Pat & Phil
Member
Baxter 15yrs., Male, Orange-part coon cat, Diagnosed 6/2/17. Full senior lab test showed no other health issues.
Well, figured we would give it a month to gather data, get acquainted with the testing and all before posting the chart and questions. Baxter has improved tremendously since the initial diagnosis.
He has gained a lb. (lost 5), excessive hunger, thirst and urination have stopped, back legs much stronger, generally alert and much more physically active in a very short time. Total wet food -FF Classic only. We had started two months previously. Give shot half way through the meal.
The vet started him on 2U x 2 Prozinc U-40 even though we had not gotten the BG meter yet. Nor test results from the vet which would have been of no sense to us any way at the time. BG curve @ vet on 6/8/17 was high and bouncing so recommended to start on 3U. As we began testing (AlphaTrack soon moving to Relion) we knew 3U was too high and dropped to 2 then 1 with the vet’s halfhearted agreement.
We have been within the 200-300 yellow range with some consistent success. Yet days with a No Shot would just up the BG number. We would go low then high and vice versa then even out. Tried some .5 and .75 doses eyeballing the U40. We are sticking with the 1U x 2 based on his overall demeanor.
The vet has been of NO help. “Email in a month to update on BG, no need to test every day, call if an emergency. All you have to do is give the shot 2 x.” Very thankful for this Board!
I realize another curve is needed and more frequent midday testing.
Major concerns:
1. How can I regulate the BG so not to have the No Shot issue which seems to mess up the achievement of a consistent BG in the yellow zone?
2. He insists on a snack about 4 hours after the AM & PM shot which we give. ¼ can. (1 can 3oz.with shot, sometimes leaves a little.)
3. The constant excessive hunger has STOPPED but an hour before the AM & PM shot/feed he is begging for food.
4. To us, based on what we have read, his figures appear to be pretty good though bouncing. Or are we way off base?
5. Should we purchase the U 100 syringes and convert the numbers for measured doses?
6. Will there ever come a day where the “daily” testing stops. Really getting worn out worrying about BG, shots and food. Taking a toll.
Most pressing is the inconsistent BG with NS and his need for snack.
Appreciate any input and advice. Amazing how far we have come in knowledge of the disease and treatments in such a short time. ALL due to the wealth of information on this site.
Thank you