Bailey (uk) AMPS 16.8 / +6 17.3

Status
Not open for further replies.

BaileyUK

Member Since 2013
Hi

First of all we are new to the tight reg forum but we wanted to see if we could get any further feedback / guidance.

Bailey has pancreatitis and it has been a long road to get him stabilised. With the kind folk on the relaxed lantus forum we have managed to get him to a good level as you will see on his table he has until today been doing really well on a slightly reduced dose of 3.75u twice a day.

Today he started off in the pink and he has gone up higher at his nadir / +6 although this looks like a bounce we don't think it is as his numbers have not been low enough pre shot as they have in the past for him to rebound. Variables such as diet and feeding times etc have all been kept the same.

As you will see over the last week his BG's have been stable so we're at a loss to understand what's gone on today we thought we had found his ideal dose. He is very sensitive to any even slight dosage change and we are loathe to start him again from fresh but any advice at all would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Barnes and Bailey
 
Welcome to Lantus land Barnes and Bailey!!

We typically suggest you get a before bed test at night and if numbers are dropping, you should get another. Most of us make sure kitty's BG is on the way up before we sleep all night or they are past nadir. If you do not test at night, you are missing half your data.

My speculation is that Bailey is going lower at night and bouncing back up in the morning from lower Numbers. He has shown that he can start high, be in green mid cycle, and go back up.
 
Thanks Marje and Gracie!

Understood on what you're saying we will do some late readings so we can see where he is up to.

Just on your comments do you think he is bouncing / rebounding BEFORE he had the AM shot in the case of today then? In which case would that explain why the AM shot hasn't taken his BG's down?

Thanks again for your help v much appreciated!

B&B
 
With bounces, it can sometimes be difficult to know where they begin if you don't have the data. Bounces can be slow and build or the numbers can skyrocket. It's certainly possible that Bailey saw lower numbers during one or more PM cycles with the result being a higher cycle today. These numbers could also reflect what we refer to as a "high before a break."

I agree with Marje that getting at least one test during the PM cycle should help to sort out what's going on. It will also insure that Bailey is safe when you go to sleep and you will have access to the other half of your data.

One other observation is that with the Tight Regulation Protocol (and even with the Start Low Go Slow approach that most people on the Relaxed board use), ordinarily you don't want to hold your doses for quite as long as you have been. If Bailey's nadirs aren't in the range where you want them -- and typically we look for numbers in the 50 to 120 range -- doses are held for 3 - 5 days (6 to 10 cycles). You don't want Bailey to get too comfortable with his numbers outside of a good range.
 
Thanks Sienne and Gabby

We'll get some more post PM shot numbers and see what is going on.

Appreciate your feedback!

B&B
 
Hi Barnes! just wanted to welcome you and Bailey to the group!

it does look like Bailey might be going lower at night and that's causing bounces. i see you got a test tonight - great job! that was quite a drop from 351 at preshot to 158, 3 hrs later - 200 points. That makes me wonder how much lower he went tonight.

i think of the spreadsheet like a jigsaw puzzle. you don't need every piece to see what the picture looks like, but you do need enough pieces to get an idea of what's there.

Because Lantus dosing is based upon the low point, or nadir, of each cycle, we try to see how low a dose is getting a cat. Is it possible for you to vary the times of your testing, so instead of always getting a +6, sometimes you get a +3, +4 or +5 instead? While +6 is mentioned as the typical low point of a Lantus cycle, cats don't read the manual and some cats get to their low point at different times. And they can change, too, so it can be very, very helpful to see blood sugar tests at different times in the spreadsheet.

Many diabetic cats struggle with pancreatitis. are you doing anything to treat it? Here is some good information on Pancreatitis.

I'm glad you found us. We have several members from around the world and i always find it amazing that we connect with people around the world. The miracle of the internet! :-D

Keep posting and we'll do our best to help you get Bailey regulated! Glad you're here!

julie
 
Thanks Julie!

When we saw how low Bailey had dropped in those 3 hrs (it was actually more like +4 need to update that!) it became clear this was very likely another bounce.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts we'll certainly be testing at different times as we know his nadir varies from day to day. We upped the dose slightly last night in our confusion but will roll back to previous dose with a view to lowering if we observe any more bounces.

Thanks very much for your help.

Agreed that this forum is an essential lifeline for us / bailey he wouldn't be here without it (attitudes to treating FD are of course very different in the UK with blind dosing and a lack of home testing as well as the standard dog insulin they mostly prescribe our poor kitties) we appreciate all the help and guidance on here and the kind people that have steered us along the right path.

Fortunately his p'titis has never shown a lot of the tell take signs instead he was doing a lot of meat loafing and did have a very hard balloon like belly but since we have had him on pure aloe vera this seems to have taken much of the swelling down and he is all round a perkier animal.

Thanks again we shall keep you updated :)

Barnes and Bails
 
Hi there and welcome to LL from another person with a Bailey. My guy looks nothing like yours though - mine is the brown one with the white face in my avatar.

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top