Batman is AMPS of 280

I think Suzanne suggested holding the 0.5 dose for 7 days (unless he drops below 90 if you are following the SLGS (start low, go slow) protocol.
I’m questioning this only because his AMPS is 100 points higher this morning than yesterday at the same time?
 
I’m questioning this only because his AMPS is 100 points higher this morning than yesterday at the same time?

Right now you are trying to gather info for the spreadsheet so you can see what his trends are and how he responds to the dose. My understanding is we don’t increase the dose based on single preshot numbers. You don’t want to trigger a bounce. Slow, steady changes on the SLGS protocol.
 
Since he is very new to insulin and to us gathering data, please hold the .5 unit dose for the time being. Let’s see how he does today and what kind of nadir we see. The recommended starting dose for a cat eating a low carb wet food diet is .5 units. I believe you said you tested him for ketones? We also take that into consideration.
 
Right now you are trying to gather info for the spreadsheet so you can see what his trends are and how he responds to the dose. My understanding is we don’t increase the dose based on single preshot numbers. You don’t want to trigger a bounce. Slow, steady changes on the SLGS protocol.
Thank you for the reassurance that I am doing this correctly.
 
So 8 a.m. Eastern is your shot time?
We will adjust the dose based in Batman’s nadir (lowest point in the cycle) in order to keep him safe. It’s best to find a dose that can be shot consistently without changing the dose a lot. Naturally, if he has an unexpectedly low preshot, we can make adjustments. So far we know from yesterday that he did well on the .5 dose with an AMPS of 180.
 
Since he is very new to insulin and to us gathering data, please hold the .5 unit dose for the time being. Let’s see how he does today and what kind of nadir we see. The recommended starting dose for a cat eating a low carb wet food diet is .5 units. I believe you said you tested him for ketones? We also take that into consideration.
Thank you for guiding me through this. We will keep the spreadsheet updated and the dosing consistent.

I did test for ketones and will try to catch him in the box again. Is tricky with 4 boxes, 3 cats, and a two level home!
 
So 8 a.m. Eastern is your shot time?
We will adjust the dose based in Batman’s nadir (lowest point in the cycle) in order to keep him safe. It’s best to find a dose that can be shot consistently without changing the dose a lot. Naturally, if he has an unexpectedly low preshot, we can make adjustments. So far we know from yesterday that he did well on the .5 dose with an AMPS of 180.
Yes, 8:00 am eastern. I agree he had a really good curve yesterday and hope to see today shape up the same. Was a little concerned that the PS reading was so much higher than yesterday. I’ll get used to the fluctuations soon.
 
Why are you checking every 15 minutes. You had me scared that he had dropped low but I just looked at his spreadsheet and everything looks okay.
 
Why are you checking every 15 minutes. You had me scared that he had dropped low but I just looked at his spreadsheet and everything looks okay.
So sorry for the scare, Suzanne! It was something I tried a few days ago as I was learning to fill the SS in. Just wanted to know for next time when I need it.
 
I’m questioning this only because his AMPS is 100 points higher this morning than yesterday at the same time?
It is not unusual for Lulu's AMPS to vary by 100 pts. with no observable reason. It was confusing and disturbing at first but now we focus mostly on the nadir not going too low and the PMPS being high enough to shoot without fear of a low glucose event, keeping with the SLGS even when it is hard to do. Glucose going too low is much more critical than going too high. We learned that the hard way and had to rush her to the ER.
 
It is not unusual for Lulu's AMPS to vary by 100 pts. with no observable reason. It was confusing and disturbing at first but now we focus mostly on the nadir not going too low and the PMPS being high enough to shoot without fear of a low glucose event, keeping with the SLGS even when it is hard to do. Glucose going too low is much more critical than going too high. We learned that the hard way and had to rush her to the ER.
Thank you, I'm learning. I think I'm reading more than I did in school!
 
I was worried! Whew!
I think he had another very good day, I just recorded his PMPS. I'm seeing some other goods signs. He is walking around more, I saw him stretch on a scratching post for the first time since I can't remember when, and when he's out of his onezy, he wants to groom for the first time in several years. I'm going to weigh him in the morning to make sure he's not losing weight too fast. I'm praying the dandruff and poor fur condition will start to improve soon. Step at a time....
 
