Bad news about Neo

Teire

Member Since 2024
Guys, as you know I've been having a lot of problems in my personal life and Neo has started to get a lot of hypo episodes. If I shoot him 1 drop or don't shoot him, his BG goes up; and until recently if I shot 0.1 U below 100-150 he'd go hypo. Then, yesterday he was 370, I shot him, and he went down to 40.
Today I had to take my kitten to the vet so I took him too. He didn't find any other illness, and told me that is usual for diabetic cats to become unregulated at the end of their life. He told me to to shoot if he was high and watch for hypo, but that at this point there's a high chance he'll just die and that we should think about his QOL. He looks healthy and acts as cuddly as usual, is just... Idk what to say.
 
Guys, as you know I've been having a lot of problems in my personal life and Neo has started to get a lot of hypo episodes. If I shoot him 1 drop or don't shoot him, his BG goes up; and until recently if I shot 0.1 U below 100-150 he'd go hypo. Then, yesterday he was 370, I shot him, and he went down to 40.
Today I had to take my kitten to the vet so I took him too. He didn't find any other illness, and told me that is usual for diabetic cats to become unregulated at the end of their life. He told me to to shoot if he was high and watch for hypo, but that at this point there's a high chance he'll just die and that we should think about his QOL. He looks healthy and acts as cuddly as usual, is just... Idk what to say.
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Guys, as you know I've been having a lot of problems in my personal life and Neo has started to get a lot of hypo episodes. If I shoot him 1 drop or don't shoot him, his BG goes up; and until recently if I shot 0.1 U below 100-150 he'd go hypo. Then, yesterday he was 370, I shot him, and he went down to 40.
Today I had to take my kitten to the vet so I took him too. He didn't find any other illness, and told me that is usual for diabetic cats to become unregulated at the end of their life. He told me to to shoot if he was high and watch for hypo, but that at this point there's a high chance he'll just die and that we should think about his QOL. He looks healthy and acts as cuddly as usual, is just... Idk what to say.
I don't have the words but want to offer you a big hug. :bighug: my non Dr. Brain says he's crazy and wrong. He found nothing wrong, Neo is in otherwise good heath but he's at the end of his life? No way. :bighug:
 
Do you think you could get your spreadsheet back on line so we can see what is happening.?
At the moment we can’t see it.
We will be able to help you if we can see what is happening in the SS.

Can you take a photo of the syringe you are using to draw up the insulin ?
You will need to copy and paste it into this page.
I will need to see the marking on the syringe.
Do you know if it is a U 100 syringe?

Are you giving him a good meal before all the doses of insulin and then giving snacks during all the cycles?

Are you following one of our dosing methods?

Don’t lose hope. We can help you sort this out.
Is there another vet you can go to?
 
Do you think you could get your spreadsheet back on line so we can see what is happening.?
At the moment we can’t see it.
We will be able to help you if we can see what is happening in the SS.

Can you take a photo of the syringe you are using to draw up the insulin ?
You will need to copy and paste it into this page.
I will need to see the marking on the syringe.
Do you know if it is a U 100 syringe?

Are you giving him a good meal before all the doses of insulin and then giving snacks during all the cycles?

Are you following one of our dosing methods?

Don’t lose hope. We can help you sort this out.
Is there another vet you can go to?

I agree with Bron 100%:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I don't have the words but want to offer you a big hug. :bighug: my non Dr. Brain says he's crazy and wrong. He found nothing wrong, Neo is in otherwise good heath but he's at the end of his life? No way. :bighug:
Thing is, he's healthy considering everything he's got throught. When he was first duagnosed we used caninsulin, which dis nothing to him and he got neuropathy and cataracts; after 2 months we switched to Lantus and he started to get better. Then, 3 yeara ago, he ate somethinf with poison in our yard and he got into organ failure, I won't go into detail but there was a lot of blood. Took him to the only vet open at that momment, he tried to atabilize him enough to give him a good last day and then euthanize at home. He somehow recovered, but is clear that it took a heavy tool on his body (ex: he's very prone to infections, even when he was in remission). Then he got a tooth abcess, took him to that same vet as soon as we noticed and it was way worse inside than outside. That same vet said that with how much he had gone throught his body was more similar to that of a 20 y/o than to a 11 y/o.
When I took him yesterday his bloodwork was nothing outside of the ordinary, he told me that probably he was starting to loose the ability to keep his BG in a normal range both with highs and lows.
 
Well I have to say I have not heard that before.
I think it is more likely he needs to ne managed better....this is no reflection on you.
Yesternight his BG was 224, I gave him as little insulin as I could (<0.1 U since there was a small bubble), and went as low as 20, I could get him to safe levels before going to sleep (honey+kibble, +50 for 1 hour, I went to sleep at +6) and this morning he was 46. Just gave him his food and no insulin
 
Yesternight his BG was 224, I gave him as little insulin as I could (<0.1 U since there was a small bubble), and went as low as 20, I could get him to safe levels before going to sleep (honey+kibble, +50 for 1 hour, I went to sleep at +6) and this morning he was 46. Just gave him his food and no insulin
Can we see what syringes you are using please and also we can't access the SS
 
Can we see what syringes you are using please and also we can't access the SS
They're 0.3 mL Micro-Fine BD, they have half units markings, I don't know how to attach photos.

And also, my SS got deleted and I've had no time to do a new one. I've been having other peoblems with my google account since so I decided to change my password
 
I’m so sorry to hear this. I’m sure you are heartbroken. Neo is young and I do not think he should be treated as disposable.

As I recall it was an ordeal to test him. I’m wondering if his “high” tests are just stress related. Considering he is going low so often perhaps you could ask you vet if instead of occasionally dosing him you just stop the insulin and in a few weeks get a fructosamine level at the vet. This test is NOT affected by stress. Home testing for glucose can be and testing glucose at the vet almost always is. But fructosamine is different.

Check your glucose strips to be sure they are not expired. If they’ve been stored where there’s heat or humidity replace them even if not expired. Do a control solution check on the strips/meter.

I am going to say again how very uncomfortable I am with you giving insulin when he’s having these low episodes. I hope your vet can come up with a better plan for him

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I’m so sorry to hear this. I’m sure you are heartbroken. Neo is young and I do not think he should be treated as disposable.

As I recall it was an ordeal to test him. I’m wondering if his “high” tests are just stress related. Considering he is going low so often perhaps you could ask you vet if instead of occasionally dosing him you just stop the insulin and in a few weeks get a fructosamine level at the vet. This test is NOT affected by stress. Home testing for glucose can be and testing glucose at the vet almost always is. But fructosamine is different.

Check your glucose strips to be sure they are not expired. If they’ve been stored where there’s heat or humidity replace them even if not expired. Do a control solution check on the strips/meter.

I am going to say again how very uncomfortable I am with you giving insulin when he’s having these low episodes. I hope your vet can come up with a better plan for him

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I don't think the highs are stress related since it has happened everytime he's off insulin. He's been on the 300-400 this week without insulin, this morning he was 340 and I decided to try and give him a shot. Went to the 50s at +8 and to the 30s at PS, he's now at a safe level again. Thing is, he doesn't show any symptoms from hypo nor from high BG, is so confusing.
Strips are not expired, and I tested one with my own blood and it gives accurate values.
I'm just so lost.

Oh, and I'm on my way to make a new SS, sorry
 
Last edited:
Have you tried a drop of insulin? That's where you press the plunger all the way in and keep the plunger pressed all the way in while you insert needle into the vial and once it's in the vial then release the plunger. If you try it and without giving it to Neo but watch what comes out of the needle when you then press it into the air or onto a paper towel, you'll see that a small drop of insulin should come out of the needle. Other than that, I can only think you could try feeding him a higher carb food at +6, but you'll still need to keep testing to see how it's workihg.
Looking forward to your new spreadsheet.
 
