? Bailie 27/12 AMPS 309 +4 295 +7 354 2.25 lantus

Nancyco*

Member Since 2023
I’m getting quite scared that Bailies numbers are so hi .I’m terrified something is going to happen to him as his numbers are so hi . This dose is too little for him . My vet is not too happy either she says he needs to get his numbers down and wants me to up the dose . What’s the point of going so slow when the high numbers can harm the organs ? If anything happens to my boy I will never forgive myself for not doing what my vet recommends. Can someone please talk me down off the ledge . I’m sorry but I do agree with the vet that he needs to get his numbers down he can’t afford to be going so slow in trying to do that . I’m getting very worried . Please can someone explain things to me . His body can’t take this .Please can someone help me .
 
Last edited:
When feeding any dry food, if he gets too low it can be very hard to get his bg back up. That’s why you follow SLGS. Symptomatic hypos can have him wind up at the ER on a glucose drip. One more day and it will be time to increase to 2.5. When he was on 2.75 you had to skip and he still earned a reduction. Patience is hard and we all learn it with a cat who has fd. How’s he acting? Playing? Purring? Preening? Remember he’s more than just his bg numbers. They will come down. You have already seen green and blue nadirs which is good. It’s only been 2 months. :bighug:
 
When feeding any dry food, if he gets too low it can be very hard to get his bg back up. That’s why you follow SLGS. Symptomatic hypos can have him wind up at the ER on a glucose drip. One more day and it will be time to increase to 2.5. When he was on 2.75 you had to skip and he still earned a reduction. Patience is hard and we all learn it with a cat who has fd. How’s he acting? Playing? Purring? Preening? Remember he’s more than just his bg numbers. They will come down. You have already seen green and blue nadirs which is good. It’s only been 2 months. :bighug:
Well, he does have arthritis, so he’s not very playful. He likes cuddles, and he loves being brushed. But he’s not really that playful he’s a purr machine . And about the dry food, I have no choice. It’s not from lack of trying. I offer wet food of every kind at each meal but he has to eat to get insulin so it’s a tough one .
 
Max ne er played much except for chasing with his sister. Is he eating , peeing , and pooping normally? Purring is almost always a good thing too. We call that the 5 p’s to remind us to look at the whole cat and not just the numbers.
Yes he’s pooping peeing eating and loving I love him so so much .
 
I agree with Staci. She sounds like she feels good. It just will take some time for you to see progress. You can't rush it. Our cats are in control. :cat::):bighug:
 
Her ss has not been updated since 1/23. I hope Pearl is okay.
Well she was talking to me today on the FB group and told me to tag her here . So I am assuming things are ok . But I don’t know her today was the first time I have spoken to her and she told me to post here everyday because you guys really helped her .
 
Back
Top