bad vet experience

Status
Not open for further replies.

ZulusMom (GA)

Member Since 2017
Zulu went in yesterday for another vet check. We got a different doctor than the one who did the initial consultation with me. Three things rubbed me the wrong way, but please, let me know if my concerns are valid or not:
1. He wants me to double the dosage of Prozinc from 2 units a day to 4 units a day. Zulu has only been on insulin since Friday, so it seems rather fast to me to be doubling it already. When I spoke up, the vet told me that they have some cats that need 4-5 units twice a day.
2. When I asked about switching to low carb, he brushed it off. Pretty much told me to keep feeding Zulu whatever it was that I fed him before the diagnosis and then mentioned the Hills diet.
3. He took Zulu back to take a blood sample. Maybe I'm naive about this, but I didn't realize that the vet's method to take samples is to clip the toenail so short that it bleeds! I know that this is painful to the cat and it really upset me - is this the standard way that they do it??

I've already resolved not to have this particular doctor handle Zulu again. This morning we finally were able to get a home reading for the first time (group effort between me and hubby). He was 212 pre-shot. I didn't think that was bad enough to warrant doubling his dosage so I stuck with 1 unit and hopefully we'll get another reading when I go home for lunch. (Please chime in if you think this was wrong! Hubby is at home today and has instructions to monitor for signs of hypo). I'm hoping now that we're finally able to home test I can get things under control myself without relying too much on the vet.
 
Hurray for having strong instincts!! You're absolutely correct in your assessment of what went on. :)
  1. A starting dose of 2 u twice a day is too high. I'm glad you're giving only 1 u and it gave you a lovely pre shot number. There's NO WAY a dose should be doubled from 2 to 4 units in one go for a cat that has been on insulin less than a week!
  2. Nonsense to the feeding advice. Low carb wet food is the best and many of us feed Friskies or Fancy Feast pates (no gravy types).
  3. Wrong method for blood testing! The ear poke is easy to do and doesn't hurt.
Home testing is the key. Many people here manage their kitty's diabetes on their own with help from FDMB. You can too.
 
Hi and welcome to FDMB!

Your spidey sense is spot on and you did the right thing this morning sticking with the 1 unit. And kudos for starting to home test. That is the best tool we have in our kits to keep our furry friends safe and healthy.

We recommend adjusting insulin doses by 0.25u at a time. The vet is wrong on so many levels.

First of all, YIKES about the method used to get a blood sample. They should have either done an ear poke if using a glucometer or used a vein to do a blood draw. Causing the cat pain snipping a nail too short is just plain cruel IMHO! Any readings taken in the vets office can be elevated by 100 points or more due to vet stress so the vet is making a mistake assuming the dose needs to be doubled based on a reading taken at the clinic.

Secondly, a low carb diet is definitely the way to go and nix on the prescription food the vet's try to peddle. It's not really prescription anything and quite often the ingredients are far worse than food readily available in the local stores.

Last but not least, we recommend adjusting doses by 0.25u at a time. Our kitties are small creatures and a little change can make a big difference and it keeps you from skipping right over the right dose.

Your decision this morning was right on and could very well have saved your kitty's life based on the pre-shot test you did. Until you get more data, we recommend not shooting insulin for any pre-shot reading under 200 if you are using a human meter. If you are using a pet meter, that number should be raised to about 250.

I encourage you to set up the spreadsheet we have available here to track Zulu's readings. The instructions are HERE and THIS document explains how to use it. We keep our sheets on Google so should you need any assistance or advice at any time, the data you have collected is available to folks here for reference to ensure you get the best advice specifically for you and Zulu.

It would also be helpful if you could set up a signature (the light grey text you see under my message) with details about Zulu and you. You can include things like your name, Zulu's medical history if there are other health concerns, history of ketones or DKA etc., and what food Zulu is eating. The insulin you are using, what glucometer you use and your general location so if you need any product/supply recommendations, they will be pertinent to you. To set up a signature, hover over your screen name. This drops down a menu and you select Signature from the left column. This opens up a text box into which you can type the information you want to share. When finished you click on Save Changes button at the bottom of the text box and you're done.
 
1. He wants me to double the dosage of Prozinc from 2 units a day to 4 units a day. Zulu has only been on insulin since Friday, so it seems rather fast to me to be doubling it already. When I spoke up, the vet told me that they have some cats that need 4-5 units twice a day.
That is too big of a jump. I would adjust by .25 as needed rather than by whole units.

2. When I asked about switching to low carb, he brushed it off. Pretty much told me to keep feeding Zulu whatever it was that I fed him before the diagnosis and then mentioned the Hills diet.
The diet change is THE most important component of this.

3. He took Zulu back to take a blood sample. Maybe I'm naive about this, but I didn't realize that the vet's method to take samples is to clip the toenail so short that it bleeds! I know that this is painful to the cat and it really upset me - is this the standard way that they do it??
I have personally never heard of this as an acceptable way to get blood. Sounds very painful to me.

