Bagheera 3/20 AMPS: 312, PMPS: 292, +3: 290

Status
Not open for further replies.

bagheerathediabeticcat

Member Since 2013
I am back. My human has more data points.

He is also seeing if there is a difference between the AlphaTrak 2 strips and the Freestyle strips. So far, there have not been significant enough differences to make any difference in my dosing.

Based on this, my human thinks I should get 5.5 units for the next three days, and then we should adjust from there. Do you think that is a safe course of action?
 
Welcome back, Tony.

IMHO, I think he is still getting too much insulin because

  • you are dosing on PS numbers which causes BG to be wonky
  • only a few mid cycle tests
  • inconsistent dosing

I'm hopeful someone else will also give you some thoughts.
 
Welcome back Bagheera.

Couple of questions for your human.

Are these Freestyle lite butterfly strips?

Those strips work just fine for dogs and humans but for some reason they don't read correctly for felines.

As for the dosing, you've shot 5.5U for 6 cycles before (with dry food available) without apparent incident. However once you stabilize the depot the numbers can dramatically change. Not to say you won't end up at that dose or higher, but it's safer to arrive at the proper dose using the protocol. Perhaps you could start at 2.5U or 3.0U?

With the start high go fast approach (5.5U) you'd need to be ready to suddenly deal with perhaps very low numbers. Likely require even more frequent testing and perhaps intervention to bring the numbers up.
 
The only thing I would add to Marje's summary is that Bagheera is bouncing into high numbers due to hitting low numbers most likely when you're not testing. The 97 on 3/19 is evidence of that this is going on.
 
Head bonks and purrs to you for welcoming me back.

My human did some reading on the tight regulation protocol and it says the starting dose is typically .25 units per kilogram. Since I am a big boy and weigh 16 pounds, my starting dose would be 1.75 units. But then it also says that the dosing needs to be adjusted for cats who have been on other treatments and adjusted up. Maybe we could go down half a unit from my typical dosing these days, to five units and hold that for three days?

I'm getting better with the ear sticks. I tolerate them now. In fact, I didn't even try to squirm away when my human got me the past few times. It may be a new place, it may be that I'm just resigned to getting them, but it's easier for my human now. So I think he will start getting me at the morning and evening pre-injection times and once in between.

So that would solve the consistent dosing and the lack of data issue. Think we can make a go of it?

And they are the Freestyle butterfly strips. I am going to have my human put together a spreadsheet with the AlphaTrak 2 strips versus the Freestyle strips, and the percentage difference between the two. It's been interesting.
 
bagheerathediabeticcat said:
...And they are the Freestyle butterfly strips. I am going to have my human put together a spreadsheet with the AlphaTrak 2 strips versus the Freestyle strips, and the percentage difference between the two. It's been interesting.
If you aren't getting consistent readings, then the strips almost certainly aren't interchangeable. And thus not safe as a basis for dosing.

Better to use the appropriate AlphaTrack 2 strips or get one of the numerous (and much cheaper) human meters known to work for felines.

Those butterfly strips have been nothing but trouble here. One cat Boo Radley went DKA twice from dosing on the skewed readings from the butterfly strips. :sad:
 
The AlphaTrak 2 strips are calibrated to use with a species specific code for felines. So they're good.

They're grrrrreat! But you pay with a paw and a tail. :lol:

The human meters get the job done well, or well done. For a fraction of the price.

What's good for your human is good for more staff, more servants... more flash frozen organic White Peach Fuzzies? :YMPEACE:
 
bagheerathediabeticcat said:
...Maybe we could go down half a unit from my typical dosing these days, to five units and hold that for three days?

I'm getting better with the ear sticks. I tolerate them now. In fact, I didn't even try to squirm away when my human got me the past few times. It may be a new place, it may be that I'm just resigned to getting them, but it's easier for my human now. So I think he will start getting me at the morning and evening pre-injection times and once in between.

So that would solve the consistent dosing and the lack of data issue. Think we can make a go of it?
Five units is not substantially different than 5.5U. What may not be clear, is that with the protocol the dose goes up in an orderly manner. So it's not like you have to feel shorted on juice for long. If at all.

Why don't you ask your human what he would think about something like 3.0U? @-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top