Bad news about Neo

Teire

Member
Guys, as you know I've been having a lot of problems in my personal life and Neo has started to get a lot of hypo episodes. If I shoot him 1 drop or don't shoot him, his BG goes up; and until recently if I shot 0.1 U below 100-150 he'd go hypo. Then, yesterday he was 370, I shot him, and he went down to 40.
Today I had to take my kitten to the vet so I took him too. He didn't find any other illness, and told me that is usual for diabetic cats to become unregulated at the end of their life. He told me to to shoot if he was high and watch for hypo, but that at this point there's a high chance he'll just die and that we should think about his QOL. He looks healthy and acts as cuddly as usual, is just... Idk what to say.
 
Guys, as you know I've been having a lot of problems in my personal life and Neo has started to get a lot of hypo episodes. If I shoot him 1 drop or don't shoot him, his BG goes up; and until recently if I shot 0.1 U below 100-150 he'd go hypo. Then, yesterday he was 370, I shot him, and he went down to 40.
Today I had to take my kitten to the vet so I took him too. He didn't find any other illness, and told me that is usual for diabetic cats to become unregulated at the end of their life. He told me to to shoot if he was high and watch for hypo, but that at this point there's a high chance he'll just die and that we should think about his QOL. He looks healthy and acts as cuddly as usual, is just... Idk what to say.
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Guys, as you know I've been having a lot of problems in my personal life and Neo has started to get a lot of hypo episodes. If I shoot him 1 drop or don't shoot him, his BG goes up; and until recently if I shot 0.1 U below 100-150 he'd go hypo. Then, yesterday he was 370, I shot him, and he went down to 40.
Today I had to take my kitten to the vet so I took him too. He didn't find any other illness, and told me that is usual for diabetic cats to become unregulated at the end of their life. He told me to to shoot if he was high and watch for hypo, but that at this point there's a high chance he'll just die and that we should think about his QOL. He looks healthy and acts as cuddly as usual, is just... Idk what to say.
I don't have the words but want to offer you a big hug. :bighug: my non Dr. Brain says he's crazy and wrong. He found nothing wrong, Neo is in otherwise good heath but he's at the end of his life? No way. :bighug:
 
Do you think you could get your spreadsheet back on line so we can see what is happening.?
At the moment we can’t see it.
We will be able to help you if we can see what is happening in the SS.

Can you take a photo of the syringe you are using to draw up the insulin ?
You will need to copy and paste it into this page.
I will need to see the marking on the syringe.
Do you know if it is a U 100 syringe?

Are you giving him a good meal before all the doses of insulin and then giving snacks during all the cycles?

Are you following one of our dosing methods?

Don’t lose hope. We can help you sort this out.
Is there another vet you can go to?
 
Do you think you could get your spreadsheet back on line so we can see what is happening.?
At the moment we can’t see it.
We will be able to help you if we can see what is happening in the SS.

Can you take a photo of the syringe you are using to draw up the insulin ?
You will need to copy and paste it into this page.
I will need to see the marking on the syringe.
Do you know if it is a U 100 syringe?

Are you giving him a good meal before all the doses of insulin and then giving snacks during all the cycles?

Are you following one of our dosing methods?

Don’t lose hope. We can help you sort this out.
Is there another vet you can go to?

I agree with Bron 100%:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I don't have the words but want to offer you a big hug. :bighug: my non Dr. Brain says he's crazy and wrong. He found nothing wrong, Neo is in otherwise good heath but he's at the end of his life? No way. :bighug:
Thing is, he's healthy considering everything he's got throught. When he was first duagnosed we used caninsulin, which dis nothing to him and he got neuropathy and cataracts; after 2 months we switched to Lantus and he started to get better. Then, 3 yeara ago, he ate somethinf with poison in our yard and he got into organ failure, I won't go into detail but there was a lot of blood. Took him to the only vet open at that momment, he tried to atabilize him enough to give him a good last day and then euthanize at home. He somehow recovered, but is clear that it took a heavy tool on his body (ex: he's very prone to infections, even when he was in remission). Then he got a tooth abcess, took him to that same vet as soon as we noticed and it was way worse inside than outside. That same vet said that with how much he had gone throught his body was more similar to that of a 20 y/o than to a 11 y/o.
When I took him yesterday his bloodwork was nothing outside of the ordinary, he told me that probably he was starting to loose the ability to keep his BG in a normal range both with highs and lows.
 
When I took him yesterday his bloodwork was nothing outside of the ordinary, he told me that probably he was starting to loose the ability to keep his BG in a normal range both with highs and lows
Well I have to say I have not heard that before.
I think it is more likely he needs to ne managed better....this is no reflection on you.
 
Well I have to say I have not heard that before.
I think it is more likely he needs to ne managed better....this is no reflection on you.
Yesternight his BG was 224, I gave him as little insulin as I could (<0.1 U since there was a small bubble), and went as low as 20, I could get him to safe levels before going to sleep (honey+kibble, +50 for 1 hour, I went to sleep at +6) and this morning he was 46. Just gave him his food and no insulin
 
Yesternight his BG was 224, I gave him as little insulin as I could (<0.1 U since there was a small bubble), and went as low as 20, I could get him to safe levels before going to sleep (honey+kibble, +50 for 1 hour, I went to sleep at +6) and this morning he was 46. Just gave him his food and no insulin
Can we see what syringes you are using please and also we can't access the SS
 
Can we see what syringes you are using please and also we can't access the SS
They're 0.3 mL Micro-Fine BD, they have half units markings, I don't know how to attach photos.

And also, my SS got deleted and I've had no time to do a new one. I've been having other peoblems with my google account since so I decided to change my password
 
I’m so sorry to hear this. I’m sure you are heartbroken. Neo is young and I do not think he should be treated as disposable.

As I recall it was an ordeal to test him. I’m wondering if his “high” tests are just stress related. Considering he is going low so often perhaps you could ask you vet if instead of occasionally dosing him you just stop the insulin and in a few weeks get a fructosamine level at the vet. This test is NOT affected by stress. Home testing for glucose can be and testing glucose at the vet almost always is. But fructosamine is different.

Check your glucose strips to be sure they are not expired. If they’ve been stored where there’s heat or humidity replace them even if not expired. Do a control solution check on the strips/meter.

I am going to say again how very uncomfortable I am with you giving insulin when he’s having these low episodes. I hope your vet can come up with a better plan for him

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I’m so sorry to hear this. I’m sure you are heartbroken. Neo is young and I do not think he should be treated as disposable.

As I recall it was an ordeal to test him. I’m wondering if his “high” tests are just stress related. Considering he is going low so often perhaps you could ask you vet if instead of occasionally dosing him you just stop the insulin and in a few weeks get a fructosamine level at the vet. This test is NOT affected by stress. Home testing for glucose can be and testing glucose at the vet almost always is. But fructosamine is different.

Check your glucose strips to be sure they are not expired. If they’ve been stored where there’s heat or humidity replace them even if not expired. Do a control solution check on the strips/meter.

I am going to say again how very uncomfortable I am with you giving insulin when he’s having these low episodes. I hope your vet can come up with a better plan for him

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I don't think the highs are stress related since it has happened everytime he's off insulin. He's been on the 300-400 this week without insulin, this morning he was 340 and I decided to try and give him a shot. Went to the 50s at +8 and to the 30s at PS, he's now at a safe level again. Thing is, he doesn't show any symptoms from hypo nor from high BG, is so confusing.
Strips are not expired, and I tested one with my own blood and it gives accurate values.
I'm just so lost.

Oh, and I'm on my way to make a new SS, sorry
 
Last edited:
Have you tried a drop of insulin? That's where you press the plunger all the way in and keep the plunger pressed all the way in while you insert needle into the vial and once it's in the vial then release the plunger. If you try it and without giving it to Neo but watch what comes out of the needle when you then press it into the air or onto a paper towel, you'll see that a small drop of insulin should come out of the needle. Other than that, I can only think you could try feeding him a higher carb food at +6, but you'll still need to keep testing to see how it's workihg.
Looking forward to your new spreadsheet.
 
Have you tried a drop of insulin? That's where you press the plunger all the way in and keep the plunger pressed all the way in while you insert needle into the vial and once it's in the vial then release the plunger. If you try it and without giving it to Neo but watch what comes out of the needle when you then press it into the air or onto a paper towel, you'll see that a small drop of insulin should come out of the needle. Other than that, I can only think you could try feeding him a higher carb food at +6, but you'll still need to keep testing to see how it's workihg.
Looking forward to your new spreadsheet.
I tried it a few weeks back and it kept him high. New spreadsheet is supposed to be linked on my signature
 
Don’t listen to that vet!!!! Absolute bunk! What are you feeding and when are you feeding it? He needs food given in small amounts throughout the cycle to stabilize BG. Start at +1 and +4 and go from there. Let the BG be your guide. How many carbs are you feeding. Is his appetite good?
 
Back
Top