Have you tried a drop of insulin? That's where you press the plunger all the way in and keep the plunger pressed all the way in while you insert needle into the vial and once it's in the vial then release the plunger. If you try it and without giving it to Neo but watch what comes out of the needle when you then press it into the air or onto a paper towel, you'll see that a small drop of insulin should come out of the needle. Other than that, I can only think you could try feeding him a higher carb food at +6, but you'll still need to keep testing to see how it's workihg.
Looking forward to your new spreadsheet.
I tried it a few weeks back and it kept him high. New spreadsheet is supposed to be linked on my signature
 
Don’t listen to that vet!!!! Absolute bunk! What are you feeding and when are you feeding it? He needs food given in small amounts throughout the cycle to stabilize BG. Start at +1 and +4 and go from there. Let the BG be your guide. How many carbs are you feeding. Is his appetite good?
 
Hello, I just wanted to update everyone. And first of all, his usual food is wet food that is very low carb, less tabn 10%.
I've been testing him (I did forget about the spreadsheet tho. My cat Estrella had to be put down due to ckd and my dog became very ill) and trying to regulate him as much as possible, he had a hypo episode at summer but aside from that everything looked good. Took him for a checkup and solensia shots, we tried three injections but they did not work for him, last checkup was in august and his kidney values were on the higher end but no ckd. Then, he had diarrhea and a hypo episode in october, and after that his bg has been really hard to manage. In november he got an abcess on his back but with the right meds it went away. Then in december he had constant high bg numbers, so I upped his dose to 0.25 U, and he had a hypo episode too. Then came Christmas. He went downhill on christmas. He got a fungal infection on his face, got diarrhea for a few days and now he's constipated since (still poops but they're very dry and hard). BG was either too high or too low to safely shoot, and he lost a lot of weight in just a matter of days, althought it's been stable for one week now, I don't know how much it will last.
Yesterday I took him to the vet again. He has ckd stage 3, he has hyperthension, his inumne system is very weak and his heart isn't working as it should, and his temperature is also low (37.2 C when it should be 38 C). He has also become completley blind since summer. His body contition is 1/9. With so many issues and difficult to manage BG, my mother and I decided to put him down on monday at 2 pm.
 
Last edited:
I'm so sorry for your loss of Neo. What a sweet boy. Thank you for giving him a life full of love!
Thank you, yesterday I bought a bunch of his favourite food, he's also getting extra treats and cuddles.
This was him this morning enjoying some sunbathing, he's now asleep curled by my side.
5512.jpg
5524.jpg
 
Hello, I just wanted to update everyone. And first of all, his usual food is wet food that is very low carb, less tabn 10%.
I've been testing him (I did forget about the spreadsheet tho. My cat Estrella had to be put down due to ckd and my dog became very ill) and trying to regulate him as much as possible, he had a hypo episode at summer but aside from that everything looked good. Took him for a checkup and solensia shots, we tried three injections but they did not work for him, last checkup was in august and his kidney values were on the higher end but no ckd. Then, he had diarrhea and a hypo episode in october, and after that his bg has been really hard to manage. In november he got an abcess on his back but with the right meds it went away. Then in december he had constant high bg numbers, so I upped his dose to 0.25 U, and he had a hypo episode too. Then came Christmas. He went downhill on christmas. He got a fungal infection on his face, got diarrhea for a few days and now he's constipated since (still poops but they're very dry and hard). BG was either too high or too low to safely shoot, and he lost a lot of weight in just a matter of days, althought it's been stable for one week now, I don't know how much it will last.
Yesterday I took him to the vet again. He has ckd stage 3, he has hyperthension, his inumne system is very weak and his heart isn't working as it should, and his temperature is also low (37.2 C when it should be 38 C). He has also become completley blind since summer. His body contition is 1/9. With so many issues and difficult to manage BG, my mother and I decided to put him down on monday at 2 pm.
So sorry for your losscat_wings>o
 
