Bailey uk amps 286,+ 2 374 6cycles done can i increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Anna,

Sorry I can't help you with the dosing; I'm sure someone will be along soon who can help you with that. I just wanted to stop in and say hi. I'm so glad that Bailey is feeling a little bit better. Every little bit helps!

Shelly
 
thanks shelly.its a tough long road this isn't it? nailbite_smile
im so glad im the type of person who doesn't give up!!!
hes a big lad anyway so im guess he'll need more insulin but im glad ive got you guys to help me do it the safe way!
I don't feel as stressed about it now.i suppose because I know more about it.ive been so ill with it until 2 weeks ago coming out in hives and a rash that they thought was a severe allergy but actually it was stress. :roll:
I just want to make sure im safe giving him the 4 units tonight.weve got another 10 hours yet before then so im sure one of the lovely people on here will be on here before then to give me some advice.xx
 
Yes, I think it'd be fine Anna.

Bailey's nadirs have been 300 or above except for that one 290 so I think going up .5 is a good choice. He has had a 238 and 286 this morning but then spiked above 300 again.

We wouldn't necessarily want to continue with .5 increases, but let's see if we can get him into some blue numbers on the 4 unit dose

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

As you can see, you'll get differing opinions.....LOL

Glad you have awhile before the next dose. Hopefully others will chime in and we'll get a consensus....LOL
 
Since Bailey's starting to show a bit of yellow, may I suggest holding this current dose for another 2-4 cycles (1-2 days) to see where Bailey's headed, and then go from there. The extra day or 2 won't hurt, and it may take Bailey a bit longer to work that juice a bit more, especially since you're putting more in the shed.

With regards to your question, the normal protocol is to increase by 0.25u instead of 0.50, unless there's an underlying health reason for the 0.50u increases. Bringing the numbers down is a slow, and gradual process. I know you're impatient, and we've all been there, believe me. It'll come, ok? Just have patience. I know... Famous last words. :lol:

Just a thought, and congratulations on getting a yellow. :-D
 
Hi Anna,

I'm glad you're starting to get some feedback about the dose. I'm so sorry to hear about the hives. I also break out in hives when I'm stressed. (I've done it since I was a little kid.) I can absolutely feel your pain on that one. I don't know what you're using to treat it, but oatmeal baths sometimes help me. Of course mine also come on suddenly and go away within 12 hours. I know some people have them for days at a time. :cry:

Hang in there!
Shelly
 
Hi guys .. glad to see you are getting some dosing advice .. I'm sorry about all the stress you are dealing with .. I hope you are feeling more relaxed .. have a great day!
 
hi anna!

did you see my question a couple of days ago about the numbers on 3/21?

here's the question - is Bailey taking longer to clear bounces than some cats, ie, perhaps a little longer than 72 hrs (3 days) or does he need more insulin?

that's why i was asking about the numbers on the 21st. I know you think the meter might've been wonky - can you tell us why? because if his numbers tanked low, that might've been the bounce clearing. if so, that becomes very significant. you don't want to increase too quickly if he's getting into low numbers on a particular dose. there needs to be time to let a dose settle in to see what it does and it might be that Bailey needs more than 6 cycles if he bounces.

can you hold this dose another 2 cycles (total of 8) until we figure out whether he needs longer on a dose to clear bounces or whether he just needs more insulin? so i wouldn't increase right now.

and by the way, i figured out what jill was talking about when she said i had given you outdated info: the difference between the human meter numbers and AT numbers has been changed. the previous information was that they were about 30 points different in the lower numbers and the difference grew higher in bigger numbers. Now - i suppose with the AT2 - the difference is about 18 points, so fairly close to the human meters.
 
hi Julie, the alphatrak was definitely not working correctly as I tested on the 21st and I got 34 then immediately after (like 10 secs) I got 387. then i got 142 then again 10 secs after I got 345 so I new the metre wasn't working and this happened a few times hence me not putting any readings up as I didn't know what was correct.ill hold this dose then for another 2 cycles and see how we go.
its a mine field all this isn't it. ive also noticed he seems to get his lowest reading just before his amps.its strange!
 
looking at his spreadsheet and after what you guys ive said you don't think we missed the dose at 2.75.that was when he was at his best and seem to have more yellows,even a couple of blues.no reds tiill the bounce.im worried that maybe were going to high.its all so confusing and I just don't know what to do for the best!
 
Hi Anna, sometimes it doesn't seem to make sense when you go up the dosing ladder. A higher dose doesn't always look slightly better than the one before. Although 2.75U might have looked the best so far, there weren't any greens at that dose and that's where you want to be with Bailey. All you can do is follow the protocol and keep increasing until you get to the dose that gives you normal numbers. Often it just happens without a lot of warning.

It's good that you retested when you got what looked to be wonky numbers. With my meter, if I don't get quite enough or do a "double dip" on the blood, it'll often give me a lower number than it should. A couple of days ago I got a "Lo" on my meter (that means below 20) and the retest was much more in line with what I expected.
 
thanks wendy,that makes me feel a little better! no no greens yet! were lucky if we see a blue.
I just feel like were such a long way off yet. hes not had a good day today! I do feel for him.those big sad eyes :sad:
I suppose im just clutching at straws wondering if weve missed the dose but im just so unsure about it all.
 
the good thing about following this protocol is that if you do, you can feel confident you haven't missed a good dose. if you're only a little off, ie, the dose is a little high, we should see low numbers here and there.

thanks for clarifying about the 21st. i think holding another couple of cycles on this dose isn't a bad idea anyway. let's just see what happens.

anna, most cats are difficult to get regulated, but most of them do get there. so be encouraged, you just keep on keeping on til you get where you're going. i'm glad wendy said that about the 2.75 dose and greens, because that is the goal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top