I've already resolved not to have this particular doctor handle Zulu again. This morning we finally were able to get a home reading for the first time (group effort between me and hubby). He was 212 pre-shot. I didn't think that was bad enough to warrant doubling his dosage so I stuck with 1 unit and hopefully we'll get another reading when I go home for lunch. (Please chime in if you think this was wrong! Hubby is at home today and has instructions to monitor for signs of hypo). I'm hoping now that we're finally able to home test I can get things under control myself without relying too much on the vet.
I would change vet's, too (and did because I was not happy with my initial vets recommendations). I am so glad you are going to home test. It is a must. As soon as you get a chance, please set up a spreadsheet. It will prove extremely valuable to you and to people on this site who try to help you. You absolutely made the right call not to give 2 units with a pre-shot BG of 212. Are you using a human meter? (Setting up a signature would be helpful, too.) Unfortunately, it seems to be very difficult to find vets who actually know a lot about feline diabetes. I think everyone ends up having to take control of the situation themselves.
 
Good grief- I don't think I've ever seen or heard of a vet getting a blood sample that way. Where on earth did he learn this?
It sounds like your instincts about the dosing are better than the vet's.
 
Thanks, everyone - I just couldn't believe how bad it went! Fortunately, my boss, who used to have a diabetic dog, knows of a vet that I can try if things don't work out with mine (definitely NOT going back to the doctor from last night, but the doctor who did the initial consultation seemed more knowledgeable). I'll set up a signature and spreadsheet ASAP. All I can say is thank goodness for the internet!!!
 
Listen to your intuition. You are your cats voice. Let it be heard strong and loud.

I never heard of getting blood test from clipping nail. I personally don't let the doctors take my cats to the back room. Actually last week I had to stop the doctor from taking Tux back. It was not the doctor I normally use but it was a "fit me in now" appt because Tux was sick.
 
You, too! I thought I was the only weirdo (said with love..haha).

For all the years and different vets I've used everything was always done in the exam room except for spay and dental. This is going back as far as 1974.

Only since moving to PA in 2009 has 2 doctors tried the back room thing and ER which is understandable.
 
I am horrified at the vet taking a blood sample by cutting a nail into the quick! Not only is that very painful, but it runs the risk of infection! Did he tell you that's how/why he did it? If so, I would file a complaint.
 
I am horrified at the vet taking a blood sample by cutting a nail into the quick! Not only is that very painful, but it runs the risk of infection! Did he tell you that's how/why he did it? If so, I would file a complaint.
He came back in the room and told us he had done it like that because you get a "nice floret of blood" that way. I am going to call the vet after work today about it. If this is their standard practice, no way - time to move on.
 
Oh my goodness. I am quite horrified at what you wrote in your initial post. Well done for recognising that this was all wrong - what on earth was the vet thinking of? I would be wanting to speak to the head vet or practice manager about this and yes, very definitely move on and find another vet.
 
Zulu went in yesterday for another vet check. We got a different doctor than the one who did the initial consultation with me. Three things rubbed me the wrong way, but please, let me know if my concerns are valid or not:
1. He wants me to double the dosage of Prozinc from 2 units a day to 4 units a day. Zulu has only been on insulin since Friday, so it seems rather fast to me to be doubling it already. When I spoke up, the vet told me that they have some cats that need 4-5 units twice a day.
2. When I asked about switching to low carb, he brushed it off. Pretty much told me to keep feeding Zulu whatever it was that I fed him before the diagnosis and then mentioned the Hills diet.
3. He took Zulu back to take a blood sample. Maybe I'm naive about this, but I didn't realize that the vet's method to take samples is to clip the toenail so short that it bleeds! I know that this is painful to the cat and it really upset me - is this the standard way that they do it??

I've already resolved not to have this particular doctor handle Zulu again. This morning we finally were able to get a home reading for the first time (group effort between me and hubby). He was 212 pre-shot. I didn't think that was bad enough to warrant doubling his dosage so I stuck with 1 unit and hopefully we'll get another reading when I go home for lunch. (Please chime in if you think this was wrong! Hubby is at home today and has instructions to monitor for signs of hypo). I'm hoping now that we're finally able to home test I can get things under control myself without relying too much on the vet.
I am absolutely mortified and appalled by your vet visit experience on so many levels!
Well done for listening to your gut feeling and going against his stinking 'advice', you did absolutely brilliant there!:)
Yes I would file a complaint too as it is just not acceptable.
Good luck with everything, sounds like you'll be able to look after yourself and Zulu very well! Hope Zulu will respond well to the insulin and will be a happy kitty:cat:
 
He came back in the room and told us he had done it like that because you get a "nice floret of blood" that way. I am going to call the vet after work today about it. If this is their standard practice, no way - time to move on.
That is appalling and unacceptable! What about "Do no harm"? I'm sure there is a veterinary oath the same or similar to the human doctors' Hippocratic oath. I don't know where you live but there has to be a governing body for vets by state, region, or whatever; I would find out their address and file a complaint. On top of pain and risk of infection, he may have made your poor kitty scared to have his nails clipped now! SO wrong on so many levels!
 
Oh my gosh!!! I think you live in Kansas! Sounds like my vet but he cut Woody's and Buzz's toenail right I front of me. I am sooo glad I found this board and left that practice. With a low carb diet both my kitties went into remission. I checked them every month. I found the toenail cut awful to watch.
 
Like everyone said, your senses about this vet is correct.

Do not increase the dose until after swiching to low carb. You may need to decrease it instead
 
Like everyone said, your senses about this vet is correct.

Do not increase the dose until after swiching to low carb. You may need to decrease it instead

I know, I'm kind of nervous about it! I'm planning on cutting out the rest of the dry food this weekend when I'll be home to monitor him. Thank goodness he loves pate! Our eldest cat who passed away earlier this year despised the stuff.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top