Sending you and Neo much love and strength. He knows how much you love him 💝🙏💕
I accidentally stepped on him and he hid away from me :( He wated cuddles not long after
Right now he's on the kitchen's chair, that's his favourite spot when he wants to be left alone, if that's what he wants I won't force him to do otherwise.
So sorry for your losscat_wings>o
Thank you
 
Sweet boy--you've given him a good life, and it's clear that you've done your very best to care for him and keep him healthy. His little body is just worn out. I know it's difficult, but letting him go gently is the kindest, most compassionate act. You've had such a difficult year with all of your animals. Sending you hugs and comfort. :bighug::bighug:
 
I'm sorry to hear this sad news. :bighug::bighug: Spoil him as much as you can. I'm sure he knows how much you love him. Give him a kiss from all of us.
 
Give him everything he wants for the next couple of days.
Big Deep Hugs to you, and soft gentle scritches & pets to him.
 
Hello, I just wanted to update everyone. And first of all, his usual food is wet food that is very low carb, less tabn 10%.
I've been testing him (I did forget about the spreadsheet tho. My cat Estrella had to be put down due to ckd and my dog became very ill) and trying to regulate him as much as possible, he had a hypo episode at summer but aside from that everything looked good. Took him for a checkup and solensia shots, we tried three injections but they did not work for him, last checkup was in august and his kidney values were on the higher end but no ckd. Then, he had diarrhea and a hypo episode in october, and after that his bg has been really hard to manage. In november he got an abcess on his back but with the right meds it went away. Then in december he had constant high bg numbers, so I upped his dose to 0.25 U, and he had a hypo episode too. Then came Christmas. He went downhill on christmas. He got a fungal infection on his face, got diarrhea for a few days and now he's constipated since (still poops but they're very dry and hard). BG was either too high or too low to safely shoot, and he lost a lot of weight in just a matter of days, althought it's been stable for one week now, I don't know how much it will last.
Yesterday I took him to the vet again. He has ckd stage 3, he has hyperthension, his inumne system is very weak and his heart isn't working as it should, and his temperature is also low (37.2 C when it should be 38 C). He has also become completley blind since summer. His body contition is 1/9. With so many issues and difficult to manage BG, my mother and I decided to put him down on monday at 2 pm.
Oh that is very bad news! I am so very sorry for your loss and I understand how much it hurts. You have also had a lot of loss this past year. My heart goes out to you. I hope eventually you will be able to remember the happy times with Neo.
 
She is Nirvana, 2 y/o, have her since she was 2 months old.
After eating she usually plays by herself for a bit, but not today. She went to sleep. But she did not sleep in one of her usual spots. She went to sleep in one of Neo's spots.
5639.jpg


Neo always laid either on top of me or by my side when I sit at the sofa. Today no one did.
It's sad, but it was for the best. In these last few days he even lost his purr, he still purred, but no sound came out.
 
This is a photo of Neo in August 2020, if I remember correctly he was in remission at this point. I'll try to see if I can find a photo of when he came home, he was just a few days old.
5617.jpg

And this is him today, sunbathing for the last time. You can even see his spine...
5597.jpg
 
She is Nirvana, 2 y/o, have her since she was 2 months old.
After eating she usually plays by herself for a bit, but not today. She went to sleep. But she did not sleep in one of her usual spots. She went to sleep in one of Neo's spots.
View attachment 76437

Neo always laid either on top of me or by my side when I sit at the sofa. Today no one did.
It's sad, but it was for the best. In these last few days he even lost his purr, he still purred, but no sound came out.
She is beautiful. She looks like my cat Tippy. They could be sisters.
 
He is a gorgeous cat. I would love to see photos of him when he was younger.
I think I have them on my old phone, I'll search tomorrow, I don't really have the energy to do that tomorrow.
And yes, he's always been a gorgeus cat, and very social and cuddly.

She is beautiful. She looks like my cat Tippy. They could be sisters.
I'd love to see a photo of Tippy
Nirvana is acting more like herself after smelling the towel on which Neo passed
 
RIP, Neo...I agree with Lara, they are never truly gone, and I too hope he shows you a sign that he is still close.
 
Back
Top