? BAILEY dosing help

Status
Not open for further replies.

danam531

Member Since 2017
hello all! I'm doing a curve today and I'm hoping to get your advice on dosing. I moved from 3.5 to 3 units on 5/8 based on group suggestions, but I'm not sure that was the right move, in retrospect. Current situation - 3 units every 12 hours, eating Tiki every 12 hours, trouble areas right now are constipation and laying by the water bowl quite a bit (but not over drinking). Otherwise seems quite content.

So I have 3 questions, if you'd all be so kind!

1 - should I bump up?

2 - the day where there was a 81 reading with no insulin and then the evening reading was quite high, what should have been done differently on the AM (there was a caretaker here while I was on vacation, but I'm curious to know what I should do next time).

3 - where do y'all get your syringes with the half or quarter unit markings? I only have full unit syringes right now.

Thanks so much!

Dana
 
I should have also noted - I was on vacation for two weeks then my father passed away, otherwise an additional curve and/or change would have been made earlier.
 
First, please accept my deepest sympathy on the loss of your father. :bighug:

where do y'all get your syringes with the half or quarter unit markings? I only have full unit syringes right now.
I bought mine at Walmart. Relion makes a syringe in 1/2 unit markings. I don't know where you live, but in some states, like California, a prescription is required to purchase a box. Here they will sell you a pack of 10 without a script.
upload_2017-6-17_11-33-19.png


the day where there was a 81 reading with no insulin and then the evening reading was quite high, what should have been done differently on the AM (there was a caretaker here while I was on vacation, but I'm curious to know what I should do next time).
If you had been the one testing and shooting, I would say you should have retested immediately, as that number is totally out of whack with the others. It is possible it was an inaccurate reading. So I would tell future caretakers (and do this yourself), to ALWAY retest if they get a number that surprises them, high or low. If that was an accurate reading, then the caretaker was correct to skip, as you are apparently following SLGS.

should I bump up?
From the SLGS Sticky:
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
Since you are seeing nadirs in the specified range, hold the dose, unless Bailey drops below 90.

All this is based on the assumption that you are using a human meter. Are you?

It would be very helpful if you could add some information to your signature block, such as: type of meter, your location, which method you are following, what you are feeding, Bailey's age, any other medical conditions or medications Bailey is on, etc.

Here is a post we put together to help new members get the most out of the Board: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/updated-tips-for-new-members.173572/ You will find lots of useful info and tips there.

It's great that you are always testing at shot time, and running the curves as specified by SLGS. If there is any opportunity for you to grab a random test during the week, day or night, it's always a good idea to do so - there is no such thing as too much data!

Also, you say you are feeding Tiki (canned or dry?) every 12 hours. Do you have the ability to feed more often than that? It is easier on the pancreas to feed several smaller meals, rather than two big ones. Many here feed at shot time, then a little more at +1 or +2, then more at +3 or +4. The idea is to keep the food in the first half of the cycle, rather than after nadir when the insulin effect is waning. If you are gone all day, a timed feeder like the Petsafe 5 meal feeder works great. It's also available at Petsmart and Chewy.com. There is a place under the food tray for an ice pack to keep the food fresher.


 
Thanks so much for the help. I'll try to add more to my signature when I get a chance.

So today's nadir was 107. So I should stick with 3 units until my next curve. Got it. And yes, I am using a human reader.

I haven't been able to feed more often than every 12 hours. I tried an auto feeder but my other cat scoops up all the food when it opens :(

Will work on getting more data. Thanks again!
 
I tried an auto feeder but my other cat scoops up all the food when it opens
We have others in that situation, too. I solved it by leaving two feeders, in two different spots. They both opened at the same time, so each cat got to eat his before the other showed up. That only works if both cats eat all their food at once, though. If one leaves some, the other will no doubt finish it off!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top