Bagheera 3/29 AMPS 370, +10 362, PMPS 370

Status
Not open for further replies.
It's supposed to average 30 points lower off the top.

Then there is the 20% meter variance. So that should be fine. Hard to tell much from so few readings.

Did that Arkray come with control solution? If not call Arkray and have them send some. No charge.

The number to call and the directions for a meter/strip "control test" should be in the box.

In the mean time keep using the Arkray meter and get as many numbers as you can.
 
Well, it's going to have to be the Arkray readings, which came in at 233 at +3. But we need to take that with a grain of salt, because that was close to what it read when the AlphaTrak was at 370!

My human is going to have to get used to this.
 
The Arkray is supposed to be lower off the bat. And you can't really compare the two on so few readings.

It will be fine for now, until you can run the control test which will check the performance of the new meter.

Are the spot checks with the Arkray going OK as far as blood sample size?

You do always have to get used to a new meter. I know, I have four of them. :smile:
 
I'm glad you got your Arkray but the numbers shouldn't vary quite that much. I think it's a good suggestion to be sure if there is a control test needed.

My guess is that they won't vary to that degree at low numbers.

Great job shooting the 3u. Now let's give it some time. Very good not raising the dose on those PSs. If there is any way we can get you to test ketones. It's so important to do.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
...My guess is that they won't vary to that degree at low numbers.
I agree. And we have a lot of experience on this board with the Arkray GlucoCard 01 Mini and clones using those strips.

As long as the control test shows the meter performing up to par, then we know what to expect from the numbers from the Mini/Micro meter when used with felines.

The directions say to perform a control test first thing with any new meter. I'm not sure that meter ships with control solution, but Arkray will have to you within days if you call the toll free number. But it will be OK to use the meter in the mean time.
 
I thought that the difference between a pet specific meter and a human glucometer was more like 30-40%. Yes, that would give you roughly 30 points difference at the lower range numbers but a steeper difference at the higher range numbers.

Alphatrak reading of 350 - 30% = 245 human meter reading
Alphatrak reading of 80 -30% = 56 human meter reading
Alphatrak reading of 183 - 30% = 128 human meter

I was parallel testing an Alphatrak and a Relion Confirm back in January 2013. If you look at Wink's SS starting on 1/27/13 through 2/21/13, you will see two sets of numbers for the day. First number on ss with the date in the left hand column is the Alphatrak, second line for the day with the day of the week in the left hand column is the Relion Confirm.

Most of them are in the lower range by that point but it shows the difference. I was testing on the same drop of blood, scooping on one meter and then the other meter in a matter of a few seconds.

After 2/21/13 I switched to the Relion Confirm exclusively. It took time to convince the shelter I am fostering Wink for that paying for the much less expensive Relion test strips was a better move financially than paying the higher cost for the Alphatrak strips.
 
Bagheera 3/30 AMPS 325, +4 224

My human is using the Arkray exclusively now. He is holding the three unit dose even though he really wants to amp it up because he doesn't like these numbers he is seeing.

The good news is I am not fussing as much about the ear sticks now. And it's so funny how my human is doing it. Since he is used to the AlphaTrak2 lancing tool, he still uses that. But then he uses the Arkray to test. Silly human. But I guess it's best for me, because it means that I don't have to deal with him fumbling around when he sticks my ear!
 
Deb & Winks said:
I thought that the difference between a pet specific meter and a human glucometer was more like 30-40%. Yes, that would give you roughly 30 points difference at the lower range numbers but a steeper difference at the higher range numbers.

It isn't necessarily 30% and it varies between meters. Here's a great post with some Meter Comparisons.

Usually the 20% meter variation applies to the readings in the meter you are using; not between meters.
 
to further complicate the issue and something we weren't aware of at the time of the thread marje linked above...

one *could be* comparing apples to oranges when it comes to any meter comparisons if consideration is not given to the methodology (test type) used to measure glucose. meters using the same methodology to test blood sugar may tend to yield closer results than those using different methodologies.

Test Types (there could be more):
GO = glucose oxidase
GDH-PQQ = glucose dehydrogenase with pyrroloquinolinequinone (note: GDO, glucose-dye-oxidoreductase, is an incompatible PQQ-based method)
GDH-NAD = glucose dehydrogenase with nicotinamide-adenine dinucleotide
GDH-FAD = glucose dehydrogenase with flavin-adenine dinucleotide
Mut Q-GDH = glucose dehydrogenase with pyrroloquinolinequinone modified to eliminate maltose interference


i was able to find the following glucose monitor lists for a few countries. i put the lists in the STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - NEW TO THE GROUP? PLEASE READ... for reference.

Country Specific Glucose Monitor Lists:
Australia (updated June 2011)
Canada (May 2011)
Japan (updated May 2008)
United Kingdom (updated June 2011)
United States of America (updated August 2011)

in any case, one would expect to see greater differences between meters in higher ranges than in lower ranges.
clear as mud? :lol:
 
I got the 30 point figure from Roomp Rand.

Therefore, if using a meter calibrated for feline use (eg. AlphaTRAK, Abbott
Laboratories, CA, USA), or a serum chemistry analyzer, add approximately 30 mg/dL (1.7 mmol/L)
to the target glucose concentrations (see Table 3B). For example, a target > 50 mg/dL (2.8
mmol/L) becomes > 80 mg/dL (4.4 mmo/L) when using a meter calibrated for feline use. Instead of
aiming for 50-100mg/dL (2.8-5.6 mmol/L) , aim for 80-130 mg/dL (4.4-7.2 mmol/L [round numbers
4.5-7.0 mmol/L).

Interesting they didn't bump up the 200 and 300 thresholds making the broad range effectively tighter for AlphaTRAK.


TABLE 3A: Human meter
Phase 3: Holding the dose. Aim to keep blood glucose
concentration within 50-200 mg/dL (2.8 – 11 mmol/L)
throughout the day.


TABLE 3B: Pet meter
Phase 3: Holding the dose. Aim to keep blood glucose
concentration within 80-200 mg/dL (4.5 – 11 mmol/L)
throughout the day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top