Baxter late night drop to the 40's.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Very Active Member
Baxter dropped down to 44-+3.5. Which is very rare for Baxter. I wasn't really sure what to do. I have helped some members threw a hypo, but for some reason when it came to us....I wasn't sure.
All I can say is I was really scared when I saw the 44 & when I kept testing the 40's weren't moving.
I tried posting a 911 in health, but no one was around. It was at 1 am.

I just want to say friends....it's so important to home test & know your hypo info!! If I didn't I would have never known & might have woke to not having Baxter. :sad:

Have a good day friends.
 
I think I'd go with a tiny bit less., Jenn. The low number should mean he needs a little less, so I'd try that.

I read your thread on Health. Where did that number come from? Looks like you did great - getting high carb food is probably on the list for today :mrgreen: You can always add a tiny bit of syrup to regular food to being up a low number.

Good reminder. They won't let you get complacent...
 
Not sure where those 40's & 50's came from.
He gave me a low PMPS so I was chasing the rise. I ended up giving his shot 2 hrs past schedule.

High carb food on the list.

I am so sleepy.
Headed off to work now...this is going to be a fantastic day :roll: . Coming home to check on him later.

Gave him a reduced dose...4.
 
Wow Jenn, glad everything turned out ok. The first time Harley hit 50 I went into full blown panic mode.

Get some medium carb food to keep on hand too. Sometimes you can slow the drop with that if you catch it earlier.

Also one of the best tips I ever got was marking the carb % on the top of the cans with a sharpie so you can see in an instant what the carb % is. It made stumbling through panic mode a little easer.

Scritches to Mr. Baxter.
 
Hi Jenn,
Wish I'd seen your post on health last night. I would have stayed up with you, but you did great.

Next time-
If you don't have HC food, but you have honey or karo.... just put a few drops in the LC food and mix it, then serve it in one tsp helpings. You want to ration the food so Baxter doesn't fill up in case he decides to stay in the 40s for a couple of hours. And you also want to give the food time to digest and for the carbs to show up on the meter, so I usually suggest testing every 30 minutes.

If you do have HC food next time, you can just give him the gravy which is where the carbs apparently are. In 1 or 2 tsp helpings. That usually gets the numbers up quick, but the effect doesn't last as long. Once you see a rise above 50, you can try LC food in tiny portions or you can mix in gravy and "make" medium carb.

Once you get past nadir, you can try letting him go 30 minutes with no food. If the numbers hold or rise at the next test, then you leave out some food, rub his little head, and take a nap. If you aren't comfortable letting him go till +11, you can set an alarm to test before then.

Test at +11 and again at AMPS to make sure he's rising, and if so, you're good to go.

You did right shooting a bit less this morning.

Also, keep in mind that if somebody jumps in to help, they are there for the duration. There's an "unwritten rule" that if you help with a hypo, you stay with it, or you find someone to take over with helping. And the person helping you is nowhere near as stressed out as you are :-) Had I seen it, it would have been "fun" for me, and I would have tried to make it fun for you too. ;-)
 
Thanks Robin for the sharpie, carb on top tip. Will do that.

Yes, I was freaking out a bit last night. I was thinking damn where is everyone...I need help here! :lol: it was 1am central time & he was only @ +3. I knew I had some hours to go. I have honey, syrup, & 2 different kinds of Karo...light & dark (love to bake...hehe) in the pantry. I just wasn't sure of the ratio to give. I did know to not to give a large meal during the situation. So I opened the Before Grain Tuna which I only keep for a desperate time in case Baxter won't eat. I always feed turkey. I opened that can & I could get the spoon in to give him a little bit. He stuck his nose in the can & was eating. I tried pulling it away so I could stir it up & give him a spoonful, he about ate the spoon. He was acting starved to death.

Carl, I know we would have had lots of fun!! :dizcat If you & I get together for fun...I don't want it to be for a hypo situation.... haha_smiley

Thank you everyone for the tips.

I am home for a +5 reading. Lets see what I can get....83.
 
The two times I caught a 40 on the meter, I didn't know I was supposed to freak out. Ignorance was bliss, I guess. :lol:

83 is very pretty. Green is my favorite color :mrgreen:

Hopefully it will become the favorite of both you and Baxter too!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top