Baxter 3/8 & 3/9-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Member Since 2011
I think Baxter had a flat cycle again today. Kind of disappointed because the last couple days have been good for us.
Here are his numbers:
AMPS=308-1.0 He didn't eat much this morning. He had a lot of food still left in his dish.
+3=311
+7=281
+10=264

PMPS=231 Still not eating much. Has a lot of food left in his dish.

I haven't given him insulin yet. I was waiting to test him again.

Any advice?
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat again

.6 u-40

I wasn't sure because I tested @ +10=264 & then +12=231. Is it considered a decline or the same?
I guess that is what I was worried about was if it was considered a decline.
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat again

Sorry, I didn't see the 264, Jenn. It certainly falls in the 20% variance but it would make me a little hesitant to shoot. I'd the waiting, retesting thing.
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat again

It's been 1 hr since he has eaten. I am sure now he is food high. Going to test him now.
Be right back.
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

I haven't shot. He has eaten more of his dinner.
He is going down. I just tested....so now we are at +13=173

Holy Moly! MR.P IS IN THE HOUSE :o ?
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

Wow! Looks like it could be, Jenn. Nice catch! How bad is waiting another hour going to mess you up?
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

I think you're right, Mr. P is in the house. I can't wait to see his next test.
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

I'm around all day tomorrow so I can ride this is out or shot when he starts going up tonight. It will miss our schedule up, but I can get back on with everyones help.

When do I test again? Do I test each hour?
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

Possibilities: Since Jenn will be around tomorrow to monitor maybe shoot a reduced dose at 200. Thoughts?
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

Well, he had a long duration and an unshootable pmps, so we could consider 1/2 the amps dose. What do you think about .5?
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

I was thinking from the scale 200 to 249 - .5u - reduced dose would be .25u or .3u.
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

I'll defer to you, Robin. You have worked with Jenn on the scale so you are a lot more familiar with it than I am. And lower overnight is always better.

What are you thinking, Jenn?
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

I'm thinking part of the 308 you had this morning might have been "bounce" from last night. He might have gone lower than the 134 you saw at +6 maybe? That could be why the 1.0 you shot this morning lasted "longer" than normal.
Have you gotten any tests since the last time you posted?

Carl
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

Thank you the shootable possiblilties.
+14=182
A slight rise not much.

So do I shot now a reduced dose like Robin suggested?
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

Hmmm, still hasn't seen any rise from eating? Or the food is stopping him from going lower. I'm thinking "skip", unless you want to wait another 30-60 minutes to see if the food pushes him over 200. If that happens, then I'd go with the reduced dose that Robin suggested.
Sue, you still on?

Carl
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

His sliding scale is:
150-174=.2 or .3
175-199=.4
200-249=.6
250-299=.8
300-349=1.0
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

Jenn,
I know the "waiting game" isn't much fun, but this is a good "problem" to have! Unless you have to wake up really early in the morning, that is. And according to my phone app, Full Moon was tonight... It did look spectacular coming up over the ocean tonight, just wish my camera took night photos so I could share.

Carl
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

I can play the waiting game. I don't need to be anywhere tomorrow.

I am sure the moon over the water is so pretty.
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

I think if he comes up over 200, you could shoot .25 and assuming that happens by +15, it shouldn't mess up your schedule drastically in the morning. You could check him at his "normal" AMPS time, see what you get, and if it's shootable, you could shoot a slightly reduced amount based on that scale (just shave some off), or post the number and see how many breakfast clubbers are on to help you out if needed?

Carl
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

He just started to eat more of his dinner. So he should start to rise. I know I don't want to shot a food high.

I am going to pick up his food now. I plan on testing him now @ 12am. I will see where we are then. If we are around the same or 200 I will shoot reduced.
 
Re: Baxter 3/8-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own

HiJenn,
I hope Baxter had agood night!
Lking good and I agree with CArl!
 
