Bam's spreadsheet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jill A

Member Since 2018
Hi, Bam and are are new to the group. We just started testing last weekend. Since it's Saturday, we did a nadir test and he was at 51. We gave him some food with carbs and he was up to 91 half hour later. Two hours later he was at 250. Planning on another nadir test in the middle of the night. Wondering if we need to go lower with his dose? He had some evening numbers in the 400 range earlier in the week so I'm not sure what to do. Thanks.
 
Hi and welcome to Lantus & Levemir Land, the nicest place you never wanted to be.

Here is a link to your previous thread. We ask everyone to do a new one each day and link the previous one so people can go back easily to see what has already been discussed. The instructions for how to do it, and lots of other helpful info, can be found in this post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/updated-tips-for-new-members.173572/

Good job getting the spreadsheet up and running. Please be sure to put all the data you get into the sheet. I don't see that 91 there. Add it to the +6 cell like this: 51(space once or twice) 91@6.5. Use the Wrap Text option in the toolbar (it looks kind of like an H). To see how it should end up looking, check out either of my spreadsheets.

It's always a good idea to put notes on what you did in that kind of situation into the comments section. It will help you remember next time (and there will be a next time) what worked and what didn't. It does help to look at other people's spreadsheets to see what info they enter, etc.

Have you decided whether you are going to follow TR or SLGS? If you're following TR, you don't reduce until kitty drops below 40 (Bam is considered a long-term diabetic if he was diagnosed over a year ago). If SLGS, the reduction number is 90, regardless of how long since diagnosis.

Read all the stickies and ask lots of questions. The only dumb question is the one you don't ask.

We're glad you found us!
 
Hi and welcome to Lantus & Levemir Land, the nicest place you never wanted to be.

Here is a link to your previous thread. We ask everyone to do a new one each day and link the previous one so people can go back easily to see what has already been discussed. The instructions for how to do it, and lots of other helpful info, can be found in this post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/updated-tips-for-new-members.173572/

Good job getting the spreadsheet up and running. Please be sure to put all the data you get into the sheet. I don't see that 91 there. Add it to the +6 cell like this: 51(space once or twice) 91@6.5. Use the Wrap Text option in the toolbar (it looks kind of like an H). To see how it should end up looking, check out either of my spreadsheets.

It's always a good idea to put notes on what you did in that kind of situation into the comments section. It will help you remember next time (and there will be a next time) what worked and what didn't. It does help to look at other people's spreadsheets to see what info they enter, etc.

Have you decided whether you are going to follow TR or SLGS? If you're following TR, you don't reduce until kitty drops below 40 (Bam is considered a long-term diabetic if he was diagnosed over a year ago). If SLGS, the reduction number is 90, regardless of how long since diagnosis.

Read all the stickies and ask lots of questions. The only dumb question is the one you don't ask.

We're glad you found us!
We are following SLGS. Tested at nadir last night and he was not low.
 
In addition to what Wendy noted about how to stack numbers in a cell, you also need to manually add the color. There's an icon that looks like a paint can. That will allow you to add color to the cell.

With SLGS, if you're using a human meter, you reduce the dose if Bam's numbers are below 90. So, you should be shooting 0.75u. Also, please enter the dose amount in both of the "U" columns on your spreadsheet. If there's not a number in the column, we assume you've skipped the shot.

If I may, I'd like to offer a bit of guidance. With the drop into the 50s and even with the rise to 91, I would have encouraged you to get another test sooner than 2 hours. Sometimes, numbers will wobble around -- the HC brings the numbers up, it wears off, and numbers drop again. Likewise, a drop from 360 to 184 would have prompted me to get another test. I may be overly cautious, but it's easier to steer the numbers if you're able to catch them before the numbers are really low. It's also a lot easier on your nerves!



 
In addition to what Wendy noted about how to stack numbers in a cell, you also need to manually add the color. There's an icon that looks like a paint can. That will allow you to add color to the cell.

With SLGS, if you're using a human meter, you reduce the dose if Bam's numbers are below 90. So, you should be shooting 0.75u. Also, please enter the dose amount in both of the "U" columns on your spreadsheet. If there's not a number in the column, we assume you've skipped the shot.

If I may, I'd like to offer a bit of guidance. With the drop into the 50s and even with the rise to 91, I would have encouraged you to get another test sooner than 2 hours. Sometimes, numbers will wobble around -- the HC brings the numbers up, it wears off, and numbers drop again. Likewise, a drop from 360 to 184 would have prompted me to get another test. I may be overly cautious, but it's easier to steer the numbers if you're able to catch them before the numbers are really low. It's also a lot easier on your nerves!


Thank you, I will go back in and fill in the colors, etc.
 
So just to be a complete pain in the butt, you may want to change the color of the type in the dark green cell to white. You can't read the numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top