Darnell & Sprocket (GA)
Member Since 2015
I am helping my friend, a newbie, Christian.
Here is link to the first thread
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/my-newbie-friend-needs-advice-on-dosing-food.286600/
My friend started testing Sunday. Cat (Sebastian) was diagnosed in October 2023. Cat is up to 5 units. First amps was 120. Gave half a dose. Cat stayed in blue then went to pink. Cat has neuropathy too & the b12 capsules ordered.
Gave 5 units next 2 cycles. Pm cycle cat was hiding, couldnt get tests. Next day cycle, Cat surfed in blue all day. Tonight cat was 127 for pmps. Advised to give 75% of dose of 3.25 units. Cat was given extra food mid cycle to get tummy used to wet food as he usually gets diarrhea when given in past then cat ate 1/4 cup of high carb (32-35%) dry food for pmps meal. Tested about hour & half later & he is 139.
I am baffled as to where the food spike is??
Finally after hour & half with no response, 279@+4.5. Is this the food spike?
Not sure if its the high carb food but never seen a cat with numbers all over at odd times. Amps & pmps should be higher & nadir lower in mid cycle but he doesn’t seem to be doing that.
I think if his cat could just able to switch food to wet right away without worrying about the diarrhea I would say it would be better to restart the insulin dose at a lower dose but since he has to transition slowly because of the diarrhea, I assume its not good. Plus his numbers are so good I wouldn’t want to screw that up.
I am not sure how to balance the dose with switching food slowly. ??
And now the food doesn’t seem to be spiking him makes me Think that dose is way too much & he is feeding the dose instead.
Not sure what to do??
Should I have him just switch & start with a lower dose?
Or I dont know how to balance the dose as he reduces the high carb to switch to low carb. ??
Also, cat is getting used to testing & afraid he will be hiding when he needs to get tested.
Dont want to risk hypo because cat is hiding.
And cat is also getting used to a new kitty brother. Been little over a week with a new kitty. One hissing & a swat situation but otherwise the two have been ok.
I am baffled.
Please advise.
here is his spreadsheet,
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1j4BfEUCh8arOVSvmpbY04in_k2uXgQZirJ5jl4LzsjU/edit
Here is link to the first thread
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/my-newbie-friend-needs-advice-on-dosing-food.286600/
My friend started testing Sunday. Cat (Sebastian) was diagnosed in October 2023. Cat is up to 5 units. First amps was 120. Gave half a dose. Cat stayed in blue then went to pink. Cat has neuropathy too & the b12 capsules ordered.
Gave 5 units next 2 cycles. Pm cycle cat was hiding, couldnt get tests. Next day cycle, Cat surfed in blue all day. Tonight cat was 127 for pmps. Advised to give 75% of dose of 3.25 units. Cat was given extra food mid cycle to get tummy used to wet food as he usually gets diarrhea when given in past then cat ate 1/4 cup of high carb (32-35%) dry food for pmps meal. Tested about hour & half later & he is 139.
I am baffled as to where the food spike is??
Finally after hour & half with no response, 279@+4.5. Is this the food spike?
Not sure if its the high carb food but never seen a cat with numbers all over at odd times. Amps & pmps should be higher & nadir lower in mid cycle but he doesn’t seem to be doing that.
I think if his cat could just able to switch food to wet right away without worrying about the diarrhea I would say it would be better to restart the insulin dose at a lower dose but since he has to transition slowly because of the diarrhea, I assume its not good. Plus his numbers are so good I wouldn’t want to screw that up.
I am not sure how to balance the dose with switching food slowly. ??
And now the food doesn’t seem to be spiking him makes me Think that dose is way too much & he is feeding the dose instead.
Not sure what to do??
Should I have him just switch & start with a lower dose?
Or I dont know how to balance the dose as he reduces the high carb to switch to low carb. ??
Also, cat is getting used to testing & afraid he will be hiding when he needs to get tested.
Dont want to risk hypo because cat is hiding.
And cat is also getting used to a new kitty brother. Been little over a week with a new kitty. One hissing & a swat situation but otherwise the two have been ok.
I am baffled.
Please advise.
here is his spreadsheet,
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1j4BfEUCh8arOVSvmpbY04in_k2uXgQZirJ5jl4LzsjU/edit
Last edited:
