Baxter-2/24 & 2/25~PM Dosing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Member Since 2011
We are off to a good start...(anit jinx, knock on wood).

AMPS-248-1.0 (haven't given him yet.)

Baxter is going to miss his PMPS. I hate doing this because his numbers have been decent since yesterday. I have to attend a wedding that is 2 hrs away. I won't be getting back home til extremely late. I have thought about it & thought about it. This is the only thing I can come up with. I don't want to be off his 12/12.
I will be leaving 4 hrs before his normal shot time.
Return 5-6 hours after his normal shot time.
I am leaving food & water out for him. I have prepared myself for some high numbers when I get home tonight & test. Also, for tomorrow AMPS.

Does anyone have any suggestion? I don't have anyone to take care of him. I don't trust the neighbors & vet tech is not a option.
Should I put off his Am shot today for a little bit & pick back up @ 8am tomorrow?

Have a good Friday my friends.
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday-Need Advice

Tough question--BUT, given your circumstances and the good AMPS, I think I would let him ride this cycle out as long as he could before I shot. Afterall, the idea is to keep them in as good of numbers as you can for as many hours as possible.

Just my thoughts!
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday-Need Advice

He is at a nice number so putting off the shot awhile and maybe being able to shoot late tonight is an option. Or just shooting your regular dose and skipping is fine too. Yes, it will take you awhile to make up the ground, but being too high for a few hours isn't awful.

Just one shot. He is doing fine.
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday-Need Advice

Ok so I will test in about 1 hour. Which will be high because of food. Then test in another hour? If its high then shot? So around 10am give the insulin?
Just want to make sure I understand.
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday-Need Advice

I was thinking just to delay the dose to buy time for a possible dose tonight. If you can delay 2 hours after feeding, then yes, you could shoot that number, but I think I would reduce your scale based on your nice amps. But won't that completely mess up tomorrow?

I think I still like skipping tonight best.
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday-Need Advice

Ok so @ 10 test & give a reduced dose from my scale.
Then skip tonight, be back on track tomorrow am.
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday-Need Advice

If you are skipping tonight anyway, I would just give her dose now based on your amps. Am I missing something?
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday-Need Advice

Maybe I am missing something. The longer that she can ride out this cycle in good numbers, the shorter period he will be without insulin tonight. So, if she shoots in 2 hours or maybe longer-- that would make the two cycles more equal. Instead of a 12 hour cycle last night and then a 24 cycle without insulin...if she waits, maybe that can chance to a 16 hour cycle and a 20 hour cycle. I don't know, I am just thinking to ride this morning's cycle as long as she can in good numbers. Then shoot off of the scale.
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday-Need Advice

:dizcat :dizcat :dizcat

Okay, I see your reasoning. I though if she waited, she wouldn't skip tonight but would shoot late?
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday-Need Advice

I would like to go as long as possible riding a good cycle. Then shot. Instead of shooting now & Baxter without insulin for 24 hrs. I think it would be more strain on the pancreas that way.
Glad I have help to have me look at this better.
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday-Need Advice

I would ride this cycle as long as I could and then shoot off of the scale.
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday-Need Advice

I vote for shooting late this morning and late tonight. Since we're going into a weekend you have a few days to move back to your normal shot time.

That won't mess with the progress you've made as much.
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday

It almost 12pm he is currently at 368 without shot. It's been almost 4 hrs since am meal. He has eaten some since 10 & now.
If I do it now then I would be about one hour late tonight. I won't be home until at least 1 am. Putting today's schedule on 12pm & 1 am.
My only concearn is that he won't really eat much at 1 am. Or enough to give a shot.

I will need lots of help getting him back on his 8 & 8 schedule.
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday

As long as he has eaten during the day or will probably eat the food left out for him overnight, he should be okay. He's not real picky, right? PZI is mild enough that food right at shot time isn't imperative, unless he isn't eating at all.
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday

Ok so I am going to be worrying all night about Baxter. This is the first time since DX that I have been away for so long.
I gave him only 1.25 @ 12:00pm. He was @ 368.
+3=279

I a going to test him one more time before I leave which isnt to long from now.

I gave him lots of food. Which I know he will eat through out the evening.
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday

It is hard the first time. You have done everything right. Even an FD mom gets to go out once in a while. Sort of like leaving the baby with the sitter the first time......

Would you help to have a neighbor come over and just see that he is sure fine halfway through your absence?

Go and eat some cake for us!
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday

I think I will have the neighbor come peek on him.