I think he had another very good day, I just recorded his PMPS. I'm seeing some other goods signs. He is walking around more, I saw him stretch on a scratching post for the first time since I can't remember when, and when he's out of his onezy, he wants to groom for the first time in several years. I'm going to weigh him in the morning to make sure he's not losing weight too fast. I'm praying the dandruff and poor fur condition will start to improve soon. Step at a time....
He did have a good day. I am excited to see him get into even better numbers, but all things in good time. My cat’s fur condition was very poor (kind of greasy looking) and he had dandruff. It was one of the things that alerted me to something being wrong. It got much better after starting insulin.
 
He is walking around more, I saw him stretch on a scratching post for the first time since I can't remember when, and when he's out of his onezy, he wants to groom for the first time in several years
This is what makes me really happy! I love it when they start to feel better!
 
You didn’t shoot 1 unit tonight, did you? Spreadsheet says 1 unit. The morning and evening doses are supposed to be the same.
 
You didn’t shoot 1 unit tonight, did you? Spreadsheet says 1 unit. The morning and evening doses are supposed to be the same.
We have been giving .5 in the morning and 1 in the evening since we started back with insulin on the 15th. Should we change and if so to both being .5 or 1?
 
You should shoot the same amount both morning and evening (unless you’re doing a temporary single cycle reduction.) In fact, many cats tend to drop lower at night so it doesn’t really make sense that his dose should be greater at night.

If you want to go with 1unit both morning and evening that is fine with me (based on his numbers on your spreadsheet) as long as you are going to be available to scan the Libre and to give him a small LC wet food snack at +2 and +4. I would say that you can do 1 unit if he’s at 200 or above.
 
You should shoot the same amount both morning and evening (unless you’re doing a temporary single cycle reduction.) In fact, many cats tend to drop lower at night so it doesn’t really make sense that his dose should be greater at night.

If you want to go with 1unit both morning and evening that is fine with me (based on his numbers on your spreadsheet) as long as you are going to be available to scan the Libre and to give him a small LC wet food snack at +2 and +4. I would say that you can do 1 unit if he’s at 200 or above.

Hie is at 197 so we are giving him 1 unit and will watch him closely.
 
Hie is at 197 so we are giving him 1 unit and will watch him closely.
Perfect. I honestly think he will do beautifully today. The snacks at +2 and +4 are helpful in preventing early or steep drops, which can set up a bounce. His nadir is around +6. Yesterday, he seemed to jump up quite quickly after +6. Did he eat something around that time? I usually recommend not to feed after nadir because it can shorten the duration of the insulin, causing BG to rise prematurely. It’s fine to feed just a tiny bit of food if he really can’t go that long without anything. Just keep it small and low in carbs. If you were testing his ear with a handheld glucometer, I would also say that it is fine to give the treat which should be given with every single test.
 
When is his Libre set to expire?

oh, one thing about the Libre that I cannot remember if I previously mentioned (because it may have been another member that I recently mentioned this to) … the Libre sensors tend to read very low in the lower end of things (100 or below.). This has caused panic with some people I have worked with. It’s always beneficial if you can test a low number with a human glucometer (like the most popular one here, the ReliOn meters from Walmart) as a back up check to verify the number. Most times we find that the Libre is indicating a lower number (even a number that would require high carb food to be given and would require a reduction according to the protocol.). This can be alarming and also lead to reductions in insulin dose that are not warranted.
 
Perfect. I honestly think he will do beautifully today. The snacks at +2 and +4 are helpful in preventing early or steep drops, which can set up a bounce. His nadir is around +6. Yesterday, he seemed to jump up quite quickly after +6. Did he eat something around that time? I usually recommend not to feed after nadir because it can shorten the duration of the insulin, causing BG to rise prematurely. It’s fine to feed just a tiny bit of food if he really can’t go that long without anything. Just keep it small and low in carbs. If you were testing his ear with a handheld glucometer, I would also say that it is fine to give the treat which should be given with every single test.
I am giving him 1 TBS LC duck as treat at +2 and +4. He also has an auto feeder now that I put his LC wet in, I will take the pan out at +6. Now that we have broke the kibble addition, he is not overeating and accepts his LC wet very well. It was raining all day yesterday and he was sound asleep in my office beside me all afternoon, but we will know for sure today — I’ll be pulling the food tray.
 
