Baxter-3/23-High AMPS & Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Member Since 2011
AMPS=319 :o

Here is my question....I have been using his sliding scale. In the 300 I am suppose to give him .7. I currently been giving him .3 & .4 because where is number have been falling into the scale. Is it ok to increase to .7 after giving only .4?

Thank you friends!
 
Love all of those blues on Baxter's SS, the yellow's, too! It looks like what you're doing is working. We only go up .1 at a time, too, as you never know when they're going to pull a trick from up their sleeve - like Hershey did today :smile:

Take care!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Thank you for the advice.
I always say when in doubt go low. I didn't increase .1. I stayed with .4 I did go fat. It might not do much today. I am brassing for a high PMPS too since I stayed at .4.

They always have something underneth their fur to pull out & throw at us. I swear these cats. :roll: But I love Baxter so much! He is my sunshine! :-D
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
+4=301
Darn it....He isn't moving. Did I not give enough? Its looking like this cycle is going to be flat.

If he's anything like Grayson, it's still a little leftover food in his system at +4. Patience Mama Bean!!! ;-) (Hello Pot, My name's Kettle!) :lol:
 
+9=279

He is acting so hungry. Keeps following me around & going to his dish & then looks at me. I hate it when he does it because it makes me feel bad & sad. I want to feed him. It's still awhile until he eats.
 
Nope he can't get into anything. I haven't change foods. Haven't changed his schedule. He eats his food.
I don't know what's going on. I've been watching him urinate I don't see any problems.

Should I go ahead @8 with .6? I know he will be in the 300s by then.
 
I would go with the .6u.

I can't think of any good reason that his bg would spike up for no reason since he's been doing so well, maybe a vet visit is in order. Check for UTI, his teeth, etc.
 
Ok I will go with .6 tonight.
I am also going to warn him if his BG doesn't get better he is going to the vet. He has all weekend to think about this.

This is so frustrating we were doing so well. I really should be use to this by now. :roll:
 
Sorry I didn't type right
+9=274
+11=274
I just fed him by the time he finishes & I get the shot ready it will be +11.5. Techincally the scale says to give .6. My plan was to give .6 if he was in the 300s. So now what? Really...come on Baxter nothing goes as planned with us. That would just be to easy. ohmygod_smile
 
Yes, they do like to keep us hopping!

If you planned on shooting .6 if over 300, why not shave down .1 and shoot .5? Especially if that makes you feel more comfortable.

That's my two cents. :lol:
 
I was thinking that.
Ok so here is I know stupid question....is .5. Half but in a u-40 needle?
If not the how much In a u-100 needle?

I have both type of needles.
 
My vet told me I should've shot when Grayson was running those long cycles. Her reasoning was that he was climbing, and by the time the insulin kicked in, it would be there, so it would be safe. Of course she wasn't here if I got into a situation, and I kept seeing those long dance marathons, so I felt better reducing the dose, thus shortening the cycles. Now, he's more consistent about the 12 hours. I think he just had to break into it gradually!

... so in translation... I guess you could shoot before it hits 300, or you could reduce it ever so slightly. At this point, and with the numbers he's been holding at, either would probably be fine. My wisdom I shared with Libby (I think it was her), tonight was... do you want to sleep tonight? Sometimes, that has to be a consideration as well!
 
I just gave him .5. What do I need sleep for its Friday night time to party! Oh wait that was about 10 years ago...now it's time to test... :lol:
 
I SAW IT......I SAW GREEN!
+8=94 :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

HERE IS TO ME FOR GETTING UP AT 4AM! :RAHCAT YES I GIVING MYSELF A CHEERLEADER CAT!

Ok gotta go back to sleep. See you in the morning friends. I-)
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
I just gave him .5. What do I need sleep for its Friday night time to party! Oh wait that was about 10 years ago...now it's time to test... :lol:

Nothing like a kitty cat to remind you that you're not 20 anymore! :lol:

Jenn & Baxter said:
I SAW IT......I SAW GREEN!
+8=94 :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

HERE IS TO ME FOR GETTING UP AT 4AM! :RAHCAT YES I GIVING MYSELF A CHEERLEADER CAT!

Ok gotta go back to sleep. See you in the morning friends. I-)

YIPPEE!!!! Go Baxter!!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Go Jenn for getting up at 4 am!!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Boy that is the true Lu.....& sure don't feel like I'm 20 this morning either. I remember the days I could pull all nighters....oh so fun... :lol:
Thanks for the reminder Baxter!!! :twisted:

So far so good this morning....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top