Ballonee 12/30/17 AMPS= 335, +3= 130, +5= 227, PMPS= 445, PM +4= 511 :/

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just saw that +3. What's Ballonee's feeding schedule been like today? She's still in great numbers right now, but that's a big drop from AMPS. This is a good opportunity to try to manage the curve with a bit of food-- a small meal/snack right now might help slow her down.

How is she feeling today?
 
Adding: was just reading in the notes that you did exactly that yesterday when she had a similar drop and then surfed in the blues all day (yay!). So you're probably way ahead of my suggestion above :).
 
She's doing alright! super cuddly :) a bit head hang-ie at about +3.5 when I fed. Again in the yellows just now.. but she isn't dropping so low so suddenly so it feels way more manageable <3
 
Ballonee just ran out of her recovery food so shes just having diabetic. The vet charges me almost 5$ per can of the recovery.. does anyone know of any food I can buy at a pet store that will still be okay for her?

She's still running a bit high.. but we are sticking to the 0.25 for a bit correct? to give her time to adjust and because we don't want to increase to fast is that right?
 
I wish the vet was more wallet friendly.. like what is the harm in recommending a food that will keep her healthy and won't cost 5$ a can?
 
You’ll want to hold this dose for six cycles unless she drops below 68. If she starts churning out some blue (more than she did today), we can think about holding the dose longer; we just want to be a little more careful with her considering her recent DKA history.

I feed a balanced raw diet and I haven’t kept up on what canned diets there are. I think a lot of people feed Fancy Feast but I’m not sure if it has enough calories for her. I’m sure the diabetic food is running you a pretty penny as well. Not too many people here feed diabetic foods because of the costs. There are plenty of good LC canned foods out there.
 
Sounds great :) thank you. I haven't checked her again yet but she is looking good. Planning to check again soon. Yep the diabetic stuff is pretty costly as well but not as bad as the recovery. I found some high protein, low carb stuff at the pet store tonight to hold us over until I can get more from the vet. This is the link to the one I got her.. they told me it was low carb but I'm not sure how can you tell? https://www.nutro.com/natural-cat-food/nutro/canned/adult-chunky-loaf-chicken-dinner.aspx
 
She went from constant low numbers to ridiculously high ones :/ ... is she okay that high throughout the night? Not sure what kind of interventions I can do
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top