When is his Libre set to expire?

oh, one thing about the Libre that I cannot remember if I previously mentioned (because it may have been another member that I recently mentioned this to) … the Libre sensors tend to read very low in the lower end of things (100 or below.). This has caused panic with some people I have worked with. It’s always beneficial if you can test a low number with a human glucometer (like the most popular one here, the ReliOn meters from Walmart) as a back up check to verify the number. Most times we find that the Libre is indicating a lower number (even a number that would require high carb food to be given and would require a reduction according to the protocol.). This can be alarming and also lead to reductions in insulin dose that are not warranted.
It expires in 10 days, a week from this Friday. Good to know about the low readings, thank you! We did buy the ReLion and are ready to go. I’m reading all the tips on the ear prick.
 
Perfect. I honestly think he will do beautifully today. The snacks at +2 and +4 are helpful in preventing early or steep drops, which can set up a bounce. His nadir is around +6. Yesterday, he seemed to jump up quite quickly after +6. Did he eat something around that time? I usually recommend not to feed after nadir because it can shorten the duration of the insulin, causing BG to rise prematurely. It’s fine to feed just a tiny bit of food if he really can’t go that long without anything. Just keep it small and low in carbs. If you were testing his ear with a handheld glucometer, I would also say that it is fine to give the treat which should be given with every single test.
We just looked over his curves and it seems the nadir is around +4 both cycles?
 
I am giving him 1 TBS LC duck as treat at +2 and +4. He also has an auto feeder now that I put his LC wet in, I will take the pan out at +6. Now that we have broke the kibble addition, he is not overeating and accepts his LC wet very well. It was raining all day yesterday and he was sound asleep in my office beside me all afternoon, but we will know for sure today — I’ll be pulling the food tray.
Sounds just right!

Are you having rain in NC? We have been dry here (well after the outer bands of Francine passed through last week.)
 
We just looked over his curves and it seems the nadir is around +4 both cycles?
Yesterday it was +6 (162) but the day before that is was definitely more like +4. Nadirs can move around a bit (especially in a two hour window) and sometimes they like to surprise us with a nice late nadir (like PMPS!) always fun. Cats! :cat:
 
Actually he nadired at +3 today. Wow. I often find that cats need to settle into having insulin for a while as well as settling into a dose.
 
No matter what his PMPS is (due to the dog food?) just stick with the 1 unit. He will come back down. I don’t know if you realize how well Batman is doing at this point in his feline diabetes journey. He is spending most of his time at numbers that are below the renal threshold (where glucose is spilled into the urine) so it’s much healthier for his kidneys. I am really pleased with his progress in such a short time. Many people have much more trouble in the beginning.
 
Thank you so much, this is a great relief. We lost a diabetic after 6 years of insulin and a year of subQ fluids for kidney failure in 11/22 and then one of Batman’s brothers 7/1/24 to enlarged heart, mass on lung, and kidney failure. We are very “jumpy” right now. Thank you for your patience and kindness and all you put in to this board.
 
Thank you so much, this is a great relief. We lost a diabetic after 6 years of insulin and a year of subQ fluids for kidney failure in 11/22 and then one of Batman’s brothers 7/1/24 to enlarged heart, mass on lung, and kidney failure. We are very “jumpy” right now. Thank you for your patience and kindness and all you put in to this board.
Oh that’s really kind, thank you. I am sorry about your cat who passed away in July. I lost my beautiful calico, Ginger, to heart disease on July 12, 2024 so I am with you. I hate kidney disease as well. I have lost a few to kidney disease over the years. How old is Batman?
 
