? Bailie 12/9 AMPS 20.1 +4 10.7 +6 9.6 PMPS 4.7

Nancyco*

Member Since 2023
Hi There , I guess I’m not shooting tonight ? He’s due for his shot now What do I do ?
 
Last edited:
I fed him because I figured you don’t give him the shot. If it’s lower than 11.1 now he’s already eaten and I don’t know what to do. He’s due his shot right now.
 
He already ate

OK...in the future, if you get a Preshot you're not sure about shooting, you should stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if the numbers are starting to go up (which would indicate the last shot was starting to wear off)

Since you've fed, you have 2 choices. Wait for 2 hours, test again and if he's high enough, go ahead and shoot but you have to be able to shoot later than usual until you work your way back to your regular shot times (15 mins per cycle or 30 mins per day)

Skip and start over in the morning. Expect him to be high because of no insulin and he's probably going to bounce from dropping so low.
 
So if I skip will it mess up everything for a few days? I can’t see me feeding him that late he wakes up at 5:30. So he’ll be up three hours and I won’t be able to feed him. It’ll be too too much. So what if I skip tonight will he have high numbers for days on end again? Will that screw up the dose working?The 3units working I mean ?
 
Previous post https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-8-bailie-amps-18-3-18-8.284375/

So if I skip will it mess up everything for a few days?

Yes, it will drain the depot a little so it may cause him to be high for several more cycles.

I can’t see me feeding him that late he wakes up at 5:30. So he’ll be up three hours and I won’t be able to feed him.

I understand. Our job here is to teach which is why I told you there were choices (and yeah, he probably wouldn't be too happy about waiting for his food).

Will that screw up the dose working?The 3units working I mean ?

Here is where we have the biggest problem. Because he dropped under 90, on SLGS that means you should reduce his dose to 2.75, but when we have suggested that in the past, you were concerned what your vet would say so I really don't know what to tell you to do for tomorrow's shot.

ETA: In the U cell, put N.S. for "no shot". That tells us you skipped the shot on purpose.
 
Last edited:
So you think he should definitely go down to 2.75 correct?Because if you do I’m doing it anyways
 
Yes, tomorrow morning. Also, IF you wanted to change his usual shot time, you could do it tomorrow morning.
Hi, I just tested him now and he’s 8.7 it’s 730 here do you think I should give him a shot now then? I really hate to have him being all screwed up for the next few days.Oh wait I think he’s too low to shot anyway at 8.7 so I will skip tonight and shoot tomorrow.
 
You can shoot but you would not be able to give the morning shot until 11 1/2 hours from when you shoot. You can get back on schedule by shooting 15 minutes early each cycle or 30 minutes at once every 24 hours. So tomorrow you would give the shot at 7:00. The depot is also going to influence the next 4-6 cycles. Can you stay up as late as necessary? You would start with a +4. If that’s pink you would not need to stay up. There might be a bounce but no guarantee.
 
You can shoot but you would not be able to give the morning shot until 11 1/2 hours from when you shoot. You can get back on schedule by shooting 15 minutes early each cycle or 30 minutes at once every 24 hours. So tomorrow you would give the shot at 7:00. The depot is also going to influence the next 4-6 cycles. Can you stay up as late as necessary? You would start with a +4. If that’s pink you would not need to stay up. There might be a bounce but no guarantee.
Yeah, I’ve decided just to skip it. I would rather give him his shot at 6 AM. So we’ll just have to deal with the bounce when it comes. There’s one question I have I thought you hold the dose for seven days? The three units will not be a full seven days unti Monday but you’re just basing it on the low numbers of today ?
 
There’s one question I have I thought you hold the dose for seven days? The three units will not be a full seven days unti Monday but you’re just basing it on the low numbers of today ?

You hold the same dose for 7 days unless he drops below 90 which is an immediate reduction of 0.25

Since you skipped tonight, in the morning you'd give 2.75 and start the 7 days over.
 
Back
Top