Bailey uk amps 319,+2 364,+5 349 high readings :-(

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116254&p=1222499#p1222499

hes been to the vet today for fructosimine,renal and urine tests.along with antibiotics and pain relief for his little legs.
even though he hadn't eaten since 12 midnight the vet tested him at 9am and he was still 275. hes lost abit of weight and is now down to 5.9kg so hes still erm...cuddly! he was 6.9kg before diabetes so hes far from skinny but I need to point out he isn't fat hes a big long lad.even the vets said that hence her not being too wooried at the mo about the amount of dose were up to.

so you all think think then I should up tonight by .5u just to confirm?
 
Re: Bailey uk amps 319 +364 still really high readings :-(

i wouldn't worry about it yet, either. the size of the dose, i mean.

yes, i would increase by 0.5u at your next shot.

did the vet look at his teeth, by any chance? we've found that if a cat's teeth are bad, ie, any redness around the base of the tooth at the gumline, can make a cat's BGs go up and be difficult to get under control.
 
Re: Bailey uk amps 319 +364 still really high readings :-(

oooo I don't know I must ring her Monday and ask although his gums and teeth look really healthy. ive just had a look!!

it worries me that there was so much sugar in his urine and the fact he hadn't eaten for nearly 10 hours yet his bg was still 275,makes me think were no where near! :-(
 
Remember Anna, stress raises blood glucose too, and there's not many things more stressful than a visit to the vet for our kitties. I wouldn't worry too much about the numbers you get at the vets office.

All you can do is just keep following the protocol and hopefully you'll hit that "magic dose" soon. We've seen it a lot when just all the sudden a cat that didn't seem to be responding all the sudden hits a dose and then comes running down the dose ladder, so don't be too discouraged!

I also wanted to say that when I mentioned the high dose conditions yesterday, I didn't mean Bailey needed to be tested for those yet. I should have been clearer that we don't recommend those until they've above 6 units. IF Bailey continues to go up in dose and ends up going that high, I'm curious if any of our UK members have ever had the high dose testing done and where they might have done it though. I know here in the US, there seems to only be one lab that does it. Just something for future thought.

Hopefully you'll see some much better numbers on the .5 increase!! We'll all be praying for you!
 
thankyou everyone.i honestly don't know what id do without you all! its just nice to have people here who understand.im sure people around me think im some crazy cat lady but hes my baby.my friends understand how important he is and how time consuming it is and they get it.work mates and other family members really don't!!!

the high dose thing is it not done at the vets then? how does that work? if hes insulin resistant what does that mean for him and myself?

hes done well to only lose that bit of weight to get him to 5.9kg (I thought hed lost more) hes far from skinny! but I do make sure he eats enough chicken and bloomin fresh stuff.he costs me a fortune but hes worth it.id do ANYTHING to make him better <3

so tonight il up him to 4.25 and see where this dose takes us.i really hope we get there!
 
yep Julie, he is now.hes had a chicken breast with feline complete on and a tin of encore natural shrimp this afternoon.its like feeding time at the zoo here constantly but its all the right stuff.hes always been a grazer never one to clear his dish.he likes to come back to it! the vet wanted me to feed him at the exact same time every day but that wouldn't work cos sometimes he has 2 mouthfuls then comes back 2 hours later!
 
ok, i'd wondered when you said he hadn't eaten for 10 hrs. glad he's back to normal.

there's no dry cat or dog food at your house either, right?
 
oh sorry I should've said.he has to be sedated cos he hates it at the vets so much so he wasn't ALLOWED to eat for the 10 hours because of sedation.i had him home by 10.30 and he had chicken half asleep...............he went straight to his bowl!
we got rid of the dry food a few weeks ago now.
 
the high dose thing is it not done at the vets then? how does that work? if hes insulin resistant what does that mean for him and myself?
\

There's no need to worry about this too much just yet....Bailey's "magic dose" may very well be the next one!

IF he continues to need higher and higher doses and passes the 6 or so units, then you'd need to consider getting the tests. As I said earlier, I'm not sure where you can get it done in the UK.

In the US, we take our cats to the vets and they take the blood and then send it to the lab that does the high dose testing at MSU.

IF he's positive for insulin resistance, you just give more insulin. There's not really any treatment for that, (that I know of) but it's helpful to know if that's what's going on. Acromegaly has a treatment, but again, I don't know how available it is in the UK. Julie could tell you about the treatment if you're really interested though. Her Punkin had SRT treatment done at Colorado State University.

There's a lot of "IF's" that it's too soon to worry about though.

IF Bailey was yellow, he might be a banana :lol:
For such a little word, "IF" means a lot!
 
youre right! no point I suppose worrying what could happen.if someone had told me 6 months ago what id be doing now idve had a nervous breakdown but its a way of life for us now :-) so il deal with that if it comes to it...............il have to!!!
id be a very happy girly if the next dose was the right one but we'll see............
 
Hi there :cool:

I'm so glad Julie asked about Baileys teeth. I just posted a small novel in Cobbs condo about my experience with BKs teeth and gums, which I 'm pasting below.

The effect of even one bad tooth should not be underestimated. Have a look at BKs ss.
On 10/23/2008 BK had a lump removed and biopsied. While he was under his vet took a good look at his teeth and saw a fragment of a broken molar, which she removed. His teeth and gums were in such a bad state that she recommended a veterinary dental specialist.

He was at his highest doses when that tooth fragment was removed, some 45u daily (total L and R) .
10/30/2008, one week later, I stopped using R.
11/03/2008 I gave my first BCS.
11/04/2008 BK got his first Lantus reduction.
11/23/2008 he had 2 cycles in a row with only blue and green, another first.

12/08/2008 13u L, first major dental with the dental specialist. x-rays revealed further resorptive lesions under the gumline - he had about 8 teeth removed.
01/04/2009 he was down to 8u Lantus, no R and tasted HC for the first time :mrgreen:
04/12/2009 he was down to 3u Lantus.

04/20/2009 red crept back into his ss and back up in dose he went - :cry:
05/25/2009 back up to 5.25u Lantus . . .
05/29/2009 back to the dentist for further extractions
10/23/2009 OTJ :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
He had yearly cleanings with his regular vet after he went OTJ until eventually a couple years ago all his remaining teeth were removed.

It was quite dramatic. I'm sure that his spending his first 5 years as a stray on the streets and being FIV+ contributed, however without a doubt for BK bad teeth and gums turned out to be his Achilles heel.

Food for thought :cool:
 
that is defiantely something to ask about!!
he goes back to the vets in 3 weeks so il ask her to have a look.hes been on dry food all his life which is meant to be good for the teeth plus hes only 8 and from what I can see his gums are really healthy, as are his teeth.i just cant see the ones at the back so when hes next in the vet il ask her.i daren't take him especially as he is terrified and has to be sedated because he gets so aggressive with them all so whilst under sedation il get her to have a good root around!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top