See you guys in the morning.
Thank you for all your help.
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday

Hope the wedding, cake, and [freeze-dried] chicken dance are/were fun! Baxter would surely want you to go and have fun without worrying about him!
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday

Rob & Harley (GA) said:
I agree, you've done everything right.

Go have fun, eat some cake and do the chicken dance. :-D
I hope she gets to dance the Hokey Pokey too! Thanks Robin, for a great big "LOL"

Carl
 
Re: Baxter-2/24~Happy Friday

Easy after the fact, but I would have been nodding agreement with Kim..... wait as long as possible to shoot, then get back on schedule at AMPS tomorrow. A pair of 18 hour-ish cycles. Same logic as I think she said. More consistent insulin over a longer period with no skipping and no time adjustments except the first shot today. Basically a day of SID and a half dosing!

It will be interesting to see how it all plays out regardless. And we'll all learn something.

This place rocks!

Carl
 
Re: Baxter-2/24 & 2/25

I got home after 2am. Oh Baxter was a little mad, but happy to see us. He acted like he was starved to death. He must have ate his dinner early.
I gave him a little food @ 2:30am
+14=319
+20=345-1.25
I feel like those #s arent to bad. I would love for them to be lower, but this is good.
So we are back on a our 8 & 8 schedule.


I got everyone cake. It was strawberry, with a very lite frosting. No I wasnt the cake server. I had this picture taken just for my friends here on FD. No chicken dance, they didnt even play the tone. It was a really nice, fun wedding. Sorry the pictures look a little blurring, I guess when I shrunk it caused them to become this way. My orginal isn't blurring.
 

Attachments

  • cakeonly-JPG.jpg
    cakeonly-JPG.jpg
    42.4 KB · Views: 793
  • cake22-jpg.jpg
    cake22-jpg.jpg
    29.2 KB · Views: 790
Re: Baxter-2/24 & 2/25~Cake

So glad you were able to go out and have fun! Beautiful dress..you look amazing and Baxter didn't do too bad in his Mommabean's absence either. Good for you!
 
Re: Baxter-2/24 & 2/25~Cake

Great pics Jenn!!! And thanks for bringing us cake!!! Cake is gud fud ;)
 
Re: Baxter-2/24 & 2/25~Cake

Glad everything worked out so well - and THANKS!!! for bringing us all cake!

Grayson's b'day (and all his sisters' too) is March 20th. We'll have some more cake then to celebrate!

...and GOOD BOY Baxter!!! :thumbup
 
Re: Baxter-2/24 & 2/25~Cake

Awesome! I love cake! And Baxter appears to have come through it all just fine. Now you know that you can go out on an occasional date night, adjust his schedule around yours, and not have to worry the whole time you're out about this dance.... you can go out and do your own dancing... and if the DJ is really cool, he can play the chicken dance just for you!




Carl
 
Re: Baxter-2/24 & 2/25~Cake

+7=274
+11=217

He is acting so hungry. I feed him already. Its now about 30 minutes early for his shot. Do I sot from my scale? Wait for a couple of hours & test again we will then be off schedule?
Any suggestion?

Baxter SS is updated.

Glad everyone like their cake. Thank you for all the nice compliments.
 
If that is after eating, we can't be sure how much is the food? I' m uncomfortable advising a shot when he's close to 200 and just ate.

What are you thinking, Jenn?
 
My thoughts are I am not sure how much of that is food inflated.
I should have waited til his 8, but I had to be somewhere & wanted to shot 30 minutes early. Well all of this has back fired on me. Now it's 8 I don't have a adequate test, he has eaten & I am still at home. Better tonight then last night.
I am thinking I will give him a little like .25. I will be home in about hour to test him & the rest of the evening.

Do you that sounds good?
 
My thoughts are I am not sure how much of that is food inflated.
I should have waited til his 8, but I had to be somewhere & wanted to shot 30 minutes early. Well all of this has back fired on me. Now it's 8 I don't have a adequate test, he has eaten & I am still at home. Better tonight then last night.
I am thinking I will give him a little like .25. I will be home in about hour to test him & the rest of the evening.

Do you that sounds good?
 
How about coming back in an hour, testing and shooting then? How much would that mess up your schedule?

If you shoot a tiny amount, he will probably be high tomorrow?
 
I gave him skinny .50. Looking back I shouldn't have waited on feeding him & just gave him his shot at normal time. Trying to shot early caused a problem. I didn't get to where I needed to be. It actually caused me to be late. Another learning experience.
+2=258

I will be home the rest of the evening. So I am keeping a eye on him & will be testing him.

Thanks for your help Sue.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top