Baxter~Increase Dose?2/7-Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Member Since 2011
Baxter AMPS 372 is his highest # since being DX & starting ProZinc.
I have been treating him for a UTI. We are going 4 days of Claramox 2x daily.

I am not sure how much insulin to give him this morning.
Should I give him 1.0?
Increase to 1.5?
Any suggestions would help.

Jenn & Baxter
SS is updated
 
Re: Baxter~Increase Dose?

I don't know, Jenn. My gut says it's the infection that is playing havoc with his nice numbers. Wonder if that antibiotic is just not working? Or if he is still in some pain?

If you increase, I would only go to 1.25 or less and only if you can monitor.
 
Re: Baxter~Increase Dose?

For some reason, the firewalls at work seem to be preventing me from opening any spreadsheets. So, I can't see yours!

Have you presently been shooting the 1 unit?

My first thought, without seeing the SS is an increase of 1 unit to 1.5, is a 50 percent increase. That is a lot. Have you shot 1.5 before? Unless you have data to support the 1.5 dose, I would not increase that much.

Any infection can really increase the BG-- even while taking antibiotics. I am sure I have read it somewhere, but are you checking for ketones?
 
Re: Baxter~Increase Dose?

I am thinking its the UTI causing the high #'s. I would have thought by now his #s wont be so high. I don't know how all that works though.
After giving it alot of thought I am scared to give him 1.5. It is alot from his normal 1.0 I have been giving lately.

The ketone test have all been negative.

I think I will just stick to 1.0 & ride this one out. I rather give to little then to much.
I will be speaking with the vet today about culture results so I will ask for advice if his PMPS is that high what I should give.
 
2/7-
Went to the vet today for constipation situtation.
We went over Baxters BG #'s the vet wants me to increase to 1.5 units-U-40.
Is this to much? I know we said that was a big increase. Baxters numbers aren't really going down.
The culture came back from the UTI test which were negative. Nothing grew. He said Baxter didn't have a UTI & discontinue the Claramox.

Jenn & Baxter
 
Wow! What a great looking Spreadsheet---the numbers look great.

First, I will be the first to tell you, that I am not a "dosing expert!" My Kitty guzzles insulin and I have never feared hypo with her on any dose! But, my first impresssion when I look at your SS, is that the only pink/purple tests you have recorded were on 1 unit doses. It looks like the 1 unit is the most you have ever shot, and truly, those cycles look like where you have had your highest preshot readings. I know that insulin usage varies and changes with times, but in November, one unit into a 242 gave you a 75 nadir. In December you got 50 percent drops on .5 and .25 doses-- that being said, I would be scared to increase to 1.5 units. That is a 50 percent increase from 1 unit and I see little justification with that dose from your spreadsheet.

I could argue, that 1 unit looks like a lot a times. You have shot 1 unit into cycles and had to skip the next cycle due to low numbers.

Like I said, I am not a dosing expert, but I would not increase the dose if Baxter was my cat.

Just my thoughts.....
 
Jenn,
I dont know...my gut tells me that you shouldnt raise
It seems that it has only een 2 days that you have the pink...
wondering if there is something else....
If it were me, I think I would either hold, or (not sure why)
but perhaps lower for a cycle to see what happens....
I say that because it seems that Baxter has not really been on a steady one unit
ffor 2 days straight until now...
 
You guys are right. The more & more I think & review his SS I really don't think I should rise his dose right now. Baxter had a really rough day today. Tomorrow is my very early morning & gone all day. I don't need to be up all night with a hypo situtation.
I think I will hold off on the rise for right now. If I do rise it I really think by just .25 to start. Not tonight though.

Thanks everyone for the extra eyes on the SS. It really helps.
I wish I could figure out why he is having some of his highest # since being DX. confused_cat
 
My cat, copper, was getting constipated and Dr. Lisa suggested the miralax 1/8-1/4tsp 2x/day. I am giving 1/4tsp 2xday and it is working great. Just a thought to try.

Lori
 
Sue, I hope his BG will drop & this situtation has passed. Today really wasn't a good day for he & I. He is resting. He can't walk very well. So I hold his dish for him to eat. Makes me so sad.

I am going to start giving him the Miralax regularly. I can't be where I was today again...not good.

Jenn & Baxter cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top