Bailey UK please help advise needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

BaileyUK

Member Since 2013
Oh Friday bailey had 145 ml of fluid drained from his lungs,and was diagnosed with heart failure.he is very weak,and eating less than his usual food intake.today his AMPS was 4.7 I held my nerve and gave him his full insulin dose of 4units,tonight at PMPS he is 4.5 what do I do?? he is now I hour late for his PM shot and his bg is not rising! Do I skip this shot,advise would be most welcome,as I am so distressed with his diagnosis I can barely think straight. Many thanks. Diane. PS. he is on diuretics once a day since Friday and so far these have maintained normal breathing.
 
Last edited:
If he's eating at all, you might want to give some insulin, diane. Maybe a small dose - 1 or 2u . . . ? If you give insulin, of course you've got to monitor in case he goes low.

There's no perfect answer anyone can give you. You might want to phone the vet for advice.

I'm so sorry he's having all these troubles. Sending you a big hug.
 
Thanks Julie,I was thinking along the same lines,I have just given him 1 unit. I will keep a watch over him. X
 
So sorry he is faced with more challenges. Are you seeing a cardiologist? I most definitely would call your vet tomorrow. I hope you both have a peaceful night.
 
The vet has sent a lot of blood away for tests,also the fluid that was drained off his lungs.He said if we hadn't done the draining on Friday we would have been faced with a decision over the weekend. We have a appointment to see him for the results on Tue,and decide what to do from there.
 
One thing I would ask about, Diane, is what the expectation is for that fluid to return.

I'm thinking you mean that it was around his lungs, not from inside them? Punkin had a fluid build-up in his abdomen/chest that squished his lungs down to a sliver. We were told the fluid would return quickly, so we made the decision to let him go. Hardest decision ever to make, as everyone knows. But he was having trouble breathing from it and I couldn't bear it. I hope that's not the same situation as Bailey, but thought you should know to ask about it.
 
I don't know,it's a very busy practice,we didn't see the vet concerned when we picked him up,he is a very experienced vet who is only a this branch of the practice twice a week,and much in demand,he did ring me in the evening with update of what they had done,the inference I got from the conversation with him was hopefully if the fluid doesn't return he will go naturally,I must say my opinion too is I think his little body in shutting down.so very sad I am devastated.
 
At the moment his breathing is more or less normal,I am constantly watching him,if there is a change and his breathing gets laboured again I will be straight to the vets,we have arranged to see him again on Tue,when hopefully he will have the results of the tests.
Have just read your post Julie,I asked him about the fluid returning,he said it could be days,weeks,or it may not return.I will push him for answers on Tue.
 
One episode of heart failure isn't necessarily a death sentence. Diuretics (e.g., Lasix/furosimide) can help to prevent the fluid from building up. The dose may have to be tweaked but it can help enormously. Please keep in mind that humans can have a good quality of life for many years with a diagnosis of CHF.
 
No words of advice Diane just sending hugs and healing vines for your sweet BaIley, hope you get some better news on Tuesday. :bighug:

Suki and Crystal
 
(((Diane))), plenty of hugs for you and scritches for handsome Baily. :bighug::bighug:

I remember one kitty here, Pepper, who was on Lasix for quite a while. His mom got it compounded tuna flavor and he loved taking it.
 
Diane I am sorry you are going through this, what a stressful thing. Just wanted to let you know I am thinking of you and Bailey.
 
Hugs to you, Diane. I hope the Diuretics help Bailey. Please give him some skritches from us.
 
Bailey has had peaceful night and his breathing is normal,his bg AMPS at 6am was 15.1 so considering I only gave him 1 unit last night (normal 4) its a good result,I was dreading the meter pinging,and what it would be.
I have just given him 3 units (hope that wasn't too much) he has taken his diuretic med,and has eaten a small amount.
Many thanks for all the overnight posts,Dyana,lovely to hear from you again,I keep an eye open for your updates,your new baby is beautiful. X
 
Hi Diane,

I'm so sorry to hear about Bailey's diagnosis, and really praying that the diuretics help. It's good that he had a peaceful night.
Don't lose hope. :bighug:

Sending prayers for your boy, and a reassuring hug to you.
Will be thinking of you both.
(and just let me know if you want to talk at any time)

Eliz x
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top