Oh that’s really kind, thank you. I am sorry about your cat who passed away in July. I lost my beautiful calico, Ginger, to heart disease on July 12, 2024 so I am with you. I hate kidney disease as well. I have lost a few to kidney disease over the years. How old is Batman?
I’m so sorry for your loss. That empty feeling, sad heart is the price we are willing to pay for the joy they bring us, isn’t it? I can’t imagine life without a cat!

Batman and his brother Robin are 11 and my unrelated boy, Joey, is 9. Dog is 10.
 
Yes, they were three babies deserted in a county road that decided my home would be a wonderful home and adopted us. Couldn’t find them homes so they got their way and I’ve never regretted it. That did push the cat count up to the crazy cat lady level but who cares! Was so much fun raising them together. They are very loving and playful together. Because I had intentions to find them homes and two were twins, I named them both Robin . As time went on, one was shorted to Robbie, who we lost July 1st, and the other became Red because he has some red in his coat the Robbie didn’t. It was horrible the way we lost Robbie. Very poor, inadequate vet care. It’s tough where we live up in a rural mountain area but I did find a much, much better vet. Robbie was in a lot of pain and we still aren’t over all that, none of us are.
 
Oh. That is horrible about Robbie. It’s heartbreaking. Poor baby. It’s very hard to get those last moments and days out of your mind (and also not to feel a lot of guilt in my case, anyway.) I am really sorry.

I know that @JulieL has to drive an hour to get to the vet (is the vet in Asheville, Julie?)
 
Oh. That is horrible about Robbie. It’s heartbreaking. Poor baby. It’s very hard to get those last moments and days out of your mind (and also not to feel a lot of guilt in my case, anyway.) I am really sorry.

I know that @JulieL has to drive an hour to get to the vet (is the vet in Asheville, Julie?)

Yes, we do have vets a little closer, but we’ve been with Animal Hospital of North Asheville for 13 years. Started going there when we were renting a home in Asheville as we built our home in the mountains south of Black Mountain. We liked the practice and feel like it’s worth the 1hour drive to get there. Not perfect, and as the practice has gotten bigger, things have changed, but our vet knows us and knows our cats. But yes, everything is a drive for us. Emergency vet care is over an hour drive.
 
Yes, we do have vets a little closer, but we’ve been with Animal Hospital of North Asheville for 13 years. Started going there when we were renting a home in Asheville as we built our home in the mountains south of Black Mountain. We liked the practice and feel like it’s worth the 1hour drive to get there. Not perfect, and as the practice has gotten bigger, things have changed, but our vet knows us and knows our cats. But yes, everything is a drive for us. Emergency vet care is over an hour drive.
I think we found an ideal vet. First, it’s a sole proprietor office! Robbie saw FOUR different vets his last week of life. One idiot, sorry but was malpractice. Dr Mathew’s appointments run on time yet he spends as much time as needed with each client. He personally sends follow up emails and phone calls, even while he was on vacation! He has personal experience with diabetic cats. And last, but still important, his prices are the lowest of the four vets we’ve tried in NC. Even the products his office sells are lower priced than Chewy and Amazon. He is in Saluda.
 
Oh. That is horrible about Robbie. It’s heartbreaking. Poor baby. It’s very hard to get those last moments and days out of your mind (and also not to feel a lot of guilt in my case, anyway.) I am really sorry.

I know that @JulieL has to drive an hour to get to the vet (is the vet in Asheville, Julie?)
Thank you, it’s never easy or without a broken heart no matter the circumstances. A blessing that we have this group of like hearted people that understand this love we have.
 
I think we found an ideal vet. First, it’s a sole proprietor office! Robbie saw FOUR different vets his last week of life. One idiot, sorry but was malpractice. Dr Mathew’s appointments run on time yet he spends as much time as needed with each client. He personally sends follow up emails and phone calls, even while he was on vacation! He has personal experience with diabetic cats. And last, but still important, his prices are the lowest of the four vets we’ve tried in NC. Even the products his office sells are lower priced than Chewy and Amazon. He is in Saluda.
I’m so glad you found a good vet you are comfortable with! That’s so valuable. Worth the drive, for sure!
 
Back
Top