Not to bad over night.
Here is a recap:
3/8- AMPS-308-1.0
+3-311
+7-281
+10-261
+12-231
+13-174
+14-182
+15-185
+19-192
+22-284-AMPS-.8

I am going to call +22 our AMPS 3/9. We are only 2 hours off our schedule. Which is very do able to get back on track. Over all I am very happy how the evening & early hours went. I probably should have shot @ +19 oh well should have, could have, would have.

Thanks everyone for there help.
Here's to a Happy Friday! drinking24
 
I was wondering how the night went. I liked Carl's idea of the amps yesterday maybe being a bounce and then the dose causing a longer duration, but I do think with that long of a surf, Mr. P did likely get involved. Good news all the way round. Hope today is promising also, Jenn.
 
AMPS-284-.8
+5=231
He isn't coming down much after 5 hrs. :sad:
Does his scale need to be adjusted again? This seems to be the 2nd day with hardly any movement during the day. Remember he had 7 days no movement, Robin adjusted it & we had 2 really good days. Maybe we just wait & see :?:
 
I think I would ride this out, he just had a 22 hour ride in low numbers this just might be the crest of the wave. The numbers aren't bad so lets see what he does next.

I was looking at adjusting the scale when he started this new slow dance so I'd like to see it play out. Just so you know and can keep in mind, if I adjust the scale I'm adjusting the doses down. :-D

BTW, you cracked me up on Kim's thread about Mr P visiting. :lol:
 
Ok we will ride. I kind of thought it would be a decrease. Because of last time.

Kim's thread... haha_smiley I need Mr.P to get back over to my house. I wonder if she told him my message? I need to go ask her.

I will post more test when I get them.
 
Hope you had your comfy dancing shoes on... reminds me of some marathons we used to dance!

But WOW on the numbers! Good job Baxter!!!
 
I still think you are doing fine.

Could you update your ss, my brain won't process the numbers unless I can see them in the ss. @-)
 
Re: Baxter 3/8 & 3/9-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own-Again

SS is updated.

Not sure what I should do. I think we are on the same path as last night.
I just tested him which would make it +13=221. I feed him. Now I am not sure if I should go ahead & give him insulin? Or keep testing like last night.
 
Re: Baxter 3/8 & 3/9-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own-Again

+14=230

The scale says to give .6. Should I give a reduced because of the daily flat? In hopes the cycles be more evened out?
 
Re: Baxter 3/8 & 3/9-Flat Day-PM Going Down On Own-Again

Jenn -

When I met w/ my vet and went over the spreadsheets, the dose changes made (without her input), etc, etc, she said on those long cycles, she would've shot at +12. She said, not even the reduced amt - but the full amt. For Grayson, it's usually 2 hours before the food works it's way out, and a couple more before he really starts to come down. Her reasoning was that by the time the insulin starts kicking in, he's on the rise and it would've brought his preshot down.

In hindsight, it makes sense, but likewise, it made sense to cut the insulin if he was lasting that long on it. ...but we've ultimately increased again, and w/ fear of DKA, REALLY jacked up the dose. So, maybe it wouldn't hurt to shoot him sooner rather than letting him dance the whole night long. I'd still err on the conservative side and shoot a reduced dose (If you're anything like me, I'm guessing sleep would be a good thing for you).

Lu-Ann
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
Maybe I am catching on more then I thought.

Sometimes we're in the driver's seat, other times it feels like we're the bug on the windshield! :lol:

I think that now that we've been around for a little while, and had seen/read what others are doing in certain circumstances, we are gleening from that and absorbing the best responses. Clearly, I don't feel that comfortable telling someone "do THIS", but if someone has done something in a situation that was similar to mine and it worked, I'd sure want to know about it!

Sometimes we're learning the steps - other times just going through the motions. But to the casual observer - we're all dancing.

The value of the input we get from folks on this board is tremendous! And what a difference it's made for our babies... one of which is laying on the floor looking at me and wagging. ;-) What a difference we can make/have made for them!

You're doing great w/ Baxter - keep it up!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top