Baxter-6/6-8-test results

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Very Active Member
Hoping we don't have a replay of last night. I am so sleepy from being up all last night with Baxter.

PMPS-221-.4 gave another reduced dose. Our regular dose would be .6.

Tomorrow Baxter has a vet appointment to X-ray his kidneys & get a couple of blood test. Hopefully, it will give me some answers about Baxter possibly being in the early stages of kidney failure. I am hoping the vet is wrong. ;-)
 
Re: Baxter-6/6-7-Vet Visit

Thank you girls for the hugs.
Baxter vet visit was today....I am still trying to figure out how it went.

They ran a kidney elevation test. His kidneys were @ 12.1...which from what I understand isn't good.

They are running test to check:
Blood pressure
A complete Urinalysis
T-4
BUN

I find out tomorrow the results of those test.

I brought home a bag of fluids. I am to give him 100cc 1 daily threw the IV.
I guess I am still in shock over this. I look at his big blue eyes & it breaks my heart. I cry multiple times through out my day, just thinking my time with him is more limited.
The only thing that is somewhat comforting is I spoke with the vet about "when it's time"....I asked him if he would come to our house & he said he would "when it's time". Until that time...I am going to continue to give him all the love in the world & more.
 
Re: Baxter-6/6-7-Vet Visit

Oh Jenn, I'm sorry. I don't know much about kidney issues, but I do know there are lots of elderly kitties here happily living with kidney problems. Maybe when you get the rest of the test results, post them on Health and specifically ask for kidney help.

And remember, he doesn't know he has a new diagnosis. He knows he has a nice home, a loving Mom, lots of lovely treats and delicious food.
 
Re: Baxter-6/6-7-Vet Visit

Jenn I'm so sorry, I remember how overwhelmingly sad I was when Harley was dx. What I learned from it was that the dx starts a timer to savor every moment you have together and that you are stronger than you think you are. You can add years to his life by learning another treatment protocol just like you did with FD.

I was terrified about giving fluids but when forced to do it, it wasn't nearly as bad as I expected.

The most comforting words I heard was what Sue said. He doesn't know he has been dx with another another problem, all he knows is that he has good food, a warm comfy place to sleep and a mama who loves him every minute of his life. Those are the things that are important to him.
 
Re: Baxter-6/6-7-Vet Visit

Thank you everyone for your kind words & support.

Since the vet first said the words 3 weeks ago...."possible early kidney failure"... I have been on the CRF website reading & reading. Trying to educate myself & arm myself with knowledge.

When the vet brought in the bag & IV to show me how.....my first thought was holy moly :shock: ....then the next thought was....I don't have time to be scared & acting squirmy over the needles & drip....I HAVE to do this & get this done....I have to help Baxter. cat_pet_icon

Heck I might even hook myself up to some fluids to rehydrate myself from all the crying I have done. :lol:

Thank you everyone & I will keep you updated.
 
Re: Baxter-6/6-7-Vet Visit

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: One for you and one for Baxter. Hoping the news is not as bad as you fear.
 
Re: Baxter-6/6-7-Vet Visit

The test results are back....it looks like Baxter is definitely in some stages of kidney failure. 3 weeks ago the vet said early stages. Today the vet changed the wording based on the test ran yesterday.
There has been a big decline in the important parts of the test to see how the kidneys are functioning.

I am guessing this is going to be fast from the results of the test. :cry:

Gotta go now & give him some kisses.

Everyone have a good day. Hug & kiss your kitties. cat_pet_icon
 
I'm so sorry to hear that Jenn. :YMHUG:

Maybe post the Bun and Creatin results in Health to get some feedback from others who are going through the same thing.
 
Just give him lots of lovin' and hugs. Baxter doesn't know anything is different. He knows you are trying to make him feel better.
 
:cry: Sorry hon. Give him lots of loving cause as Deb said, he has no idea that anything has changed. He just knows you love him.
 
Baxter buddy!!!

I bet you're getting LOTS of treats! Mom said you had a vetty visit - that's always worth extra goodies! Make sure your mama gives you the GOOD food too when you get the fluids - and don't run around the room or wag too hard - moms don't like it when fluids are squirting around the room like a sprinkler! Tell her you like the yellow needles (20s) inserted chisel side up. And don't worry - fluids make you feel better and they go really fast, and then you get extra lovin' and MORE treats! Be sure to give your mommy hugs & head bonks - they'll make her feel better - cuz you know she doesn't like poking you more than necessary!

...and be good or I'll tell cat(2)_steam to come get you in trouble! :lol:

Your pal,
Grayson
 
Tip: I saw a vet tech put the fluids bag under her arm and squeeze it like a bagpipe to get the fluids going in faster.
 
BJM said:
Tip: I saw a vet tech put the fluids bag under her arm and squeeze it like a bagpipe to get the fluids going in faster.

Thank you so much for the tip & everything you have posted here & the post in health. I have been reading all the information. Now maybe the vet & I can talk on the same level. ;-)
 
Jenn,
What size harpoons did they give you to give the fluids? Bob used 18g but they also make a 22g thin-walled needle that is supposed to be easier on the kitty. The fluid flows a bit slower but the needle is less massive. For me, giving fluids was the worst part of Bob's treatment. I think he agrees with me. ;-)
Have you seen Marje's video for giving fluids on YouTube?
 
Carl & Bob said:
Jenn,
What size harpoons did they give you to give the fluids? Bob used 18g but they also make a 22g thin-walled needle that is supposed to be easier on the kitty. The fluid flows a bit slower but the needle is less massive. For me, giving fluids was the worst part of Bob's treatment. I think he agrees with me. ;-)
Have you seen Marje's video for giving fluids on YouTube?

The needles are 20g. Baxter is the ideal patient. Never fusses about anything. He just sits there like nothing is going on. Even with hometesting from the beginning he would just go get on his bed & turn around and face me for his test. He lets me do anything to him. I couldn't have asked for a better kitty. I am going to miss him so much!!
 
Jenn -

So sorry to hear Baxter's diagnosis. Liked Sue's reassurance that he doesn't know anything has changed. I know you've always been a SUPER mom to him and will do anything humanly possible to take care of him.

Lots of LOVE and HUGS to you and Baxter!!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top