Bailey uk amps 416,+2 331 +4 418 :-( bad day today

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think yesterday, Julie mentioned 8 cycles, not 8 days. I hope Bailey starts coming down tonight, and is feeling better soon.
 
I meant 8 cycles silly me.im that midered with it all!
oh so do I dyana.i hate watching struggle ;-( I think that's half the battle.his little body has become so used to high numbers that even when hes getting a yellow,hes bouncing and its taking him ages to clear it.i just hope this stops otherwise were in for a rougher ride than wevee already had.the vet said today that sometimes when theyre in pain it can also make readings higher and hes suffering with neuropathy due to diabetes at the mo so hes going in tomorrow for pain relief and a b12 injection just to help his little legs.its a horrible disease isn't it?
 
The B12 I give J.D. is cyanocobalamin by injection. The B12 you want for neropathy (however you spell it) is methylcobalamin. I heard that it is hard to get the injectable methylcobalamin. Most of the folks on this board give a pill form like Zobaline.
 
I don't see any good reason for a bounce, but anything is possible Anna

I'd go ahead and continue the 3.75 for 3 more cycles (not days) and then let us see where he's at. He may just need more insulin.

If he continues to be high despite the increases, it may be a good idea for you to get him tested for the high dose conditions, like acromegaly and insulin resistance. Those conditions can change the rulebook
 
thanku guys.
yeah ive got him on zobaline now.just one tablet a day with his food.yeah hes eating ok,hes poopied and weeing (of course quite a lot)
ive checked for ketones and there isn't any.everything seems to be working ok we just need to get to the right dose.il hold this one for another 3 cycles then il up him to 4u.
what happens if hes insulin reisistant chris.:-(
 
even though this is yesterday's condo, i'm going to go ahead and answer here.

we don't usually suggest a cat get checked for a high dose condition until they've passed about 6units per dose, or 1.5u/kg. what we know now is that we haven't gotten to a good dose for him yet. if he does have a high dose condition, the plan is still to give him as much insulin as he needs to get his blood sugar down into a healthier range.

Anna, some of us are looking at Bailey's spreadsheet together and thinking about what might be best for him. i think that since you've given him 6 cycles and haven't seen anything below a high yellow on this dose, i'd go up by 0.5u at your next shot. he doesn't look like he's bouncing, just plain old high.
 
yeah I must admit Julie,i was worried about just going up .25u and waiting another 2 cycles.hes been to vet today and even though hed not eate since midnight last night .the vets reading at 9am was still 275 and there was ALOT of sugar in his urine.ketone free so that's good news. his weight is now 5.9kg if that's any help.he was 6.7kg so was a very big boy! should I start todays condo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top