Baxter~2/10~PM Dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Member Since 2011
I got the shocker this morning. His BG is SUPER high. AMPS 428 :o OMG...WTH...& all those other abbreviations.
He was DX @ 468.

How much do I give him?
I have been testing for ketones. They have been negative.
No dry food is in my house. He has no access to any food.
He doesn't have a infection. He was on Claramox for symptoms of a UTI.
He isn't contispated.

It's raining hard here in Houston & tends to be a scaredy cat when it rains. I don't think it would drive him that high would it?

I really need some advice.

Thank you, Jenn & Baxter
 
Re: Baxter~2/10~Dose?

You shoot 1.25 into a 3 yesterday and got a nice pmps. He has been slowly coming up on the one unit.

Jen, I think it's time for a curve to see what is really going on. Can you get one this weekend?
 
Re: Baxter~2/10~Dose?

Yes, I will be around all day today. So I can do it today.
Its a good idea to do a curve. I am going to speak to the vet today. I could have some numbers for him. He wanted me to start 1.5 on tues...which I didn't do. I thought it was to much.

Are you thinking 1..25 or 1.5? 1.5 makes me nervous....but he is really high.

I was wondering if my insulin is going bad? It should be. I haven't done anything to it.
 
Re: Baxter~2/10~Dose?

If it were me I would stick with the 1.25 for alittle while to let settle
Baxter was going to mid-ish 100's on the 1 unit so If it were me I would hold :mrgreen:
 
Re: Baxter~2/10~Dose?

Thank you. I gave him 1.25 this morning & been testing every 2 hrs. I am trying to get to the bottom of this situtation of high BG #s...lol. The vet should be calling me in a little while for a follow up call. He wanted me to do 1.5.which I thought was to much.
 
Thank you!
Its only been +9 & he is already in the 200's. I really would like to feed him now & give him is shot. Just want to catch it before it gets to much higher.
 
Okay I have usually been shooting at +10 or +11. I havent been waiting the whole +12.
I will test him again. Its been almost 1 hr since I tested him last. I didnt feed him yet. Just jumped on the board to get some advice.
 
Yes just at night.
You are correct its more like +14-+15 before I shot his AMPS.
What should I do?
Start making the cycles more consistent? Where its +11 or +12 between each cycle?
 
I think if you'd even out the cycles, you'd likely have a good amps and pmps and maybe shoot one dose consistently.

PZI is pretty much gone by +12 in most cats. So in the morning, he could be really going up in the last 3 hours.
 
Makes sense. I started doing +10 at night because I thought...oh I will catch it before he gets to high. He seemed fine for awhile in the mornings. Then BAM something started to change with his AMPS.
You are right come AMPS its been +14 or +15 hours which is a long time. I am hurting the pancreas!
 
No big deal. It's something you can change tomorrow. You can shoot him at +12 from tonight's shot and then pmps at +12. That should get you back on track, looking at insulin influenced numbers that you can shoot. Hope overall, things improve!
 
I hope they will change for the better to. It's going on almost 90 days since DX. I was really hoping for remission. Who doesn't? I have come to accept the fact it just might it happen for us. :sad:

Thanks for you help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top