Bailey AMPS 189, +3 274 (we are new)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and Bailey

Member Since 2011
Hello Lantus forum,
Bailey & I are new here and are doing our first curve today. I have only been testing AM & PM pre-shot until today, and have only been hometesting for a little over a week (started Lantus around 3 weeks ago). I was a little surprised by the +3 number, does it seem oddly high to anyone else? I am giving her 1 unit twice daily and feeding Fancy Feast classics at shot time, with access to Purina DM dry in between (working on eliminating this). I do not have a spreadsheet yet. Her BG readings at the vet have all been 350-400.
I will post again with the +6 number in a few hours. Thanks everyone!
Melissa and Bailey
 
Welcome Melissa and Bailey!

The +3 number has a food spike in it, right? The DM will also cause a spike so this is as it should be.

Hugs!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

It's great that you've started home testing! While pre-shot tests are important to know whether it's safe to give insulin, dosing with Lantus is based on the lowest number in the cycle -- the nadir. Thus, it's important to get spot checks during both the AM and PM cycles. Getting your spreadsheet set up will also give you a means of monitoring Bailey's progress as well as give us a means of offering you help.

Please spend some time familiarizing yourself with the starred sticky notes at the top of the Board. They will provide you with a huge amount of information about how this forum works, how to handle your Lantus, our dosing protocol, key concepts and a hundred other things that will make this journey easier.

I hope you will post regularly and ask questions. The people here are very generous with their time and information.
 
hi melissa! welcome to you and bailey! you're doing great - getting rid of the dry DM will improve Bailey's numbers. it's ok to leave the canned fancy feast or other canned cat food out for 12 hours. mixing some water into the food will help also - diabetic cats are usually dehydrated.

You can't really tell anything by one or two numbers - we look at overall patterns. That's one of the reasons for the spreadsheet. an experienced person can study a spreadsheet and tell a lot about what's going on with the cat and dose.

For now, keep doing what you're doing, get the spreadsheet up and ask lots of questions.

sounds like you've been doing some reading, since you know about some of this. have you read the starred "stickies" at the top of the Lantus forum - "new to group? start here" "taking care of lantus/levemir?" - all of those? there are about 5 of them and they contain essential information. not all of it will make sense to you yet, but it's good to read all of those. i still look back at them and read them again.
 
Hi Melissa,

I just wanted to stop to say welcome to you and Bailey. I look forward to seeing your posts and sharing this journey through the world of feline diabetes with you.
 
Hi everyone,
Thanks so much for the warm welcome :) I believe I have my spreadsheet up now - please let me know if you can't see it. A word of caution on my spreadsheet.. I had been using a True2go meter until last night (11/5). I was getting pretty good numbers (as you can hopefully see), but we went to the vet yesterday and got a 300 when my meter read 151 an hour later. I posted about it over in the general health forum and was advised to try a different meter. We are using the ReliOn now. So... my numbers are a little suspect before 11/5.
I will get my +6 in about an hour (lol, I work a late shift so my hours are strange) and post it here. And yes, I have been doing lots of reading! So glad I found this place, you guys have helped us so much already.
 
Welcome Melissa and Bailey! Great job getting your spreadsheet up! The link works just fine.

I don't know anything about your particular meter, but having said that, I wouldn't worry too much that the vet got a higher reading than you do at home. Often kitties' numbers are higher at the vet because they are stressed out there.

Anyway, just wanted to say hello and welcome to the family!
 
Re: Bailey AMPS 189, +3 274 +6 192 (we are new)

Glad the spreadsheet is working, thanks for letting me know. Just adding our +6 number which I think looks pretty good!
 
a vet visit could totally bump bailey up 100 points. plus depending on where in the insulin cycle bailey was, it might have dropped anyway in an hour.
 
Bailey PMPS 486!!

OK, I just tested her before her dinner and got the highest number I've ever seen from her. On recheck it was 509 :sad: I don't know what to think. I have no idea what happened. I gave her 1.5 units instead of her usual 1.. hope that was the right thing to do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top