BAM Sunday for Asher

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Morning folks. ~O) amps was 281

We did the BAM dose as Joanna suggested yesterday. 2 units went in this morning so we’ll see what happens.

Obviously we’ll keep you posted.

:mrgreen:
 
Hoping it will be a great day. Want you to be diligent but not overreact. You haven't seen lower numbers lately. If you see 50's, feed low carb first and check again in 15 minutes. If you see 40s, higher carb and head over to the health forum.

(If you are looking out for it, it should guarantee nothing will happen, right? :mrgreen: )
 
Thanks everyone :mrgreen:
Touch wood, so far so good. He’s active and getting into it with his brother ;)
I am gonna test in about 10 minuts and we’ll test throughout the day.
here’s hoping.....
 
+7 is 213

Bam Sunday ain’t so Bam :(

Starting to worry I have to discuss getting his dental sooner than later.
What else could it be, or does he just need more insulin?
 
Eh, not so much bam. But I wouldn't bam him again just yet. You havn't seen any NDW new dose wonkyness, maybe he hasn't realized you bammed him yet.
 
So Robin, what to do tonight?

Do we keep him on the 2 units for right now and see what shakes out tonight and tomorrow?
 
Hmmm, almost a blue, but not quite. If he curves back up to a higher PS I would probably be tempted to stick with this dose and see if you get better results in a cycle or two. If he does something funky like drop down to a lower PS tonight there's your breakthrough, and I would back off the dose a little bit in that case.

The good news at least is that you seem to be out of the pinks, and moving to lower yellows, and actually getting really good duration, which is a good thing. As long as you are seeing U-curves and the #s are gradually coming down like this, I would stick with a dose for around 4 cycles and then raise another 0.2 if the #s aren't mostly blues & greens. I think you will see a breakthrough soon, but hard to say for sure. When Bix was in a spot very similar, it was cycle 4 on a dose with similar results where he dropped down to a green nadir and then blue PSs after that. Of course ECID, but just so you know stuff like that can happen from here, it could all pop into place nicely (and then you may need to reduce the dose pretty fast in small increments to keep the #s where you want them).
 
Asher’s +9.5 is 235. So yes, duration does seem to be pretty good.

His pmps last night was 244 and the night before it was 308, so I would guess by the time we do pmps tonight we could do the 2 units again since it looks like he’ll be in the same range.

Is this a case where he could drop low all of a sudden, so do we need to test overnight, and the next couple of days if we stick with this dose?

Someone will be here with Asher mid day at least thru the early and mid part of this work week. (I am out shooting but Tom is working here at home)
 
If you have food out I wouldn't put it in the worry category, I would just try to get a nadir when you can. If he does get good #s you may see it in a lower PS, or you may be able to catch on another day if you can't spot test every day. I definitely wouldn't raise the dose though without checking the nadir first.
 
Checking the nadir is no prob for the next few days. So if his preshoots are high enuf, we’ll stick with this dose for a couple days and then re-assess.
Fingers and toes crossed....
\M/

Thanks Joanna!
 
Ok, so just when I think I know what I’m gonna do.....

our pmps was just 213...which went down from our last reading at +9.5

Do I wait and retest and see if this is a fluke or if he’s going up?

Never had him go down like this.....

edit: to review... amps 281, +3 237, +5 210, +7 213, +9.5 235, +11.5 (pmps, or so I thought): 213
 
I would wait a bit and test again to make sure you have a rising number or two.

Like Joanna said if you get a lower PMPS back off the dose a bit.
 
I guess he finally figured out that he'd been bammed.

Joanna's post has a lot of good information in there, remember she said that if you got a lower PS then there is your breakthrough.
 
Yes I went back and reread that. I wasn’t sure if she meant a lower number than we have usually been getting for a pmps, or a number lower than earlier today.

I would be psyched if this is a breakthru.... ((<anti jinx>))

I’m trying to hold off to test for another half hour.
As you can imagine, the feline troops aren’t on board with that idea confused_cat
 
Our new pmps is 249, so he did go up.

I took that as I sign I could feed.
I think if I didn’t, they may have knocked me down and started chewing on me ;)

So in this case, since he did drop like Joanna said, do I take that as a break thru and shoot 1.8 instead of 2 tonight?

And then his preshoot in the morning (and hopefully a +6 overnight) will tell us more?
 
Ya know I'd be tempted to stick with the 2u because his numbers wern't that low today but only if you can get a +4 or nadir check, if not then 1.8u.

It's up to you, go with your gut.
 
Tom and I were discussing it before your post and we wondered if sticking with 2 would be ok to do also. He really didn’t go much lower than 210 today.

I can set my alarm and get up to test tonight at +4, I don’t have to work until noon tomorrow (not like I could sleep in anyway) :mrgreen:

If there are other thoughts out there, I’ll be waiting to shoot for about a half hour yet, 8:15pm east coast time.

Thanks Robin for sticking with my questions tonight!
 
Hmmm, yeah, by lower PS I meant a significant drop down to clearly lower #s. Flattish didn't even cross my mind, not sure I've ever ever really seen that before. Go Asher, confuse everybody, yippee! LOL

Ooooh, I just peeked at your SS, pretty #s today, now THAT'S a breakthrough, YAY!!!!!!!!!!! 1.4 is as reasonable as anything else - anybody's guess at this point exactly what dose he needs. If he is higher again in the AM you might try 1.8, but really I'd say go with what you feel comfortable with. If you get stuck back in yellows, you know now what works to get out of it. YAY!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top