Baxter Time To Get Back On Track

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Member Since 2011
Since May 1st I held the dose of .3 no matter the PS #. I was doing this in hopes of some answers because of all the flat cycles. I'm not sure I have any answers from it. Baxter never dipped low & most of his PS where pink with some upper yellows. I had family in town & continued to hold the dose for 7 days. I know I didn't get as much testing done as I would have liked, but I did get some.
Yesterday I started with .4 which I still haven't seen much movement in numbers.
What does all of this mean?
Do I need a new sliding scale?
Should I hold .4 for 5 days?
Should I do a bigger increase & just hold?
The flat cycles are really starting to worry me. I'm concerned about ketones. I'm concerned about more damage to the pancreas. I spoke to my vet about the flat cycles....lets just say...I'm here searching for advice or answers.
Is there a way to get back on track? If so how?

5/9:
AMPS-284-.4
+9-335

Thank you
 
Hi Jenn,

Of course you can get back on track. I'm at the bad place right now and can't open your ss but I'm headed home and will look at it then.

I'm still a fan of the sliding scale, Baxter did so well on it in the beginning. Maybe we just need to tweak it some.

I'll be back in a little while.

Robin
 
I really like the sliding scale. I agree Baxter did really well on it until I did a increase to see if it would give him green. Which never happend & started to cause the flat cycles. Ever since we have been off...high pre shots, flat cycles.
It was around April 19th when it all started. Then on the 25th I tried to go back to the old sliding & nothing worked.
Maybe that will help when looking at the numbers.

Baxters SS is updated for any & all advice which is always welcomed.
 
If you need to remember what I told you - it's not THAT bad ... just look at Grayson's SS. Your flat yellows look a WHOLE LOT BETTER than his flat pinks!!! It may not be as good as it was, but it's still better than a lot of ours!!! Don't forget that!!!

And by the way.. the menu last night... egg noodles! I'm sure the dogs helped, but I can't imagine Grayson standing around watching them!!! :o

cat(2)_steam
 
Glad to see your post, wondered where you were...I hope Robin can give you some ideas once she's able to open your SS. Don't know what we'd do without her!! I don't know W-H-Y she doesn't just quit her job and take care of us full-time! :lol: :lol:
 
Lu I haven't forgot what we talked about. I want results yesterday... :lol:

PMPS-349

Not sure on dosing just yet. Was thinking I would give .5. Then thought maybe I should hold at.4 which I think is not enough for 349.
 
Hi Jenn,

I went back and went through your ss.

The last scale that was working well was:

150 to 174 - .2u
175 to 199 - 3u
200 to 249 - .4u
250 to 299 - .6u
300 to 349 - 7u.

Lets start there. If I remember correctly the top of the scale was working well but the bottom of the scale was questionable.

Tonight I think I would go with .5u, .6u what ever you are comfortable with.

I would LOVE to quit my job and do nothing but analyze ss. :lol: And hang out here with you guys.
 
Robin, you don't know how much I appreciate all your help with Baxter. All the time you have taken to review Baxters SS, create the sliding scales & the tweaking them. I know it takes time to do all of that and I really do appreciate it.

I remember the bottom 2 ranges on the scale were questionable. At one point i had decreased the 2 by .1 on each. We will see as we go. Just have my paws crossed for better numbers or more stable numbers like before. DH has agreed to go into training so I can go home to see my sister. So if I can get Baxter in a little better place I hope to leave very soon. At the earliest next weekend. It will just be for 2 days which would be 4 shots & only PS testing. I have thought about skipping shots for 2 days if it comes down to it, but that is very, very last resort.
Going to start the scale tomorrow. I will be home pretty much all day to run every 2-3 hr testing.

Thank you again.
Hoping Baxter gets on the right track again.
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
DH has agreed to go into training so I can go home to see my sister. So if I can get Baxter in a little better place I hope to leave very soon.

oh, yay! - oh, YAY! - OH, YAY!! - Atta-boy! Baxter, puh-lease cooperate so mama can go home and see her sister SOON!!!
 
Chin scritches to DH for being willing to learn the schedule. That is huge progress.

You need to spend some time with your sister.
 
I love Robin's sliding scales. She analyzes the heck of the SS's and always comes up with something logical that works.
The only think I would add to them is this -
I think Libby ran into this with Hershey a while back.
When it becomes obvious that a specific dose and range is not working well, and it needs to be upped or downed, I'm all about adjusting it up or down. But I think where "we" ran into trouble with Hershey's scale is that the adjustments were made to the entire scale when adjustments were made, rather than to just the number ranges that had been seen and tried. I'm thinking, even though it makes from some strange looking dose scales, that if a dose into a range of numbers hasn't been tried, then leave that part of the scale alone unless you get data that says it won't work? Unless it's really obvious, like you wouldn't want a scale that says "300-350 .5u" and then have lower PS ranges calling for a higher dose just because the whole "old" scale was higher doses.

Does that make any sense?

Carl
 
Carl I think you are absolutely right.

Both Hershey and Baxter's scales were working really well at the top ends but it was the lower levels we were struggling with.
 
Been a while since I've seen this....It's time....

YOU GUYS CRACK ME UP!!!

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top