Baxter-3/4~Another Amazing AMPS-PMPS=362

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Member Since 2011
Ok well I over slept & now 1 hour late from our normal shot time. Usually I would just go ahead & shot & make it up later. Here is what is going on:

PMPS=340-1.0
+4=245
+6=195
+10-224
AMPS=174

I think everyone is aware Baxter has flat cycles during the day.
I don't know if I shoud go off my sliding scale? Give insulin, help support Mr.P.
Hold off on giving AMS & ride this out see where he goes on his own?

My thoughts were to kind of ride it out & see what BG does. I really would like to get to the bottom of his AM flat cycles. Is this a time that maybe would give answers to flat cycles?

Baxter SS is updated.
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Need Advice Quick

You need to wait and shoot a rising number , so I would do the retesting thing. If he gets up to 200 fairly fast, I think I'd be tempted to go with the scale and monitor.
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Need Advice Quick

He just ate or is still eating.
How long should I wait? Its been almost 30 minutes since I last tested him.
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Need Advice Quick

I think I will go check him right now. Usually it takes about 1 hr with him for the food to really kick in.

This cat is making me so crazy & sleepy trying to figure out the flat cycle problem. I love him so much & wouldnt change anything. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Need Advice Quick

Darn, then I don't think you can count on the readings being "real" for another 1.5 hours or so. Well, unless they go down. Then you can figure Baxter's pancreas has joined the party.

He certainly seems to have a pattern of a long duration lower cycle and then a flat one. The "theory" is that his body will eventually get used to the lower longer cycles and not react.
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Need Advice Quick

Ok I will hold off for awhile.

The pancreas is extremely late to the party...lol. At times a no show. I am hoping his body will take up some surf leasons....just keep on surfing through & each cycle gets longer & longer.

I am going to change my title now. Thank you for helping me Sue.
I will retest him around 10:30-11:00. He was finished with a majority of his food around 9:30. Then I will see if what I need to shot.
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Need Advice Quick

Next time, try to stall feeding. It's hard to remember it isn't always the number at preshot. It's whether it is rising also. :-D
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Need Advice Quick

If I have a vibe things might not be on the way up, I try to get a test in around +11.5. That way when you test at pmps you know which direction things are going. But, as we all know, sometimes they just catch you off guard. This is their forte :-D
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Need Advice Quick

Look at Baxter throwing momma a curve ball!
How is Baxter doing now?
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Another Amazing AMPS

Go Baxter! Hopefully you can catch him before he goes up too much!

Wishing you a great day!
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Another Amazing AMPS

Baxter is in a league of his own. He isn't normal when it comes to FD....what cat is? :lol:

Umm...I don't want to say how Baxter is doing...sure enough I say something we will be at the vet. So sshhh, catch a bubble. ;-)

I learned something about Baxter this weekend & going to post it later today.
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Another Amazing AMPS

dmartini4 said:
Are you gonna leave us hangin like that ohmygod_smile

haha_smiley
Stay toned more exciting stories coming soon about Baxter the big brown cat.
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Another Amazing AMPS

I feel like I am watching the Batchelor on Monday night!
What's gonna happen next week?!?!?
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Another Amazing AMPS

Wow, kitty drama. That’s one way to get folks glued to your threads ;-)
To quote Carl: “you folks crack me up”..... :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Another Amazing AMPS

:lol: :lol: ok all joking aside...
I think I'm writing this write
+15=197

I feed him at +13=174
+14=177

So do I go ahead & dose from my sliding scale or ride this on out until tonight PMPS?
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Another Amazing AMPS+15-197

Oh boy, now there is a tough decision
but I think if it were me and he is eating and not really rising much
I think I might want t oride this out and see what happens
just my thoughts
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Another Amazing AMPS+15-197

I am kind of thinking the same thing to ride it out since it getting later in the say. I am thinking on just picking his schedule up a liitle earlier tonight....maybe around 6 or 7. Im sure he will be soaring by then. I know a lot could change within these next 6 hours.
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Another Amazing AMPS+15-197

Could be interesting...you never know!
keep us posted!
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Another Amazing AMPS+15-197

+18=250
He is rising. I left his food out. So maybe he will eat the rest & come down in his own.
Hey wishful thinking :lol:
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Another Amazing AMPS+18-250

Hi Jenn,

I've been thinking about Baxter for the last few days. Looking at his ss his night cycles are ok but his AMPS's have been high and they don't look like any bounces because the mid cycle tests aren't that dramatic.
So that makes me think that the scale needs adjusting so I lowered the doses on the lower numbers to see if that would even out his cycles.

Baxters New Scale.

150 to 174 - .2 or .3u
175 to 199 - f .4u
200 to 249 - .6u
250 to 299 - .8u
300 to 349 - 1 unit.

Robin
 
Re: Baxter-3/4~Another Amazing AMPS+18-250

PMPS=362-1.0
I am 1 hour early but it's okay. I didn't give him insulin this morning cause I really wanted to see what would happen & maybe get a answer about is day flat cycles. Im not sure I have any answers.
He did just as well with no insulin as he does with insulin during the day. So confusing @-)
 
I just now plugged in #s to his SS.
I got the needles from Walmart. I went ahead & gave him 1.0 out of the U-40. I am a little scared to use the 100s until we talked again.
 
So the scale you gave me is like this for example, if I need 1.0 it would be 2.5 in a 100 syringe?

Thank you printing completed.
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
So the scale you gave me is like this for example, if I need 1.0 it would be 2.5 in a 100 syringe?

Yep, that's right! And when you're mini-dosing just remember: each 1/2 unit on the U100s = .2 units of U40 insulin. Even now that I've increased, I've stuck w/ the U100s, as I feel like I'm more accurate than those U40s with the bigger barrels.

Yeah Baxter!!! Grayson has also dropped off his plate of pancakes - it must be a full "kitty moon" tonight!
 
Ok thank you. Robin told me the same thing about how mcuh easier it is to use the 100s.
Oh my vet told me a long time ago don't use those, they arent the right needles for the insulin.
 
You don't need a degree in differential equations to figure it out - all you have to do is print out the conversion chart & keep it with your stuff! I'm amazed at some of the stuff we hear about various vets! YIKES!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top