Baxter 6/5-+4-48-doing better

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Member Since 2011
I think I got a problem with Baxter....any help is appreciated. We use ProZinc. He is on a sliding scale.
Our SS isn't updated, but have his log.
+12-120 no shot
Feed
+14-177 shot gave .4
+3-63
+3.5-44 rubbed honey on the gums & gave a spoon full of food.
+4-48 not much movement

I don't have any high carb food to give. All I have is Merrick before grain turkey, & some type of seafood. I also have some blue buffalo salmon, turkey.

I am getting a little scared. :o

Any suggestions? This is very rare for Baxter.
 
Re: Baxter +3.5-44

+4-48

How often do I use the honey or syrup?

Does any one know?

He is acting very sleepy & had a hard time getting up, but is walking straight. Doesn't want to walk far tho.
 
Re: Baxter +4-48

He is still @ 44 it's been 15 minutes from the last test & I gave him a spoonful of food.

Can someone please help with this? He has never been this low before. So I am not sure if what I am doing is right. I have read all the hypo stuff since being on this board for almost 2 yrs now.

Is there anything else I can give other then high carb food because I don't have any?
 
Re: Baxter +4-48

Hiya,

Someone IS here. Just gonna have a quick read of your posts...

Edited to add: Just realised that your most recent post was 2 hours ago. Hope Baxter is OK. Are you able to give an update?

Those numbers you're seeing, if accurate, should be OK but you don't want him dropping any lower.
If no high carb food available then you can add a few drops of glucose/karo to ordinary food, then test after 12 -15 minutes. Glucose enters the system fast but then wears off quickly, so giving glucose once may not be enough.

I don't use the same PZI insulin as you but I'm guessing that your cat may have reached/passed the peak of the insulin cycle now? Is that correct?

Eliz
 
Re: Baxter +4-48

Baxter is doing much better today. AMPS-202 gave a reduced dose this morning+5-85. Not sure what's going on with his numbers lately. We been doing this dance for almost 2yrs now.

Just wanna say without test or being armed with the knowledge of how to treat a hypo...not sure or would like to think where we would be today.

For all the newbies out the....home test, home test! Read up on how to treat a hypo situation. Its a scary time just in itself & without the knowledge or home testing could be even scarier. :o

Jenn & Baxter cat_pet_icon
 
What's your current sliding scale?
When was the last time the sliding scale was adjusted?

It may be time for an adjustment in the sliding scale.
 
Sorry no one was around last night for you! Here's a link for future reference on how to treat hypos.

And, as Deb mentioned, it sounds like it might be time to decrease the dose. :thumbup
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top