Balrog PMPS 401

Status
Not open for further replies.

stephanie & Ti-Mi (GA)

Member Since 2009
Balrog had a dosecrease yesterday. How long can it take to kick in?

Wont be able to take in between BG test besides preshots until saterday. My sister will be back saturday night. Balrog seems to feel fine but worried about long term of having high BG.
 
Hi!
Welcome back!

the stickies contain a lot of info on protocol, the shed etc,...
maybe print them out too for sis when she gets back?

are you able to get a before bed time number?


from the Protocol stickie:

"General" Guidelines:

--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).

--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
thank you Ronnie.

Won't be able to get a number before bed time, Balrog is not at my house. Would be easier to get up at night and BG test if he was with me here. I only go at my sister's house a few hours a day, to feed and shoot and pet Balrog. I'll see tomorrow if I can leave work during lunch time to get a number.
 
ok, I found your previous thread with all the info. viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22729&p=226907#p226907
you're a DPS then!

till saturday.

Libby mentioned last nite:

....it does look like Balrog needs more insulin, but it would be great if you could get some more spot checks. You will only be taking care of him for a few more days, right? If you could convince your sister to keep testing until his numbers come down, that would be helpful. He was doing so well last year on 2.25, so he might need to work his way back up to that dose or a little higher.

New insulin wouldn't hurt, if that is more than a couple of months old, and a vet visit sooner or later.


ok, I'm all caught up now.
hopefully your sis could do this, buy her some treats - for your sis, to persuade her, lol.
We know you'll do the best you can Stephanie!
:YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top