Baxter 3/1-Time for a change! Time for help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Very Active Member
Good Morning Friends! drinking11
I am hoping this new month, March will bring us ALL great numbers. You know...I hope March will bring us a remission cat. It's time!! ProZinc hasn't seen a remission in awhile. Hey March bring us a remission! \M/

Baxter had a good evening last night. Me on the other hand needs to learn to not shut off the alarm @ 3am.
PM+5=154

We are off to a good start this morning....but I know how our days go...FLAT.
AMPS=264

Hope everyone has a glorious day!
 
+4=294
+7=329

Another flat day. This really isn't good. It's time to change what I am doing. I don't believe in doing the same thing over & over to get the same results.
Is it time to change insulin types?
Is it time to order a new bottle of ProZinc?
Is it time to decrease the dose?
Increase the dose?

It's been 5 days Baxter has been flat. His numbers just continue to go up during the day. As if he never got insulin. I have not fur shot. I am 100% certain of this. We don't have flat pm cycles. Why is this? Someone please explain this to me. I can't call my vet because he will tell me to just give him 1.5 all the time & no need to test as much as I do.

I have a lot of pressure on me right now to get Baxter under control. Which I do know it might never happen. My sister was just DX with stage 3 Breast Cancer. I have to go to Okla very soon to see her. It wont be a day trip either. I can't do this with Baxter like this. I am at a loss of what to do anymore.

Baxter SS is updated with BG#s. not really updated with notes.
 
Sorry about your sister.

I wish I could say that Grayson and Baxter are running parallel and that XYZ was working for me, and maybe it would for you too. But I'm not sure WHAT he's doing either. We did up the dose, and it made a difference last night. Today - I guess fur shot, but I find that a little hard to imagine. Anyways, his flat range from AMPS was from 340 down to 325 and back up to 444 (early PMPS) so looks like we're in the same boat. Just not sure where it's headed.

Do you have a pet-sitter/care-taker that you can entrust his testing/shots to? Any others on the board in your area that might be able to help?

So sorry - you don't need the extra stress on top of everything.
 
I am sorry you are having a hard time, Jenn. I never discourage anyone from making a change in insulin if they think it might help.

The thing that I wonder about is the night cycle. I wonder what his numbers look at night in addition to that nice blue. Any chance he continuously goes down and then the next cycle is flat?

I know how hard it is to get evening numbers, but if you could get some at different times over a couple of days, maybe it would help fill out the picture?
 
I am so sorry about your sister. I am sure it is a very stressful time for you right now.

Sue’s suggestion about night numbers is a possibility Jenn. If you want to see what that might look like, have a glance at our chart today.
In trying to re-regulate Asher, now when he drops into good numbers like he did last night, we have a yuk day of bounce/rebound like today.

You do have some blue numbers at night, maybe he even gets into green later?

Getting some night numbers might clue you in as to what is going on for a full 24 with Baxter.

If that’s not it, maybe a raise in dose could be the need, but I’d look into the rebound first. There is the change in insulin possibility too, but having never used anything but ProZync, I can’t advise on that. I’ve only threatened to switch a couple times ;-)
 
Hi Jenn,
I am so sorry to hear about your sister, I will be praying for her.

I am thinking the same thing as Sue, I think Baxter is going low at night
and then staying flat all day
I think that happens to everyone until they get used to going down and up

If that is the caase I dont think there is anything you can do but accept the flat
and make sure that he is going low at night(I dont mean hypo, even just low blue or high green)

Hang in there
 
I am very sorry about your sister, I will keep you and her in my prayers. My mother is a breast cancer survivor-- 7 years out. If you are interested in learning more about it -- Dr. Susan Love is a Breast Cancer expert and has numerous books out-- they are very informative. I read a lot about it when Mom was dx and it really helped me understand the disease and calm her fears.
 
Thank you everyone for your advice on Baxter.
Asher & Baxter SS looks very similar.

I am not sure changing insulin is the solution right now. I would really need to do some research on it first.

I will try to get some middle of the night test tonight. I know I will be able to get some this weekend. I stay up really late on the weekends. I had good intenstions last night....i just couldn't get out of bed.

Tonight's PMPS=286-1.0

I want to say thank you everyone for your kind words & prayers for my sister. It all happened so fast. It is spreading very fast. Just two weeks ago it was in 2 lympth nodes, but now it's in 3. I am very scared for her, my 8 yr old niece, 15 yr old nephew & her husband. We are all very close even though I live the furthest. My family is devastated by all of this. Actually, the shock has just started to wear off over the last week.
I really appreciate the referral on the book. I do need to read it. I think it might help me understand what I am feeling.

Sorry to get so off the topic of big brown cat. Going to try to get some test tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top