flat cycles with bad insulin.

Have you considered a sliding scale for him? It's one more tool in the PZI toolbox. Robin is good at developing them for each individual kitty, based on patterns from past cycles. If you want to try one, we can ask her to set you up. If you read Teresa's last few threads, you can see hers and how it works.
 
PMPS 342
So now what?
How much do I give him?
Yes, I am very interested in a sliding scale. Where do I sign up??..lol
 
He sort of completed an inverse curve. I would probably go with .75u.

I will study your ss again tomorrow and put together a sliding scale for you.
 
Ok sounds good. I will keep his SS updated with every test.
I couldnt wait on the injection. I went with Sues 1.25 tonight. Probably to much again?

Thank you for your help.
 
Maybe this morning I should go with .75

Last night he was higher & Robin suggested .75

So now he is a lot lower @ 244

I don't know maybe .50?
 
Well, we are guessing here because we can't be sure of his reactions. They have been all over the place. Can you get another number to be sure he is rising? (I want to make sure it isn't a long surf at the end). If rising, the 1.25 did okay last night. Going down to .5 would be a huge reduction, even with the lower number.

If you won't be around and it is rising, maybe the .75
 
He is rising 307.

It hasn't even been 1 hr after food.

I went beck &' looked @ his SS maybe I should do 1.0. I will be around to test a couple of times. I always test before I leave.

Is it 1.0 or .75?
 
I'm glad you went with Sue's 1.25u last night. It looks like it did the trick.

I've put together a starting scale for Baxter. Remember we can adjust it up or down according to how he reacts to it.

Baxter's Sliding Scale

150 to 199 - .25u
200 to 224 - .5u
225 to 249 - .75
250 to 299 - 1.u
300 to 349 - 1.25u
350 to 400 - 1.5u

This scale is based on Baxter's bg history and is meant for Baxter only.
 
Robin thank you so much for taking your time to provide the scale for Baxter & I. I am printing it out so I can keep it handy.

I will let you know how his BG is doing.

Happy Valentines Day!
 
Well dear Baxter has me scratching my head...
Looking forward to the numbers from the sliding scale!
Hope that will help some!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top